©Patrick Tourneboeuf/OnP
2014-2015 SEASON

Exhibitions

Les Ballets Suédois – 1920-1925

From June 11th to September 28th 2014

Fernand Léger, projet de décor pour La Création du monde, 1923. Détail
© Bmo / BnF / ADAGP, Paris 2014

Following the 2009 exhibition on the Ballets Russes, which celebrated the centenary of Serge Diaghilev’s famous company, the Paris Opera is presenting a new exhibition devoted to the Ballets Suédois, another avant-garde company which revitalized the Parisian artistic scene during the 1920s.

+ Read more

“The Ballets Suédois have made a point of shunning choreographic clichés and fare all the better fo doing doing so. They want something new. Modern ballet is as much Poetry, Painting, and Music as it is Dance.”

This is how the Ballets Suédois, founded in Paris in 1920 by Rolf de Maré, presented itself to the public: a company at the forefront of the avant-garde, not just choreographically but also artistically. “The greatest poets, the most modern painters, the most audacious musicians” were solicited: Cocteau, Claudel, Pirandello, and Cendrars wrote librettos set to music by Ravel, Honegger, Milhaud, Satie, Auric and Cole Porter, whilst Fernand Léger, Picabia, De Chirico, Bonnard and Steinlen created  sets and costumes. To that list we must also add, among others, the name of René Clair, author of a film screened during the “instantaneist” ballet Relâche in 1924!

From 1920 to 1925, Les Ballets Suédois would thus rival Diaghilev’s celebrated Ballets Russes in the quest for artistic modernity, foreshadowing the happening and the performance.

This exhibition will also be an opportunity to rediscover Jean Börlin (1893-1930), the company’s sole choreographer. The favourite student of Michel Fokine, he managed to rebel against his classic training to invent a freer choreographic vocabulary that could experiment with new modes of artistic expression. More particularly, it will explore the relationships of the choreographer and dancer with painting, folklore and Norse tales as well as the cinema, and illustrate his choreographic conception of a scene in motion. It will also highlight masterpieces – some never previously published – from the collections of the Opera’s Museum Library that came from the International Dance Archives donated by Rolf de Maré in 1952: set models and costumes from Fernand Léger, Nils de Dardel, and Alexandre Alexeieff; stage costumes unseen since the 1960s, photographs of ballets and dancers, performance posters, paintings and sculptures by Karl Hofer, Per Krohg, Antti Favén and the Martel Brothers…  all crucial elements, not just for the history of the development of the visual arts but also for the history of  stage art in all its forms (mime, pantomime, folk dance, modern dance, performance...). Finally, the exhibition will bring into focus the legacy of the Ballets Suédois to the Paris Opera: the engagement of the Swedish company's Étoile Carina Ari, the painters (Léger, De Chirico,) and the musicians (Milhaud, Honegger,…) who worked for Rolf de Maré, and played host to a reconstitution of Relâche by Moses Pendelton in 1979.

Presented by the Paris Opera and the Bibliothèque nationale de France in the rooms of the Opera’s Museum-Library, the “Ballets Suédois” exhibition aims to re-evaluate a fundamental link in the history of dance and the arts in the 20th century.

The Paris Opera Museum-Library, Palais Garnier, 8, rue Scribe, Paris 9e  -  www.operadeparis.fr

Curator: Mathias Auclair, chief curator of the Opera Museum-Library
Frank Claustrat, lecturer in contemporary art history at the Université Paul-Valery, Montpellier III.
Inès Piovesan, publishing department manager of the Paris Opera.
Book-catalogue published by éditions Gourcuff Gradenigo, under the direction of Mathias Auclair, Frank Claustrat and Inès Piovesan.



- Hide

RAMEAU AND THE STAGE

November 2014 - February 2015


In 2014, the Bibliothèque nationale de France (National Library of France) and the Paris Opera celebrate the 250th anniversary of the death of Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683-1764). Composer and harmony theorist, Rameau was one of the most celebrated and yet denigrated musical and intellectual figures in France during the last two-thirds of the eighteenth century. Master organist in the provinces for forty years, he subsequently dominated the operatic stage, notably at the Royal Academy of Music where he was the leading composer from 1733 up to the Revolution. During the following century, stagings of his works fell by the wayside, just like the genres of lyric tragedy and opera-ballet that they illustrated. Rameau’s return to favour, tinged with nationalism, took place at the end of the nineteenth century, thanks to composers such as Saint-Saëns and Vincent d'Indy who wanted to restore the veracity of his art, or Claude Debussy who composed a keyboard Hommage to him. Since the rediscovery of the Baroque repertoire, in the 1970s, performers and musicologists have analyzed treatises on interpretation and revisited his works. In turn, artists, musicians and stage designers have imbued Rameau’s operas with society’s conventions, expressing aesthetic choices as well as varied and occasionally contradictory beliefs. The theme of the exhibition is the production of Rameau's operas on the Parisian operatic stage, from their origins to the present day. It will also evoke a number of important premieres at the court and several significant revivals at the Opéra Comique.


Curators:
Eliszbeth Giuliani
Mathias Auclair, conservateur en chef à la Bibliothèque-musée de l'Opéra, BnF
Christophe Ghristi, directeur de la dramaturgie de l'Opéra national de Paris

iN COLLABORATION with the BIBLIOTHÈQUE-MUSÉE DE L’OPÉRA (BIBLIOTHÈQUE NATIONALE DE FRANCE)

©Patrick Tourneboeuf/OnP
SAISON 2014-2015

Expositions

Les Ballets Suédois – 1920-1925

du 11 juin au 28 septembre 2014

Fernand Léger, projet de décor pour La Création du monde, 1923. Détail
© Bmo / BnF / ADAGP, Paris 2014

Après l’exposition sur les Ballets Russes, en 2009, qui célébrait le centenaire de la célèbre compagnie de Serge Diaghilev, l’Opéra de Paris présentera une nouvelle exposition consacrée aux Ballets Suédois, autre compagnie d’avant-garde qui bouscula la scène artistique parisienne dans les années vingt.

+ Lire la suite

« Les Ballets Suédois ont sauté à pieds joints par-dessus les lieux communs chorégraphiques. Ils s’en portent fort bien. Ils veulent du nouveau. Le Ballet moderne, c’est la Poésie, la Peinture, la Musique autant que la Danse »

C’est ainsi que la compagnie des Ballets Suédois, fondée en 1920, à Paris, par Rolf de Maré, se présentait au public : à la pointe de l’avant-garde non seulement chorégraphique, mais artistique. « Les plus grands poètes, les peintres les plus modernes, les musiciens les plus hardis » sont sollicités : Cocteau, Claudel, Pirandello, Cendrars écrivent des livrets mis en musique par Ravel, Honegger, Milhaud, Satie, Auric ou Cole Porter, tandis que Fernand Léger, Picabia, De Chirico, Bonnard, Steinlen dessinent les décors et les costumes. Une liste à laquelle il faut encore ajouter, entre autres, le nom de René Clair, auteur d’un film projeté pendant le ballet « instantanéiste » Relâche, en 1924 !
De 1920 à 1925, Les Ballets Suédois auront ainsi rivalisé avec la célèbre compagnie des Ballets Russes de Diaghilev, dans la recherche de modernité artistique, préfigurant le happening et la performance.

L'exposition sera aussi l'occasion de redécouvrir Jean Börlin (1893-1930), le chorégraphe unique de la compagnie. Élève préféré de Michel Fokine, il a su transgresser sa formation classique pour inventer un vocabulaire chorégraphique plus libre, expérimentant de nouveaux modes d'expression artistique. Elle explorera tout particulièrement les relations du chorégraphe et danseur avec la peinture, avec le folklore et les contes nordiques ainsi qu’avec le cinéma, et montrera sa conception chorégraphique du tableau en mouvement. Elle permettra aussi de mettre en valeur les chefs-d'œuvre - pour partie inédits - des collections de la Bibliothèque-musée de l'Opéra, provenant du fonds des Archives internationales de la danse donné par Rolf de Maré en 1952 : maquettes de décors et de costumes de Fernand Léger, de Nils de Dardel, d'Alexandre Alexeieff ; costumes de scène jamais montrés depuis les années 1960, photographies de ballets et de danseurs, affiches de spectacles, peintures et sculptures de Karl Hofer, de Per Krohg, d’Antti Favén ou des frères Martel, autant de témoignages déterminants, non seulement pour l'histoire de l'évolution des arts plastiques, mais pour l'histoire des arts de la scène sous toutes leurs formes (mime, pantomime, danse folklorique, danse moderne, performance...). Elle montrera, enfin, la postérité des Ballets Suédois à l’Opéra de Paris, qui engage l’étoile de la compagnie suédoise Carina Ari, fait travailler les peintres (Léger, De Chirico,) et les musiciens (Milhaud, Honegger,…) ayant créé pour Rolf de Maré, et accueille une reconstitution de Relâche par Moses Pendelton en 1979.

Présentée par l'Opéra national de Paris et la Bibliothèque nationale de France dans les espaces de la Bibliothèque-musée de l’Opéra, l'exposition « Les Ballets Suédois » vise ainsi à réévaluer un maillon fondamental dans l'histoire de la danse et des arts au XXe siècle.

Commissariat :
Mathias Auclair, conservateur en chef à la Bibliothèque-musée de l'Opéra
Frank Claustrat, maître de conférences en histoire de l'art contemporain à l'université Paul-Valery, Montpellier III
Inès Piovesan, chef du service de l’édition de l'Opéra national de Paris
Livre-catalogue aux éditions Gourcuff Gradenigo, sous la direction de Mathias Auclair, Frank Claustrat et Inès Piovesan.



- Masquer

Rameau et la scène

novembre 2014 - février 2015


En 2014, la Bibliothèque nationale de France et l’Opéra de Paris célèbrent le 250e anniversaire de la mort de Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683-1764). Compositeur, théoricien de l’harmonie, il fut l’une des personnalités musicales et intellectuelles les plus célébrées et décriées en France dans les deux derniers tiers du xviiie siècle. Maître organiste en province pendant quarante ans, il domine ensuite la scène lyrique, notamment à l’Académie Royale de Musique dont il fut le compositeur phare de 1733 à la Révolution. Au siècle suivant, ses ouvrages furent mis en réserve de la scène comme les genres mêmes qu’ils illustraient, la tragédie lyrique et l’opéra-ballet. Teinté de nationalisme, le retour à Rameau se fit à la toute fin du xixe siècle, avec des compositeurs tels Saint-Saëns et Vincent d’Indy qui voulurent restituer la vérité de son art ou Claude Debussy qui lui rendit un Hommage au clavier. Depuis la redécouverte du répertoire baroque, dans les années 1970, les interprètes et musicologues ont analysé les traités d’interprétation, revisité les oeuvres. Les artistes, musiciens et scénographes imprègnent à leur tour l’opéra de Rameau des marques de la société et manifestent des choix esthétiques et des convictions variées et parfois contradictoires. L’exposition aura pour thème la production des opéras de Rameau sur la scène lyrique parisienne de leur création à aujourd’hui. Elle évoquera aussi quelques créations importantes à la cour et quelques reprises.


Commissariat :
Eliszbeth Giuliani
Mathias Auclair, conservateur en chef à la Bibliothèque-musée de l'Opéra, BnF
Christophe Ghristi, directeur de la dramaturgie de l'Opéra national de Paris

EN COLLABORATION AVEC LA BIBLIOTHÈQUE-MUSÉE DE L’OPÉRA (BIBLIOTHÈQUE NATIONALE DE FRANCE)