Menu

Portraits d'étoile

17 episodes

Émilie Cozette

Author
Benjamin Millepied

"The Dance of the Swan is very rich because it expresses the two side of the woman"

Benjamin Millepied, Director of dance of the Paris Opera, world-famous choreographer and author of numerous short films, loves to provoke encounters between different artistic universes, such as dance, cinema, photography, drawing and digital arts. His arrival has marked a new era at the Paris Opera Ballet. Together with Dimitri Chamblas and Christian Longchamp, he has conceived the “3e Scène”.
The idea of the project ? Make opera, music and dance accessible to a larger audience and give artists a new platform to express themselves. Therefore, Benjamin Millepied’s contribution showcases the Principal Dancers in his company, in order to demonstrate that they are not only talented interpreters with an accomplished technique, but also unique artistic personalities.
In his films, the dancers express their passion through gestures, by sketching extracts from their favourite ballets, and – an unusual practice for them – through words. Thus, they reveal a more personal side than that which is exposed to the look of the audience every evening.

See also

Alignigung

William Forsythe

C’est presque au bout du monde

Mathieu Amalric

Subscribe to the newsletter to follow the 3e Scène

Accueil > Série > Émilie Cozette

Émilie Cozette Série "Portraits d'Étoiles"

Tous les épisodes

Synopsis

"La danse du cygne est très riche ; c’est deux côtes de la femme."

Benjamin Millepied, Directeur de la Danse de l’Opéra national de Paris, chorégraphe et réalisateur de nombreux courts-métrages, provoque des rencontres entre des univers artistiques différents, tels que la danse, le cinéma, la photographie, le dessin et l’art numérique. Son arrivée a marqué une nouvelle ère pour le Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris. Avec Dimitri Chamblas et Christian Longchamp, il a conçu la « 3e Scène ».

L’idée du projet est de rendre l’opéra, la musique et la danse accessibles à un plus large public et donner aux artistes une nouvelle plateforme pour s’exprimer. Ainsi la contribution de Benjamin Millepied met-elle en valeur les Danseurs Étoiles de sa compagnie, afin de montrer qu’il ne s’agit pas seulement d’interprètes talentueux à la technique accomplie, mais de personnalités artistiques uniques.

Dans ses films, les danseurs expriment leur passion par le geste, en esquissant des extraits de leurs ballets préférés, et – exercice insolite pour eux – par la parole. De cette manière, ils révèlent un côté plus personnel que celui qui s’expose, tous les soirs, au regard du spectateur.