Charles Duprat / ONP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - First performance on 8 April 2014 - 6:00PM

Ticket rates : 5€, 15€, 35€, 70€, 90€, 115€, 135€, 155€, 180€

Running time : 5H15 with 2 intervals

April 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
18:00
9
10
11
12
18:00
13
14
15
16
17
18:00
18
19
20
21
18:00
22
23
24
25
18:00
26
27
28
29
18:00
30
May 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
14:00
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Fermer


Tristan und Isolde
Richard Wagner
Presentation
Pre-performance reading
TRISTAN AND ISOLDE
OPERA IN THREE ACTS (1865)
MUSIC BY RICHARD WAGNER (1813-1883)
LIBRETTO BY THE COMPOSER
performed in german

In 1857 Wagner took a pause from composing the Ring, abandoning Siegfried in the depths of the forest to embark upon another quest. The composer had read Schopenhauer and the Bhagavad-Gıta  – perceiving in  renunciation the ultimate means of breaking free from the limits of existence – and he was in the midst of a passionate romance with Mathilde Wesendonck. Out of these spiritual and amorous affinities would come Tristan und Isolde, the saga of a love which was too huge for the material world. To set this myth to music—a myth in which Denis de Rougemont saw the very fate of the Western world playing out—Wagner pushed the very limits of his art: shifting keys,  languishing tension, ever-delayed resolution until Isolde dies of love – “The breath of a world to which she abandons herself, the waters which envelop her and in which she drowns...”
Under Philippe Jordan’s baton, this production of Tristan und Isolde brings together two great artists: producer, Peter Sellars and video director Bill Viola. On stage, the latter has conceived a world of parallel images: a world beyond life, like “a reflection of the world of the spirit in the mirror of time.”

Philippe Jordan Conductor
Peter Sellars Stage director
Bill Viola Video
Martin Pakledinaz Costumes
James F. Ingalls Lighting
Patrick Marie Aubert Chorus master
ArtisteNoteRôle
Robert Dean Smith
Tristan
Franz Josef Selig
König Marke
Violeta Urmana
Isolde
Jochen Schmeckenbecher
Kurwenal
Janina Baechle
Brangäne
Raimund Nolte
Melot
Stanislas de Barbeyrac*
Ein Hirt / Ein junger Seemann
Pavol Breslik
(A)
Ein Hirt / Ein junger Seemann
Dietmar Kerschbaum
(B)
Orchestre et Choeur De l’Opéra national de Paris

(A) 8, 12 APRIL
(B) 17, 21, 25, 29 APRIL AND 4 MAY

> DISCOVER THE BILL VIOLA EXHIBITION AT THE GRAND PALAIS

ANNENBERG FOUNDATION/GRoW
WITH THE EXCEPTIONAL SUPPORT OF THE ANNENBERG FOUNDATION⁄GRoW

 

To be broadcast on may 17 at 7:00 pm on France musique

The composer

Richard Wagner, born 22 May 1813 in Leipzig, died 13 February 1883 in Venice. Alongside Verdi, Wagner is incontestably one of the two greatest figures in nineteenth century opera.
After some initial difficulties (he was unable to get his early operas Die Feen, Das Liebersverbot, Rienzi and even The Flying Dutchman performed), Wagner met with success in Dresden, where he was named Capelmeister to the court, thanks, in particular, to his opera Tannhäuser (1845). However, his participation four years later in the May revolution forced him to leave the city for exile in Switzerland. It was there that he published a certain number of political and critical texts (including Art and Revolution) and started composing his Ring of the Nibelung, a project which had been outlined a year earlier and which was to take more than twenty years to complete. Its composition was interrupted for a long time by the writing of Tristan and Isolde and The Master Singers of Nuremburg, his only mature opera with a happy ending. In 1871, under the patronage of King Ludwig II of Bavaria, Wagner decided to erect in Bayreuth a theatre he had himself conceived and which was designed for the production of his own works. It was in this theatre, in 1876, that the complete cycle of The Ring of the Nibelung was first performed as was, in 1882, Parsifal, his last opera and artistic testament.

The work

Tristan and Isolde is an immense lyric poem, a song of love and death inspired by Wagner’s passionate feelings for Mathilde Wesendonk, the wife of Otto, his rich protector from Zurich. At the time he undertook the work he was in the midst of composing his Ring cycle and already looking forward to Parsifal. However for practical reasons (the need to write a smaller-scale work which could be more easily performed) and for personal reasons (the need to “sublimate” his love through art) he abandoned all other work to devote himself entirely to this opera. The libretto, written as always by the composer himself, turns to the Celtic myth, refining it and bringing a personal significance to the love potion which here serves to reveal a passion which already exists. In 1854, the year in which he committed the first outlines of the work to paper, Wagner had just read Schopenhauer and the Bhagavad Gita and both the philosopher’s reflections on renouncing the will to live and Buddhist mysticism were to influence the composer’s approach to the myth.
From a musical point of view Tristan and Isolde marks a turning point in Wagner’s work and in the history of music as a whole. For the first time tonality was no longer all important. The composer overlaps various rhythms creating a uniquely special movement of languishing and unresolving tension. The Prelude, the second act duo and the death of Isolde count among the most extraordinary passages of the score.

The first performance

Wagner directed extracts of the work on 25th January and 1st and 8th February 1860 at the Théâtre Italien de Paris. Tristan and Isolde was first performed in its complete version on 10th June 1865 at the Hoftheater in Munich, thanks to the support of Ludwig II of Bavaria. The work was conducted by Hans von Bulow.

The work at the Paris Opera

Tristan and Isolde was first performed at the Palais Garnier on 11 December 1904. Among the famous singers to have performed the work we should cite Germaine Lubin, Kirsten Flagstad, Astrid Varnay, Birgit Nilsson, Gwyneth Jones (Isolde) and Lauritz Melchior, Max Lorenz, Wolfgang Windgassen, Jess Thomas, René Kollo (Tristan) along with conductors such as André Messager, Wilhelm Furtwängler, Herbert von Karajan, Hans Knappertsbuch and Georges Sebastian. Tristan und Isolde was presented at the Opera Bastille for the first time in 1997, in a production staged by Stein Winge, under the direction of James Conlon. In 2005,a new production was presented in this theatre, staged by Peter Sellars (video: Bill Viola), with Ben Heppner (Tristan), Waltraud Meier (Isolde), Franz-Josef Selig (King Marke) and Yvonne Naef (Brangäne) under the direction of Esa-Pekka Salonen. It is this production (already revived the following season with Lisa Gasteen, Clifton Forbis and Willard White, then in 2008 with Waltraud Meier, Clifton Forbis and Franz-Josef Selig) that is being presented today.

Charles Duprat / ONP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - Première le 8 avril 2014 - 18h00

Tarifs : 5€, 15€, 35€, 70€, 90€, 115€, 135€, 155€, 180€

Durée : 5H15 avec 2 entractes

avril 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
18:00
9
10
11
12
18:00
13
14
15
16
17
18:00
18
19
20
21
18:00
22
23
24
25
18:00
26
27
28
29
18:00
30
mai 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
14:00
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Fermer


Tristan und Isolde
Richard Wagner
Présentation
À lire avant le spectacle
TRISTAN ET ISOLDE
OPÉRA EN TROIS ACTES (1865)
MUSIQUE DE RICHARD WAGNER (1813-1883)
LIVRET DU COMPOSITEUR
En langue allemande

En 1857, Wagner suspend la composition du Ring, abandonnant Siegfried dans la forêt profonde, pour entreprendre une autre quête. Le compositeur a lu Schopenhauer et laBhagavad-Gıta – percevant dans le renoncement l’ultime moyen de s’affranchir des limites de l’existence – et vit une romance passionnée avec Mathilde Wesendonck. De ces affinités spirituelles et amoureuses naîtra Tristan et Isolde, le récit d’un amour trop grand pour le monde matériel. Pour mettre en musique ce mythe, dans lequel Denis de Rougemont voyait se jouer le destin de l’Occident, Wagner repousse loin les limites de son art : tonalité mouvante, tension languissante, résolution toujours retardée jusqu’à la mort d’amour d’Isolde – « ce souffle du monde auquel elle s’abandonne, ce flot qui l’enveloppe dans lequel elle se noie… »
Sous la direction de Philippe Jordan, cette production de Tristan et Isolde réunit deux grands artistes : le metteur en scène Peter Sellars et le vidéaste Bill Viola. Sur scène, ce dernier a conçu un monde d’images parallèles, une vie par-delà la vie qui est comme « le reflet du monde de l’esprit dans le miroir du temps. »

Philippe Jordan Direction musicale
Peter Sellars Mise en scène
Bill Viola Vidéo
Martin Pakledinaz Costumes
James F. Ingalls Lumières
Patrick Marie Aubert Chef de Choeur
ArtisteNoteRôle
Robert Dean Smith
Tristan
Franz Josef Selig
König Marke
Violeta Urmana
Isolde
Jochen Schmeckenbecher
Kurwenal
Janina Baechle
Brangäne
Raimund Nolte
Melot
Stanislas de Barbeyrac*
Ein Hirt / Ein junger Seemann
Pavol Breslik
(A)
Ein Hirt / Ein junger Seemann
Dietmar Kerschbaum
(B)
Ein Hirt / Ein junger Seemann
Orchestre et Choeur De l’Opéra national de Paris
*Stanislas de Barbeyrac, souffrant, s’est retiré de la production.
Les rôles d'Ein Hirt / Junger Seemann ont été interprétés le 8 et 12 avril par Pavol Breslik
Les rôles d'Ein Hirt / Junger Seemann seront interprétés les représentations suivantes par Dietmar Kerschbaum.

(A) 8, 12 AVRIL
(B) 17, 21, 25, 29 AVRIL ET 4 MAI

> Découvrez l'exposition Bill Viola au Grand Palais

ANNENBERG FOUNDATION/GRoW
AVEC LE SOUTIEN EXCEPTIONNEL DE LA ANNENBERG FOUNDATION ⁄ GRoW


 
DIFFUSION le 17 mai à 19h sur France Musique

Le compositeur

Richard Wagner, né le 22 mai 1813 à Leipzig, mort le 13 février 1883 à Venise. Avec Verdi, Wagner est incontestablement l’autre grande figure lyrique du XIXe siècle.
Après des débuts difficiles (il ne parvient pas à faire représenter ses premiers opéras, Die Feen, Das Liebesverbot, Rienzi et même Le Vaisseau fantôme), Wagner connaît un certain succès à Dresde, où il a été nommé maître de chapelle de la Cour, grâce, en particulier, à la création de Tannhäuser (1845). Mais sa participation, quatre ans plus tard, à la révolution de mai empêche la création de Lohengrin dans cette même ville et le contraint à s’exiler en Suisse. Là, il publie un certain nombre de textes politiques et critiques (dont L’Art et la révolution) et s’attelle surtout à la composition de son Anneau du Nibelung, esquissé un an plus tôt. Cette composition s’étalera sur plus de vingt ans, interrompue pendant une longue période par l’écriture de Tristan et Isolde et par Les Maîtres chanteurs de Nuremberg, son seul opéra de maturité au dénouement heureux. En 1871, grâce au soutien du roi Louis II de Bavière, Wagner décide de faire édifier à Bayreuth un théâtre de sa conception, destiné à la représentation de ses œuvres. C’est là que sont créés, en 1876, le cycle intégral de L’Anneau du Nibelung, et, en 1882, Parsifal, son dernier opéra, qui constitue son testament artistique.

L'oeuvre

Tristan et Isolde est un immense poème lyrique, un chant d’amour et de mort inspiré par la passion que Wagner nourrissait à l’égard de Mathilde Wesendonk, la femme de son riche protecteur zurichois, Otto. Au moment où il l’entreprit, Wagner était en pleine compo­sition de la Tétralogie et songeait déjà à Parsifal, mais des nécessités pratiques (le besoin d’écrire une œuvre aux dimensions moins vastes, qui puisse plus facilement être représentée) et intérieures (le besoin de « sublimer » cet amour par l’art) l’incitèrent à abandonner tout autre travail pour se consacrer exclusivement à cet opéra. Le livret, écrit comme toujours par le compositeur lui-même, reprend le mythe celte en l’épurant au maximum et en donnant une signification personnelle au philtre d’amour qui devient, ici, le révélateur d’une passion déjà existante. En 1854, année où il jeta sur le papier la première esquisse de l’œuvre, Wagner venait de lire Schopenhauer et la Bhâgavad Gita et autant la pensée du philosophe du renoncement au vouloir-vivre que la mystique bouddhiste influencèrent son approche du mythe.
Sur le plan musical, Tristan et Isolde marque un tournant dans l’œuvre de Wagner et dans l’Histoire de la musique tout entière. Pour la première fois, en effet, la tonalité n’y règne plus en maître et le compositeur fait se superposer plusieurs rythmes, créant ainsi un mouvement très particulier de tension languissante et toujours retardée. Le prélude, le duo du deuxième acte et la mort d’Isolde sont parmi les points culminants de la partition.

La création

Après que Wagner en a dirigé des extraits les 25 janvier, 1er et 8 février 1860 au Théâtre Italien de Paris, Tristan et Isolde est créé dans son intégralité le 10 juin 1865 au Hoftheater de Munich, grâce à l’appui du roi Louis II de Bavière, sous la direction de Hans von Bülow.

L'oeuvre à l'Opéra de Paris

Tristan et Isolde a été représenté pour la première fois au Palais Garnier le 11 décembre 1904. Parmi les interprètes célèbres de l’œuvre, on peut citer : Germaine Lubin, Kirsten Flagstad, Astrid Varnay, Birgit Nilsson, Gwyneth Jones (Isolde) et Lauritz Melchior, Max Lorenz, Wolfgang Windgassen, Jess Thomas, René Kollo (Tristan), sous la direction de chefs tels que André Messager, Wilhelm Furtwängler, Herbert von Karajan, Hans Knappertsbusch, Georges Sebastian. En 1997, Tristan et Isolde fait son entrée à l’Opéra Bastille, dans une mise en scène de Stein Winge, sous la direction musicale de James Conlon. En avril 2005, une nouvelle production signée Peter Sellars pour la mise en scène et Bill Viola pour la vidéo réunissait Ben Heppner (Tristan), Waltraud Meier (Isolde), Franz-Josef Selig (le Roi Marke) et Yvonne Naef (Brangäne) sous la direction musicale d’Esa-Pekka Salonen. C’est cette production (reprise la saison suivante avec Lisa Gasteen, Clifton Forbis et Willard White, puise n 2008 avec Waltraud Meier, Clifton Forbis et Franz Josef Selig) qui est de nouveau à l’affiche cette saison.