Report from the 7 January 2019

The Paris Opera Ballet on tour to Madrid's Teatro Real

Afternoon of a Faun - Hugo Marchand
© Sébastien Mathé / OnP
1 January 2019Karl Paquette, dancer Étoile, bids farewell 22 January 2019Le Château de Barbe Bleue | La Voix humaine - International Classical Music Award 2019

On the programme

© Sébastien Mathé / OnP

Music: Claude Debussy
Choreography: Jerome Robbins
Costumes: Irene Sharaff
Lighting: Jennifer Tipton
Sets: Jean Rosenthal

This ballet, created in 1953 by the New York City Ballet, entered the repertoire of the Paris Opera Ballet in 1974.
Robbins' Faun is a ballet about dance and dancers. The choreographer has always liked talking about performers, their language and their behaviour, evoking the mythology of the studio and the rehearsal room...


© Sébastien Mathé / OnP

Music: Maurice Ravel
Choreography: George Balanchine

This ballet, created in 1975 by the New York City Ballet, entered the repertoire of the Paris Opera Ballet in 1975.
Sonatine was created on the occasion of the 1975 Ravel Festival which marked the centenary of the composer's birth. Conceived as a stroll that Balanchine described as "very platonically French," the choreography explores the thousand possible paths along which two bodies can meet.


Mademoiselle : Léonore Baulac
Monsieur : Germain Louvet

© Julien Benhamou / OnP

Music: Erik Satie
Choreography: Hans van Manen
Costumes: Joop Stokvis, Hans van Manen
Sets: Hans van Manen

This ballet, created in 1982 by the Dutch National Ballet at Amsterdam's Stadsschouwburg, entered the repertoire of the Paris Opera Ballet in 2017.
The ballet Trois Gnossiennes, so named after the score by Erik Satie, was originally the fifth part of Five Short Stories, created by Hans van Manen in 1982. It was presented as an independent work in 1982 and took third place in the cycle of five pieces "Variations for piano" which the choreographer created in the first half of the 1980s to a variety of music ranging from Prokofiev to Cage.


Soliste (femme) : Ludmila Pagliero
Soliste (homme) :  Hugo Marchand et Florian Magnenet

© Sébastien Mathé / OnP

Music: Johann Sebastian Bach
Choreography: Jerome Robbins
Costumes: Santo Loquasto    
Lighting: Jennifer Tipton    
Cello: Aurélien Sabouret

Created by Mikhail Baryshnikov in 1994, the ballet entered the Paris Opera Ballet's repertoire in 1996.
This piece is essentially a work of atmosphere, playing on the slightest nuances of movement, intuitively heeding the music and avoiding any demonstrative virtuosity. This seemingly simple, almost vulnerable solo, is in fact a duet where the dancer dialogues with the cellist.


Soliste : Hugo Marchand et Paul Marque

© Julien Benhamou / OnP

Music: Igor Stravinsky
Choreography: George Balanchine
Sets | Costumes: Christian Lacroix

Premiered in 1967 at the New York State Theater by the New York City Ballet, this ballet entered the repertoire of the Paris Opera Ballet in 1974 under the title Capriccio. A new production was created 2000.
Rubis, the second part of the Ballet Joyaux - representing America – is a nod in the direction of the show girls from the world of musicals. Balanchine has fun parodying exaggerated movements, pushing attitudes to the extreme.


1 soliste femme- couple : Dorothée Gilbert et Valentine Colasante
1 soliste homme- couple : Paul Marque et François Alu
1 soliste femme : Ida Viikinkoski

Back to top