© OnP / DR
Presentation

History

Louis XIV, founding father

In 1713, Louis XIV promulgated the decree that officially created the « Ballet Conservatoire » reserved for the Royal Academy of Music. This structure institutionalizes the existence of classes for professionals, similar to those now enjoyed by the Corps de Ballet, as at first classes were not at all intended for children, although some artists’ sons or daughters found their places there. It was not until 1780 that the first regulations certified a school devoted entirely to them, thus endorsing a use appeared over time. It was also necessary to clarify essential issues: free tuition as Louis XIV originally imposed it, admission through selection, fees and salaries, and a professional frame to the education.

From French Revolution to the Third Republic

In 1784, a second decree of Louis XVI extends the duration of classes and created a special class for children under twelve. It is indeed better to recruit students at a very young age, devoid of any training and, therefore of any flaw to correct. Thereafter, the French Revolution and the Empire do not challenge the school but refine the functioning with a series of successive regulations. In particular, to ensure impartiality and to avoid possible protections, a jury from the company is formed, sovereign during the passing from one class to another as well as for the hiring into the company.

Teaching is done in three steps, an elementary school until thirteen, the upper class until sixteen, then, for a few, the “special class for improvements”, foreshadowing the “advanced class” that Marie Taglioni manage to implement under the Third Republic. Students may not remain in the upper class more than one year and no more than two years in the “special class” preceding theirs debuts. They should not stay at School after they are eighteen, when they must at least start their careers. It may happen that they are excluded, masters having orders to take this measure to “maintain zeal and emulation (among students)”, two of Napoleon’s dearest values. For the same reasons, rankings were also introduced and are still in effect today, as for the age limit in the First Division, still eighteen, and the examination juries.

Outstanding personalities

While this school was a model for Europe, at the end ofthe Romantic period, it withered. I fit survived, it was thanks to personalities’s flawless faith MarieTaglioni, Dominique, Rosita Mauri, Carlotta Zambelliand Albert Aveline among others. Generation after generation, despite the neglect of successive directions of the Paris Opera, despite the financial abandonment of government, all sought to preserve the soul of this style, which went back to the founding of the Royal Academy of Dance by LouisXIV in 1661.

Initially located rue Saint-Nicaise, then in the Palais Garnier, the school is now located in Nanterre. This move was made necessary when the duration of compulsory education was set at 16 years, the "Petits rats", until now apprentices implicitly became students. By the 1960s, the direction of the Opera started to think about necessary solutions.Under the direction ofClaudeBessy, the school investsthe buildingof Christian dePortzamparc in 1987, where children, like all those of their generationcan takeupbaccalaureatestudiesalongside theirvocational training.

The School today

The nowadays Ballet School was born with Claude Bessy, Director from 1972 to 2004, who gave it its educational autonomy with its installation in Nanterre. Keeping the pattern she built bringing together tradition and vision for the future, Elisabeth Platel then brought her own scent by emphasizing on stylistic virtuosity. The School must enrol artists with outstanding physical abilities and try to instil a common breathing whilst preserving individuality. In 2004, a specific medical supervision was established to ensure the physical preparation and the becoming of future dancers. For more than 300 years, the artistic education at the Opera favoured direct transmission from master to student, guarantying the French School of Ballet and ensuring the sustainability of the Paris Opera Ballet. The School – still called School of the Paris Opera Ballet not long ago – is closely linked to it thanks to its structure but also to its programming. Meanwhile, the Paris Opera Ballet School must comply with the Ministry of National Education and the relationship with the team in charge of general education, hosted within the School since 1987, has been strengthened through joint educational projects between the artistic and intellectual training. At the end of the curriculum, the students leave the School with the Higher professional Diploma for Dancers and the baccalaureate in literature.

© Natacha Hochman / ONP

OnP / DR
Présentation

L'histoire

Louis XIV, père fondateur

C’est en 1713 que Louis XIV promulgue le décret qui crée officiellement le « Conservatoire de danse », réservé aux danseurs de l’Académie royale de Musique. Cette structure institutionnalise l’existence de cours pour professionnels, comparables à ceux dont bénéficie aujourd’hui le corps de ballet car dans un premier temps, les cours ne sont en rien destinés à des enfants, même si quelques fils ou filles d’artistes y trouvent leur place. Ce n’est qu’en 1780 qu’un premier règlement atteste d’une école qui leur soit entièrement consacrée, entérinant un usage apparu au fil du temps et qu’il était devenu nécessaire de clarifier sur les points essentiels : gratuité des cours comme l’avait imposé dès l’origine Louis XIV, sélection à l’entrée, frais et appointements, cadrage professionnel de ces apprentissages.

De la Révolution à la troisième République

En 1784, un second décret de Louis XVI allonge la durée des cours et crée une classe spécifique pour les enfants de moins de douze ans. Il est en effet préférable de recruter les élèves très jeunes, vierges de toute formation et, par conséquent, de tout défaut à corriger. Par la suite, la Révolution et l’Empire ne remettent pas en cause l’école et en affinent le fonctionnement par une série de règlements successifs. En particulier, par souci d’impartialité et pour éviter de possibles protections, on forme un jury issu de la troupe, souverain lors de l’examen de passage d’une classe à l’autre ainsi que pour l’engagement au sein de l’Opéra.

L’enseignement se fait alors en trois étapes, une classe élémentaire jusqu’à treize ans, la classe supérieure jusqu’à seize ans, puis, pour quelques-uns, la « classe particulière pour être perfectionné », préfigurant la « classe de perfectionnement » que Marie Taglioni parviendra à mettre en place sous la troisième République. Les élèves ne peuvent pas demeurer dans la classe supérieure plus d’un an, et pas plus de deux dans la classe « particulière » qui précède leurs débuts. Ils ne doivent pas rester à l’École au-delà de leurs dix-huit ans, âge où il faut au plus tard commencer sa carrière ; il peut arriver qu’ils soient exclus, les maîtres ayant ordre de jouer de cette mesure pour « maintenir (chez les élèves) plus de zèle et d’émulation », deux des valeurs chères à Napoléon. Pour les mêmes raisons, on introduit aussi les classements, toujours en vigueur aujourd’hui, tout comme la limite d’âge en Première division, encore fixée à dix-huit ans, et les jurys d’examens.

Des personnalités hors du commun

Alors que cette école était un modèle pour l’Europe, à la fin de la période romantique, elle s’étiole. Si elle survit, c’est grâce à des personnalités à la foi sans faille, Marie Taglioni, Mme Dominique, Rosita Mauri, Carlotta Zambelli et Albert Aveline entre autres. Génération après génération, malgré l’incurie des directions successives de l’Opéra, malgré l’abandon financier des pouvoirs publics, tous chercheront à préserver l’âme de ce style, qui remonte à la fondation de l’Académie royale de danse par Louis XIV en 1661.

D’abord située rue Saint-Nicaise, puis ensuite au sein du Palais Garnier, l’École est maintenant installée à Nanterre. Ce déménagement a été rendu nécessaire lorsque la durée de la scolarité obligatoire a été fixée à 16 ans, faisant passer implicitement les « petits rats » du statut d’apprenti à celui d’élève. Dès les années 1960, on réfléchit aux solutions nécessaires. Sous la direction de Claude Bessy, en 1987, l’École investit le bâtiment de Christian de Portzamparc, où les enfants, comme tous ceux de leur génération peuvent suivre des études jusqu’au baccalauréat parallèlement à leur formation professionnelle.

L’Ecole aujourd’hui

L’Ecole de Danse d’aujourd’hui est née avec Claude Bessy, directrice de 1972 à 2004, qui lui a donné son autonomie pédagogique avec son installation à Nanterre. Tout en gardant le schéma qu’elle avait construit mêlant avec talent tradition et vision d’avenir, Elisabeth Platel a ensuite apporté son parfum en privilégiant la virtuosité stylistique. L’Ecole se doit de recruter des artistes aux aptitudes physiques exceptionnelles en essayant d’insuffler une respiration commune et de préserver les individualités. En 2004, un encadrement médical spécifique a été mis en place assurant la préparation physique et le devenir des futurs danseurs. Depuis plus de 300 ans, l’enseignement artistique à l’Opéra privilégie la transmission directe de maître à élèves, enseignement garant de l’Ecole française de Danse, et assure la pérennité du Ballet. L’Ecole – qu’on appelait encore Ecole du Ballet de l’Opéra il y a peu – est intimement liée à celui-ci par sa structure même mais aussi par sa programmation. Parallèlement, l’Ecole de Danse de l’Opéra national de Paris doit se plier aux exigences du Ministère de l’Education nationale et les liens avec l’équipe d’enseignement général, hébergée au sein même de l’Ecole depuis 1987, ont été renforcés à travers des projets pédagogiques communs entre la formation artistique et intellectuelle. A la fin de leur cursus à l’Ecole, les élèves sont titulaires du Diplôme National Supérieur Professionnel de Danseur et nombreux obtiennent le baccalauréat littéraire.

© Natacha Hochman / ONP