© Franck Ferville / OnP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - First performance on 16 September 2013 - 7:30PM

September 2013
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
19:30
17
18
19
19:30
20
21
22
23
24
19:30
25
26
27
19:30
28
29
30
19:30
October 2013
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
19:30
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Fermer


Vec Makropulos
Leoš Janácek
Presentation
Pre-performance reading
The Makropoulos Affair
OPERA IN THREE ACTS (1926)
MUSIC BY LEOŠ JANÁCEK (1854-1928)
LIBRETTO BY THE COMPOSER AFTER THE PLAY OF THE SAME NAME BY KAREL CAPEK
Performed in czeck

"Who would want to live for eternity?" asks Emilia Marty as she is about to die, brandishing the formula for the elixir that has allowed her to live for 337 years ... For his penultimate opera, Janáček drew upon the literary works of Karel Čapek, a pioneer of science fiction, and dramatises his singular story of law suits and eternal life, a cross between detective fiction and metaphysics.
Krzysztof Warlikowski's hypersensitive theatre transposes the elixir of immortality into our contemporary mythology. His production is haunted by the black and white destiny of Marilyn Munroe: the eternal woman, both adulated and sacrificed on the altar of stardom and found dead after an overdose of barbiturates... Conducted by Susanna Mälkki, Janáček's music electrifies the storm of desires, the lust for lust and the  terror of death that sweep through this microcosm of Prague society.

Susanna Mälkki Conductor
Krzysztof Warlikowski Stage director
Malgorzata Szczesniak Sets and costumes
Denis Guéguin Video
Felice Ross Lighting
Miron Hakenbeck Dramaturgy
Alessandro Di Stefano Chorus master
ArtisteNoteRôle
Ricarda Merbeth
Emilia Marty
Atilla Kiss-b.
Albert Gregor
Vincent Le Texier
Jaroslav Prus
Jochen Schmeckenbecher
Dr Kolenaty
Andreas Conrad
Vítek
Andrea Hill
Krista
Ladislav Elgr
Janek
Ryland Davies
Hauk-Šendorf

Paris Opera Orchestra and Chorus


COPRODUCTION WITH THE TEATRO REAL, MADRID

The composer

Leos Janácek was born in 1854 in Hukvaldy in Moravia, and died in Ostrava in 1928. He studied music at the monastery of Brno and the organ in Prague and at the Leipzig Conservatory. He was choirmaster at Olomouc cathedral, orchestral conductor in Brno and founder of the organ conservatory in his native town. He was to compose one ballet, nine operas (including Jenufa, Fate, The Excursions of Mr Broucek, The Cunning Little Vixen, The Makropulos Affair and Kátia Kabanová), almost all of which were first performed in Brno, choral works (masses, motets, cantatas), instrumental works (rhapsodies, symphonic poems, quartets and sonatas). Janácˇek drew much of his inspiration from Moravian folklore, the study of the dialect and customs of his native land and the sounds of nature. He was also a remarkable dramatist and man of the theatre. His work is characterised by great dramatic force: the portraits of Jenufa and Katya, for example, are drawn with great psychological subtlety. During his lifetime Janácek’s success was geographically limited and late in coming: when Jenufa eventually triumphed, the composer was already 62 years old.

The work

The Makropoulos Affair, Janácek’s eighth and last but one opera, was adapted from a play by Karel Capek (1890-1938), one of the few Czech authors to earn an international reputation during the interwar period. The play tells the story of a woman, Emilia Marty, who, after drinking an elixir of youth, lives for three hundred years under different identities and in different places. When the play opens, Emilia has returned to Prague, her native city, to live out the final days of her long life. However, hearing by chance of a court case in which she herself was once involved, she thinks she may be able to find the document containing the elixir’s formula in the court archives. From that moment on, she does everything in her power to recover it…
When first performed, Capek’s play was seen as a response to George Bernard Shaw’s play, Back to Methuselah, which postulated that a longer life would result in greater wisdom and happiness. Conversely, Capek showed to what extent Emilia Marty was an unhappy woman and that it is the awareness of life’s brevity that enables us to enjoy it to the full. It was also this philosophical dimension that encouraged Janácek to adapt this odd play into an opera – a considerable number of Capek’s works dealt with science-fiction. But whereas Capek perceived it from the angle of an optimistic comedy, the composer of Jenufa and Kátia Kabanová would give it all the depth of a personal tragedy. He also endowed the character of Emilia Marty with aspects of all the female roles he had previously written, each recalling the omnipresent figure of the young woman who illuminated the last twelve years of his life: Kamila Stösslova.
As usual, from a musical perspective, Janácek paid particular attention to prosody, matching the natural rhythm of speech to that of music. As Guy Erismann writes “It is this pulse, this all-invading anxiety, the fervour of various feelings – love, money, feverish curiosity – running through this humdrum little world and this great lady, that we discover in the music.” As such The Makropoulos Affair is, of all the composer’s operas prior to From the House of the Dead, the one which combines the bleakest and most dissonant vocabulary. But a sense of passion and compassion also infuse it with a lyricism that only subsides in the final pages of the opera.

The first performance

The Makropoulos Affair was first performed in Brno on December 18th 1926, under the direction of Frantisek Neumann.

The work at the Paris Opera

The Makropoulos Affair was presented at the Opera Bastille for the first time in 2007, in a production by Krzysztof Warlikowski, sets and costumes by Malgorzata Szczesniak, with Angela Denoke (Emilia Marty), Charles Workman (Albert Gregor), Vincent Le Texier (Jaroslav Prus), under the direction of Tomas Hanus. Il is this production that is revived today.

© Franck Ferville / OnP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - Première le 16 septembre 2013 - 19h30

septembre 2013
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
19:30
17
18
19
19:30
20
21
22
23
24
19:30
25
26
27
19:30
28
29
30
19:30
octobre 2013
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
19:30
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Fermer


Vec Makropulos
Leoš Janácek
Présentation
À lire avant le spectacle
L'AFFAIRE MAKROPOULOS
OPÉRA EN TROIS ACTES (1926)
MUSIQUE DE LEOŠ JANÁCEK (1854-1928)
LIVRET DU COMPOSITEUR D'APRÈS LA COMÉDIE ÉPONYME DE KAREL CAPEK
En langue tchèque

« Qui veut vivre pour l’éternité ? » Telle est la question que pose Emilia Marty au seuil de la mort, en agitant la formule d’un élixir qui lui a permis de vivre 337 ans… Pour son avant-dernier opéra, Janácek croise l’œuvre littéraire de Karel Capek – pionnier de la science-fiction – et met en scène cette histoire singulière de procès et d’immortalité, à mi-chemin du roman policier et du conte métaphysique.
Le théâtre écorché de Krzysztof Warlikowski transpose le philtre d’immortalité dans notre mythologie contemporaine. Sa mise en scène est hantée par le destin en noir et blanc de Marilyn : la femme éternelle, la femme adulée, la femme sacrifiée sur l’autel de la gloire et retrouvée morte– une overdose de barbiturique…
Dirigée par Susanna Mälkki, la musique de Janácek électrise les orages – désirs, soif de pouvoir et angoisses de mort – qui traversent cette petite société praguoise.

Susanna Mälkki Direction musicale
Krzysztof Warlikowski Mise en scène
Malgorzata Szczesniak Décors et costumes
Denis Guéguin Vidéo
Felice Ross Lumières
Miron Hakenbeck Dramaturgie
Alessandro Di Stefano Chef de Choeur
ArtisteNoteRôle
Ricarda Merbeth
Emilia Marty
Atilla Kiss-b.
Albert Gregor
Vincent Le Texier
Jaroslav Prus
Jochen Schmeckenbecher
Dr Kolenaty
Andreas Conrad
Vítek
Andrea Hill
Krista
Ladislav Elgr
Janek
Ryland Davies
Hauk-Šendorf

Orchestre et Choeur de l’Opéra national de Paris


COPRODUCTION AVEC LE TEATRO REAL, MADRID

Le compositeur

Né en 1854 à Hukvaldy, en Moravie, mort à Ostrava en 1928, Leos Janácek étudia la musique au monastère de Brno et l’orgue à Prague et au Conservatoire de Leipzig. Il fut maître de chœur à la cathédrale d’Olomouc, chef d’orchestre à Brno, fondateur du conservatoire d’orgue de sa ville natale. Il a composé un ballet, neuf opéras (citons parmi les plus célèbres Jenufa, Kátia Kabanová, Osud, Les Voyages de Mr Broucek, La Petite renarde rusée, L’Affaire Makropoulos, De la maison des morts), presque tous créés à Brno, des œuvres de musique chorale (messes, motets, cantates), des œuvres de musique instrumentale (rhapsodies, poèmes symphoniques, quatuors, sonates). Janácek puisa une grande partie de son inspiration dans l’exploration du folklore morave, dans l’étude du dialecte et des coutumes de son pays natal et des bruits de la nature. Mais il sut également s’imposer comme un remarquable dramaturge et homme de théâtre. Une puissante charge dramatique caractérise toute son œuvre : les portraits de Jenufa et de Katia, par exemple, sont empreints d’une grande subtilité psychologique. De son vivant, Janácek ne connut qu’un succès tardif et géographiquement limité : quand Jenufa parvient enfin à s’imposer, le compositeur a déjà 62 ans.

L'oeuvre

L’Affaire Makropoulos est le huitième et avant-dernier opéra de Janácek. Il est tiré d’une pièce de Karel Capek (1890-1938), un des rares auteurs tchèques à avoir pu acquérir une réputation internationale entre les deux guerres, et raconte l’histoire d’une femme, Emilia Marty, qui, après avoir bu un élixir de longévité, a vécu trois cents ans, sous des identités et dans des lieux différents. Lorsque la pièce commence, Emilia est revenue à Prague, où elle est née, pour y terminer sa longue vie. Mais elle entend parler par hasard d’un procès dans lequel elle a été jadis impliquée et dans les archives duquel elle pourrait retrouver le document sur lequel est consignée la recette de l’élixir. Elle fait tout, dès lors, pour le récupérer…
La pièce de Capek était apparue, lors de sa création, comme une réponse à la pièce de George Bernard Shaw, Retour à Mathusalem, qui postulait qu’une vie plus longue aurait pour résultat une sagesse et un bonheur accrus. Capek montrait au contraire à quel point Emilia Marty était une femme malheureuse et que c’est bien la conscience de la brièveté de la vie qui nous permet d’en jouir pleinement. C’est aussi cette dimension philosophique qui incita Janácek à adapter cette pièce étrange – un bon nombre des œuvres de Capek traitaient de science-fiction – à l’opéra. Mais alors que Capek l’envisageait sous l’angle de la comédie optimiste, le compositeur de Jenufa et de Kátia Kabanová lui donna la profondeur d’une tragédie personnelle. Et dans le personnage d’Emilia Marty, il vit aussi un condensé des rôles féminins qu’il avait précédemment écrits et dans lesquels se profilait toujours la figure de la jeune femme qui avait illuminé les douze dernières années de sa vie : Kamila Stösslova.
Sur le plan musical, Janácek, comme à son habitude, accorde un soin tout particulier à la prosodie et calque le rythme naturel des mots sur celui de la musique. Comme le dit Guy Erismann, « C’est cette pulsation, cette inquiétude générale, l’ardeur des sentiments divers – amour, argent, curiosité fébrile – qui traversent ce petit monde ordinaire et cette grande dame sans âge, que l’on retrouve dans la musique. » De fait, L’Affaire Makropoulos est, de tous les opéras du compositeur avant De la maison des morts, celui qui réunit le vocabulaire le plus dur et le plus dissonant. Mais la passion et la compassion y soufflent également avec lyrisme et ne s’apaisent que dans les derniers stades de l’opéra.

La création

L’Affaire Makropoulos a été créé le 18 décembre 1926, à Brno, sous la direction de Frantisek Neumann.

L'oeuvre à l'Opéra de Paris

L’Affaire Makropoulos a été représenté pour la première fois à l’Opéra Bastille en avril 2007, dans la mise en scène de Krzysztof Warlikowski, les décors et les costumes de Malgorzata Szczesniak, avec, entre autres, Angela Denoke (Emilia Marty), Charles Workman (Albert Gregor), Vincent Le Texier (Jaroslav Prus), sous la direction de Tomas Hanus. C’est cette production qui est reprise aujourd’hui.