© Patrick Tourneboeuf / Tendance Floue / OnP

Dates / Prix

Book

Opéra Bastille - First performance on 2 June 2014 - 7:30PM

Ticket rates : 5€, 15€, 35€, 70€, 100€, 130€, 150€, 180€, 195€

Running time : 2H47 with 2 intervals

June 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
19:30
3
4
5
19:30
6
7
19:30
8
9
19:30
10
11
12
19:30
13
14
19:30
15
16
17
19:30
18
19
20
19:30
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

*5 juin : gala Arop – tarifs et réservations uniquement pour cette date : 01 58 18 65 10 / www.arop-opera.com

Fermer


NEW PRODUCTION
La Traviata
Giuseppe Verdi
Book
Presentation
Pre-performance reading
OPERA IN THREE ACTS (1853)
MUSIC BY GIUSEPPE VERDI (1813-1901)
LIBRETTO BY FRANCESCO MARIA PIAVE BASED ON ALEXANDRE DUMAS FILS'S PLAY "LA DAME AUX CAMÉLIAS"
Performed in Italian

“Poor Mariette Duplessis is dead... the first woman I ever loved, and now she's in goodness knows which cemetery, abandoned to the maggots of the sepulchre! It's as she said to me fifteen months ago: “I won’t live: I’m a strange girl and I won’t be able to keep living a life I don’t know how to lead and that I don’t know how to bear either. Take me, lead me wherever you want; I won’t bother you, I sleep all day. In the evening, you’ll let me go to the theatre and at night you’ll do with me as you wish!” I’ve never told you of the singular attachment I felt for that charming creature. And now she's dead... And I don’t know what strange old elegy echoes in my heart at her memory.”
Thus spoke Franz Liszt of Marie d’Agoult, the unforgettable ghost of the woman who would become the Dame aux camélias. After Dumas fils, it was Verdi who would give her immortality in his remarkable masterpiece, one of the repertoire’s most striking portraits of a woman, at once cruel and sublime.
Following on from Werther, Benoît Jacquot directs Diana Damrau in this other opera about love and sacrifice.

Daniel Oren (2, 5, 7, 9 et 20 june) Conductor
Francesco Ivan Ciampa (12, 14, 17 june) Conductor
Benoît Jacquot Stage director
Sylvain Chauvelot Sets
Christian Gasc Costumes
André Diot Lighting
Patrick Marie Aubert Chorus master
ArtisteNoteRôle
Diana Damrau
Violetta Valéry
Anna Pennisi
Flora Bervoix
Cornelia Oncioiu
Annina
Francesco Demuro
Alfredo Germont
Ludovic Tézier
Giorgio Germont
Kevin Amiel
Gastone
Fabio Previati
Il Barone Douphol
Igor Gnidii
Il Marchese d’Obigny
Nicolas Testé
Dottore Grenvil
Paris Opera Orchestra and Chorus

axaAXA FRANCE, SPONSOR OF LA TRAVIATA

 

 
 
  
     
 

Sponsor of the Paris Opera’s live broadcasts


international tv distributor for Opéra national de Paris

Live in cinemas on 17 June / To be broadcast at a later date on France Télévisions
Live on France Musique and uer on 7 June

The composer

Giuseppe Verdi was born in 1813 in Le Roncole, a hamlet near Busetto, and died in Milan in 1901. He composed around thirty operas. Amongst the most famous are Nabucco, Ernarni, Attila, Macbeth, Luisa Miller, Rigoletto, Il Trovatore, La Traviata, I Vespri siciliani, Un Ballo in maschera, La Forza del destino, Don Carlo, Aïda, Otello and Falstaff. He also wrote a Requiem Mass. He gradually abandoned classic bel canto in order to develop a greater intensity of vocal expression. Verdi’s later works see the disappearance of recitative and the advent of continuous musical argument.

The work

Piave’s libretto is inspired by Alexandre Dumas’play La Dame aux camélias (1852), itself drawn from his semi-autobio­gra­p­hical novel, based on the life of Alphonsine Duplessis, the famous Parisian demi-mondaine, who died of tuberculosis in 1847. The opera was a fiasco when it was first performed at La Fenice in 1853, above all because of a mediocre cast. In addition, the audience may have been nonplussed by Verdi’s innova­tive musical language. For the first time the composer took as a subject for an opera the literature of his times and abandoned all historical context depicting ordinary life in the search for inner emotion and psychological realism. It is true that there are still arias and cabalettas and the party scenes in the first and second acts are written in a brilliant and spirited style, but in the intimate scenes the music turns its back on the vocal virtu­osity which was still in vogue at the time and uses half shades. Violetta’s arias are tinged with an air of interiority, which marvel­lously expresses the inner strength of the character. Verdi had never before interested himself to such an extent in the pyschological development of one of his heroines : nascent love, passion, suffering and sacrifice are depicted with great precision. Censorship at that time would not allow the work to be performed in contemporary costumes, so the action was transposed to the times of Louis XIV. It was only in 1906 that La Traviata was first performed in nineteenth-century costumes. After its disastrous creation, the opera was revived at the Teatro San Benedetto in Venice, this time with a cast which met the composer’s requirements. Verdi had reworked the score for the occasion and the work was the triumphal success it has remained. Today La Traviata is Verdi’s most popular opera.

The first performance

The first version of La Traviata was first performed at La Fenice in Venice on 6 March 1853, the reworked version at the Teatro San Benedetto on 5 May 1854. The first perfor­mance in France was at the Théâtre Italien on 6 December 1856.

The work at the Paris Opera

La Traviata was first performed at the Palais Garnier on 24 December 1926 with Fanny Heldy in the role of Violetta and Georges Thill in the role of Alfredo. The many inter­pre­ters of the work have included Janine Micheau, Renée Doria, Jacqueline Brumaire, Andréa Guiot, Katia Ricciarelli, Cecilia Gasdia (Violetta), Beniamino Gigli, Nicolaï Gedda, Alain Vanzo, Alberto Cupido, Giacomo Aragall (Alfredo), Ernest Blanc, Robert Massard, Louis Quilico, Gabriel Bacquier and Leo Nucci (Germont). La Traviata was presented at the Opera Bastille for the first time in December 1997, in a production by Jonathan Miller, with Angela Gheorgiu, Ramon Vargas and Alexandru Agache, under the direction of James Conlon. In 2007, a new production staged byu Christoph Marthaler was presented at the Palais Garnier, under the direction of Sylvain Cambreling and with Christine Schäfer, Jonas Kaufmann and José Van Dam.

© Patrick Tourneboeuf / Tendance Floue / OnP

Dates / Prix

Réserver

Opéra Bastille - Première le 2 juin 2014 - 19h30

Tarifs : 5€, 15€, 35€, 70€, 100€, 130€, 150€, 180€, 195€

Durée : 2H47 avec 2 entractes

juin 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
19:30
3
4
5
19:30
6
7
19:30
8
9
19:30
10
11
12
19:30
13
14
19:30
15
16
17
19:30
18
19
20
19:30
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

*5 juin : gala Arop – tarifs et réservations uniquement pour cette date : 01 58 18 65 10 / www.arop-opera.com

Fermer


Nouvelle production
La Traviata
Giuseppe Verdi
Réserver
Présentation
À lire avant le spectacle
OPÉRA EN TROIS ACTES (1853)
Musique de Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901)
LIVRET DE FRANCESCO MARIA PIAVE D’APRÈS LE DRAME D’ALEXANDRE DUMAS FILS "LA DAME AUX CAMÉLIAS"
En langue italienne

« Et cette pauvre Mariette Duplessis qui est morte… C’est la première femme dont j’ai été amoureux, qui se trouve dans je ne sais quel cimetière, livrée aux vers du sépulcre ! Elle me le disait bien il y a quinze mois : “Je ne vivrai pas : je suis une singulière fille et je ne pourrai y tenirà cette vie que je ne sais pas ne pas mener et que je ne sais pas non plus supporter. Prends-moi, emmène-moi où tu voudras ; je ne te gênerai pas, je dors toute la journée, le soir tu me laisseras aller au spectacle et la nuit tu feras de moi ce que tu voudras !” Je ne vous ai jamais dit de quel singulier attachement je m’étais pris pour cette charmante créature. Maintenant la voilà morte… Et je ne sais quelle étrange corde d’élégie antique vibre dans mon coeur à son souvenir. »
Ainsi Franz Liszt évoquait-il à Marie d’Agoult le fantôme inoubliable de celle qui allait devenir la Dame aux camélias. Après Dumas fils, c’est Verdi qui lui donna son immortalité dans un chef-d’oeuvre singulier, l’un des portraits de femme les plus étreignants du répertoire,à la fois cruel et sublime.
Après Werther, Benoît Jacquot met en scène Diana Damrau dans cet autre opéra de l’amour et du sacrifice.

Daniel Oren (2, 5, 7, 9 et 20 june) Direction musicale
Francesco Ivan Ciampa (12, 14, 17 june) Direction musicale
Benoît Jacquot Mise en scène
Sylvain Chauvelot Décors
Christian Gasc Costumes
André Diot Lumières
Patrick Marie Aubert Chef de Choeur
ArtisteNoteRôle
Diana Damrau
Violetta Valéry
Anna Pennisi
Flora Bervoix
Cornelia Oncioiu
Annina
Francesco Demuro
Alfredo Germont
Ludovic Tézier
Giorgio Germont
Kevin Amiel
Gastone
Fabio Previati
Il Barone Douphol
Igor Gnidii
Il Marchese d’Obigny
Nicolas Testé
Dottore Grenvil
Orchestre et Choeur de l’Opéra national de Paris

axaAXA FRANCE, MÉCÈNE DE LA TRAVIATA

  

 
 
  
     
 

Mécène des retransmissions audiovisuelles de l'Opéra national de Paris


Distributeur TV international de l'Opéra national  de Paris

diffusion en direct au cinéma le 17 juin, puis en différé sur france tÉlÉvisions
en direct sur France Musique le  7 juin

Le compositeur

Né en 1813 à Le Roncole, hameau proche de Busseto, mort à Milan en 1901, Giuseppe Verdi a composé une trentaine d’opéras. Parmi les plus célèbres : Nabucco, Ernani, Attila, Macbeth, Luisa Miller, Rigoletto, Il Trovatore, La Traviata, I Vespri siciliani, Simone Boccanegra, Un Ballo in maschera, La Forza del destino, Don Carlo, Aïda, Otello, Falstaff. Il est également l’auteur d’une Messa da Requiem. Il abandonne progressivement le bel canto classique au profit d’une expression vocale plus dramatique ; les dernières œuvres de Verdi verront la disparition du récitatif et l’avènement d’un discours musical continu.

L'oeuvre

Le livret de Piave s’inspire de la pièce d’Alexandre Dumas fils, La Dame aux camélias (1852), elle-même tirée de son roman fondé sur la vie d’Alphonsine Duplessis, célèbre demi-mondaine parisienne qui mourut de la tuberculose en 1847. L’opéra fut un fiasco lors de sa création à La Fenice en 1853, surtout du fait d’une distribution médiocre. Peut-être, aussi, le public fut-il désarçonné par le langage musical novateur de Verdi : pour la première fois, le compositeur empruntait un sujet d’opéra à la littérature de son temps et abandonnait tout contexte historique pour s’attacher à la peinture d’un univers quotidien, à la recherche d’une émotion tout intérieure et du réalisme psychologique. Certes, airs et cabalettes sont toujours présents et les scènes de fête du premier et du second acte sont écrites dans un style brillant et enlevé, mais dans les scènes intimistes, la musique tourne le dos à la virtuosité vocale encore en vogue à l’époque et joue sur les demi-teintes. Les airs de Violetta sont empreints d’un climat d’intériorité qui exprime à merveille la force d’âme du personnage. Jamais auparavant Verdi ne s’était autant attaché à l’évolution psychologique d’une de ses héroïnes : l’amour naissant, la passion, la souffrance, le sacrifice sont dépeints avec une grande justesse. La censure de l’époque avait refusé que l’œuvre fût jouée en costumes contemporains, aussi l’action fut-elle transposée au temps de Louis XIV. Il fallut attendre 1906 pour que La Traviata soit enfin représentée en Italie en costumes du xixe siècle ! L’opéra fut repris un an après sa désastreuse création, au Teatro San Benedetto de Venise, avec cette fois-ci une distribution conforme aux souhaits du compositeur. Verdi avait remanié la partition pour l’occasion et l’œuvre connut un succès triomphal qui ne se démentit plus par la suite : La Traviata est, de nos jours, l’opéra le plus populaire de Verdi.

La création

La première version de La Traviata fut créée à La Fenice de Venise le 6 mars 1853, la version remaniée au Teatro San Benedetto le 5 mai 1854. La création française eut lieu au Théâtre Italien le 6 décembre 1856.

L'oeuvre à l'Opéra de Paris

La Traviata a été représentée pour la première fois au Palais Garnier le 24 décembre 1926 avec Fanny Heldy dans le rôle de Violetta et Georges Thill dans celui d’Alfredo. Parmi les nombreux interprètes de cette œuvre qui se sont succédé par la suite, on peut citer : Janine Micheau, Renée Doria, Jacqueline Brumaire, Andrée Esposito, Andrea Guiot, Katia Ricciarelli, Cecilia Gasdia (Violetta), Beniamino Gigli, Nicolai Gedda, Alain Vanzo, Alberto Cupido, Giacomo Aragall (Alfredo), Ernest Blanc, Robert Massard, Louis Quilico, Gabriel Bacquier, Leo Nucci, Lajos Miller (Germont). La Traviata a été jouée pour la première fois à l’Opéra Bastille en décembre 1997, dans une mise en scène de Jonathan Miller, avec Angela Gheorgiu, Ramon Vargas et Alexandru Agache, sous la direction de James Conlon. En 2007, une nouvelle production a été présentée au Palais Garnier, dans une mise en scène de Christoph Marthaler, sous la direction musicale de Sylvain Cambreling et avec Christine Schäfer, Jonas Kaufmann et José Van Dam. C’est la mise en scène de Jonatha Miller qui est de nouveau à l’affiche.