Julien Benhamou / OnP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - First performance on 19 January 2014 - 2:30PM

January 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
14:30
20
21
22
19:30
23
24
25
19:30
26
27
28
29
19:30
30
31
February 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
14:30
3
4
5
19:30
6
7
8
9
14:30
10
11
12
19:30
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28

Fermer


Werther
Jules Massenet
Presentation
Pre-performance reading
LYRIC DRAMA IN FOUR ACTS AND FIVE SCENES (1892)
MUSIC BY JULES MASSENET (1842-1912)
POEM BY EDOUARD BLAU, PAUL MILLIET AND GEORGES HARTMANN BASED ON JOHANN WOLFGANG VON GOETHE
Performed in French

In Massenet's masterpiece, from the moment the moonlight idyll is revealed and then shattered, the tears never cease to flow. "My entire being weeps", says Werther. This is a far cry from the furtive tears or the violent sobbing usually associated with opera. These tears fall slowly and inexorably, one by one, in "patient drops", as Charlotte says: in four acts, they will accomplish their work. Charlotte cannot hold back her tears when she rereads Werther's letters and her tears are the only part of her, the only sacrifice that Werther dares to ask of her. She weeps before Sophie, her angel of consolation; her tears flow again on reading Ossian; they fall once more over Werther's blood-soaked body. These final tears he refuses, however, for he is now free and happy. Werther is a long requiem, a "lacrimose dies illa", truly a day of tears and, without doubt, the most personal of all Massenet's works. Roberto Alagna and Karine Deshayes portray the two unhappy lovers in the now legendary production by Benoît Jacquot, conducted by Michel Plasson.

Michel Plasson Conductor
Benoît Jacquot Stage director
Charles Edwards Sets
Christian Gasc Costumes
André Diot Lighting (after Charles Edwards)
ArtisteNoteRôle
Roberto Alagna
Werther
Abdellah Lasri
12 Feb.
Werther
Jean-François Lapointe
Albert
Karine Deshayes
Charlotte
Hélène Guilmette
Sophie
Jean-Philippe Lafont
Le Bailli
Luca Lombardo
Schmidt
Christian Tréguier
Johann
Joao Pedro Cabral
Brühlmann
Alix Le Saux
Kätchen

29 January 2014
The role of Werther will be played by Luca Lombardo and the role of Schmidt will be played by Vincent Delhoume.

Paris Opera Orchestra and Chorus
Maîtrise des Hauts-de-Seine⁄ Paris Opera children's Chorus

Original production by Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London, 2004

The composer

Jules Massenet was born on May 12th 1842 in Montaud, France and died on August 13th 1912 in Paris. After receiving a musical education from his mother who gave lessons to balance the family budget, Massenet entered the Conservatoire at a very early age and studied theory of music, piano and harmony before joining Ambroise Thomas’s composition class in 1861. In 1863 he won the Grand Prix de Rome and spent two years at the Villa Medici where he composed numerous outlines for projects which would form the basis of his future works. The first of these, performed after his return to France, was Grand’-Tante, a one-act opera commissioned by the directors of the Opéra-Comique. There followed, among others: Don César de Bazan (1872), Le Roi de Lahore (1877), Hérodiade (1881), Manon (1884), Le Cid (1885), Esclarmonde (1889), Thaïs (1894), Sapho (1897), Cendrillon (1899) and Don Quichotte (1910).
Massenet soon gained the stature of an “official composer”. Awarded the Légion d’Honneur, appointed Professor of Composition at the Conservatoire and elected to the Académie des Beaux-Arts, his influence was such that certain composers like Debussy did not hesitate to “Massenetise” their cantatas in order to win the Prix de Rome. From a musical point of view, Massenet preferred to work within the existing musical tradition rather than to break with it.

The work

The libretto is based on Goethe’s famous epistolary novel that Massenet probably knew from his stay in Bayreuth in 1886. Unlike the librettos of Gounod’s Faust or Ambroise Thomas’ Mignon, it follows the original text very closely. Nevertheless the importance given to Charlotte’s role is one of the essential differences: relegated to the background in the novel (where the hero, the author of the letters, acted alone), she plays just as important a role as Werther himself in the opera. The work is clearly modelled on the French conception of a typically German romance. The episodes are linked together in a style reminiscent of genre painting, each act bearing a title as if it were a chapter in a picture book. Given this aesthetic structure, the most successful episodes are those born of each character’s inner struggles, resulting from the interchange – conflicting or otherwise – between Werther, Charlotte and Albert and giving rise to extensive melancholic outpourings.
The orchestration reflects the work’s overall conception. Although making use of a large-scale orchestra, Massenet’s transparent musical texture is often suggestive of chamber music. The vocal style does not aim at virtuoso effects, preferring as it does dialogue and dramatic interaction. The interplay between the different musical motifs and their relationship with the characters establishes a parallel with Wagner’s leitmotifs. However Massenet distances himself from the latter, seeking rather to create a French “fin de siècle” style, characterised by its delicacy, elegance and sensibility.
From the very first performance of his opera, where the title Mattia Battistini, a baritone with a agile and effortless high range, asked him to write a new baritone version for him. This version was completed ten years later in 1902.

The first performance

Werther was first performed at the Imperial Opera of Vienna on February 16th 1892, in German, with the composer himself conducting.

The work at the Paris Opera

Werther’s Parisian career took place, for the most part, at the Opéra-Comique, where the opera had been performed 1389 times by 1978. Among the countless singers who tackled the main roles were Georges Thill, Raoul Jobin, Albert Lance, Alain Vanzo (Werther), Ninon Vallin, Denise Scharley, Rita Gorr, Nadine Denize (Charlotte), Jean Vieuille, Gabriel Bacquier, Yves Bisson (Albert). The work was not performed at the Palais Garnier until 1984, under the baguette of Georges Prêtre, with Alfredo Kraus / Neil Schicoff (Werther), Lucia Valentini-Terrani / Tatiana Troyanos (Charlotte) and Gino Quilico (Albert). In 2009, a new production was presented in the Opéra Bastille, staged by Jürgen Rose, with alternately Rolando Villazon and Ludovic Tézier in the title-role and Susan Graham in the part of Charlotte. The opera was back at the Opéra Bastille in 2010, staged by Benoît Jacquot, with Jonas Kaufmann and Sophie Koch. It is this production which is being performed this season.

Julien Benhamou / OnP

Werther
Jules Massenet
Présentation
À lire avant le spectacle
DRAME LYRIQUE EN QUATRE ACTES ET CINQ TABLEAUX (1892)
MUSIQUE DE JULES MASSENET (1842-1912)
POÈME D'EDOUARD BLAU, PAUL MILLIET ET GEORGES HARTMANN D'APRÈS JOHANN WOLFGANG VON GOETHE
En langue française

Dans le chef-d’oeuvre de Massenet, les larmes ne cessent de couler et cela dès qu’au clair de lune, l’idylle s’est à la fois révélée et brisée. « Tout monêtre pleure », dit Werther. Voilà qui nous mène bien loin des larmes habituelles de l’opéra, qu’elles soient furtives ou qu’elles éclatent en violents sanglots. Celles-là coulent lentement et inexorablement, une à une, « patientes gouttes », dit Charlotte : en quatre actes, elles auront fait leur oeuvre. Charlotte ne peut les retenir en relisant les lettres de Werther et ses larmes sont la seule part d’elle-même, le seul sacrifice qu’il ose lui demander. Elles couleront devant l’ange de la consolation qu’est Sophie. Elles couleront à la lecture d’Ossian. Elles couleront enfin devant le corps baigné de sang de Werther. Mais ces dernières, il les refuse : le voilà libéré et heureux.Werther est un long requiem, « lacrimosa dies illa », jour plein de larmes que celui-là, et sans doute l’oeuvre la plus personnelle de Massenet. Roberto Alagna et Karine Deshayes incarnent ces malheureux amants sous la direction de Michel Plasson et dans la production désormais légendaire de Benoît Jacquot.

Michel Plasson Direction musicale
Benoît Jacquot Mise en scène
Charles Edwards Décors
Christian Gasc Costumes
André Diot Lumières (d'après les lumières originales de Charles Edwards)
ArtisteNoteRôle
Roberto Alagna
Werther
Abdellah Lasri
12 fév.
Werther
Jean-François Lapointe
Albert
Karine Deshayes
Charlotte
Hélène Guilmette
Sophie
Jean-Philippe Lafont
Le Bailli
Luca Lombardo
Schmidt
Christian Tréguier
Johann
Joao Pedro Cabral
Brühlmann
Alix Le Saux
Kätchen

Représentation du 29 janvier 2014
Le rôle de Werther sera interprété par Luca Lombardo et le rôle de Schmidt sera interprété ce soir par Vincent Delhoume.


Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Paris
Maîtrise des Hauts-de-Seine ⁄ Chœur d’enfants de l’Opéra national de Paris

Production originale du Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, Londres (2004)

Le compositeur

Jules Massenet, né le 12 mai 1842 à Montaud, mort le 13 août 1912 à Paris. Formé à la musique par sa mère, qui donnait des leçons pour équilibrer le budget familial, Massenet entre très jeune au Conservatoire où, après avoir étudié le solfège, le piano et l’harmonie, il intègre, en 1861, la classe de composition d’Ambroise Thomas. En 1863, il obtient le Grand Prix de Rome et s’installe, pour deux ans, à la Villa Médicis, où il écrit nombre d’esquisses qui constitueront le germe de ses futures œuvres. La première à être représentée, à son retour, est un ouvrage en un acte commandé par les directeurs de l’Opéra-Comique : La Grand’-Tante. Suivent, entre autres : Don César de Bazan (1872), Le Roi de Lahore (1877), Hérodiade (1881), Manon (1884), Le Cid (1885), Esclarmonde (1889), Thaïs (1894), Sapho (1897), Cendrillon (1899), Don Quichotte (1910)…
Très vite, Massenet a fait figure de « compositeur officiel ». Décoré de la Légion d’Honneur, en charge de la chaire de composition au Conservatoire, élu à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts, son influence est devenue telle que, pour obtenir le Prix de Rome, certains compositeurs comme Debussy n’ont pas hésité à « massenétiser » leur cantate. Sur le plan musical, il opte plus volontiers pour la continuité de la tradition que pour la rupture.

L'oeuvre

Le livret est tiré du célèbre roman épistolaire de Goethe, que Massenet connaissait probablement depuis son séjour à Bayreuth en 1886. Contrairement aux livrets de Faust de Gounod ou de Mignon d’Ambroise Thomas, il s’écarte peu du texte original. La place du rôle de Charlotte apparaît toutefois comme une des différences essentielles : alors qu’elle restait à l’arrière-plan dans le roman (où le héros, auteur des lettres, agissait seul), elle occupe, dans l’opéra, une place égale à celle de Werther. L’idée qu’on se faisait en France d’une idylle typiquement allemande a visiblement guidé le façonnement de l’œuvre. Les épisodes s’enchaînent à la manière de tableaux de genre, les actes portant des titres, comme s’il s’agissait de chapitres dans un livre d’images. Dans cette esthétique, les épisodes les plus réussis naissent à l’occasion des luttes intérieures de chacun des personnages, lors des rapports – conflictuels ou non – résultant du drame entre Werther, Charlotte et Albert et donnant lieu à de grandes effusions mélancoliques.
L’orchestration est à l’image de la conception d’ensemble. Bien qu’il utilise un grand orchestre, Massenet élabore un tissu sonore dont la transparence évoque le plus souvent la musique de chambre. Le style des parties chantées ne vise pas au brillant, mais favorise le dialogue et le jeu scénique. Les relations entre les motifs et leurs rapports avec les personnages les rapprochent des leitmotive wagnériens. Massenet prend néanmoins ses distances avec le maître allemand, cherchant plutôt à élaborer un style « fin de siècle » français, qui se caractérise par sa finesse, son élégance et sa sensibilité.
Mattia Battistini, baryton à l’aigu souple et facile, lui demanda d’écrire pour sa voix une version nouvelle d’un Werther devenu baryton, qui fut achevée dix années plus tard, en 1902.

La création

Werther a été créé à l’Opéra Impérial de Vienne, le 16 février 1892, en allemand, sous la direction de Massenet lui-même. La création en langue française eut lieu à Genève le 27 décembre 1892.

L'oeuvre à l'Opéra de Paris

A Paris, l’essentiel de la carrière de Werther s’est fait à l’Opéra-Comique, où l’œuvre a été jouée 1389 fois jusqu’en 1978. Parmi les innombrables interprètes, citons Georges Thill, Raoul Jobin, Albert Lance, Alain Vanzo (Werther), Ninon Vallin, Denise Scharley, Rita Gorr, Nadine Denize (Charlotte), Jean Vieuille, Gabriel Bacquier, Yves Bisson (Albert). L’œuvre n’a fait son entrée au Palais Garnier qu’en 1984, sous la direction de Georges Prêtre, avec Alfredo Kraus / Neil Schicoff (Werther), Lucia Valentini-Terrani / Tatiana Troyanos (Charlotte) et Gino Quilico (Albert). En février 2009, une nouvelle production signée par Jürgen Rose pour la mise en scène, les décors et les costumes était présentée à l’Opéra Bastille, avec Rolando Villazon et Ludovic Tézier en alternance dans le rôle-titre et Susan Graham dans celui de Charlotte. Enfin, en 2010, Benoît Jacquot signait une nouvelle mise en scène avec Jonas Kaufmann et Sophie Koch. C’est cette production qui est de nouveau à ‘affiche cette saison.