© Christian Leiber / OnP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - First performance on 15 March 2014 - 7:30PM

Ticket rates : 5€, 15€, 35€, 70€, 90€, 115€, 135€, 155€, 180€

Running time : 2H30 with one interval

First period
March 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
19:30
16
17
18
19:30
19
20
21
19:30
22
23
24
19:30
25
26
27
19:30
28
29
30
31
19:30
April 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
19:30
5
6
7
19:30
8
9
10
11
19:30
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Second period
June 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
19:30
30
July 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
19:30
3
4
19:30
5
6
7
19:30
8
9
19:30
10
11
12
19:30
13
14
19:30
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

deficients-visuels.gifAudio description for visually impaired on 29 June, 2 and 4 July

 

*14 juillet : free performance.
Free admission within the limit of available places

Fermer


La Bohème
Giacomo Puccini
Presentation
Pre-performance reading
OPERA IN FOUR SCENES (1896)
MUSIC BY GIACOMO PUCCINI (1858-1924)
LIBRETTO BY GIUSEPPE GIACOSA AND LUIGI ILLICA BASED ON THE NOVEL BY HENRI MÜRGER "SCÈNES DE LA VIE DE BOHÈME"
Performed in Italian

There is perhaps nothing more straightforward than La Bohème: a young man and a young woman meet, fall in love, are separated by life and then reunited again before the ultimate separation. It happens in Paris, an eternally Bohemian Paris, as legendary as it is real. Out of this simplicity springs something supernatural: an irrepressible and ever-new emotion. Puccini filled La Bohème with unforgettable images: Mimi, muse-like, entering the poet’s room, a candle in her hand… the lover’s moonlight duet, the brightly lit grand café, the impossible farewells in the freezing morning, and finally, death on a shabby bed. But these places are just as equally realms within ourselves: his café Momus is the very whirlwind of existence, his Barrière d’Enfer is the frightening barrenness of the heart: La Bohème evokes the things which haunt us all: the love which blazes and transports us to heaven, the fleeting nature of youth, and all-destroying time. In 1896, Puccini still had numerous masterpieces ahead of him. But arguably he would never again achieve the clarity and splendour of melody whose every phrase touches us and is engraved in our hearts from the moment we first hear it.

Daniel Oren (A) Conductor
Stefano Ranzani (B) Conductor
Jonathan Miller Stage director
Dante Ferretti Sets
Gabriella Pescucci Costumes
Guido Levi Lighting
Alessandro Di Stefano Chorus master
ArtisteNoteRôle
Maria Agresta
(A) (15 au 24 mars)
Mimi
Angela Gheorghiu
(A) (27 mars au 11 avr.)
Mimi
Anita Hartig
(B)
Mimi
Brigitta Kele
(A)
Musetta
Elena Tsallagova
(B)
Musetta
Stefano Secco
(A) (15 au 24 mars)
Rodolfo
Piotr Beczala
(A) (27 mars au 11 avr.)
Rodolfo
Massimo Giordano
(B)
Rodolfo
Ludovic Tézier
Marcello
Igor Gnidii
(A)
Schaunard
Lionel Lhote
(B)
Schaunard
Ante Jerkunica
(A)
Colline
Nahuel Di Pierro
(B)
Colline
Matteo Peirone
Benoît
Antoine Normand
Alcindoro
Maîtrise des Hauts-De-Seine / Paris Opera children's Chorus

Paris Opera Orchestra and Chorus


COPRODUCTION WITH THE TEATRO COMUNALE, FLORENCE

(A) : 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, 31 MARCH, 4, 7, 11 APRIL
(B) : 29 JUNE, 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14 JULY



Saint-Gobain SAINT-GOBAIN, SPONSOR OF LA BOHÈME

Radio Classique

Live on Radio Classique on 31 March after a full day live from the Opéra Bastille.

The composer

Giacomo Puccini - born in 1858 in Lucca, died in 1924 in Brussels. Descended from a family of organists in Lucca (his father was a famous theoretician and teacher), Puccini studied at the Milan conservatory under the direction of Ponchielli, amongst others. He composed ten operas most of which have become repertory standards (Manon Lescaut, Tosca, Madama Butterfly, La Fanciulla del West, Il Trittico, Turandot) and a few religious works (Salve regina, Messa di Gloria). Although considered as one of the most important representatives of the verismo movement, which was an extension of naturalism in literature, Puccini differed in the refinement of his musical writing and the rejection of the brutality that so often characterised this movement.

The work

Opera in four scenes. The libretto is an adaptation of Mürger’s Scènes de la vie de bohème, which appeared in serial form in the Parisian magazine Le Corsaire, between 1845 and 1849, and was presented shortly after in a stage version co-written by Théodore Barrière at the Théâtre des Variétés. As in the play, Puccini and his librettists, Giacosa and Illica, condense two of Mürger’s characters to create the fragile figure of Mimi, who, along with her lover, Rodolfo, takes centre stage. But besides the depiction of a group of picturesque characters (with the contrast of a «tragic» couple, Rodolfo/ Mimi, and a «comical» couple, Marcello/ Musetta) and a way of life which reminded him of the one he had known when he was at the conservatory, the composer sought to portray a city with a thousand details and impressionistic touches. His success is attested to by Debussy’s reaction at its creation : «I know of nobody who has described the Paris of those days so well as Puccini in La Bohème».

The first performance

The opera was created on 1st February 1896 at the Teatro Regio in Turin. The first performance in Paris, under the title of La Vie de bohème and in a French version by Paul Ferrier, was on 13th June 1898 at the Théâtre Lyrique de la Place du Châtelet, where the Opéra-Comique had taken refuge after a fire at the Salle Favart.

The work at the Paris Opera

After 1496 performances of the same production at the Opéra Comique (decors by Lucien Jusseaume), the work entered the repertory at the Palais Garnier in 1973, in the original version, in a production by Gian Carlo Menotti with decors by Pier Luigi Samaritani. It was revived many times up to 1986. Amongst others, Carlo Cossutta, Luciano Pavarotti, Placido Domingo and Giacomo Aragall appeared successively in the role of Rodolfo; Katia Ricciarelli, Mirella Freni, Kiri Te Kanawa and Ileana Cotrubas in that of Mimi; Aldo Ceccato, Julius Rudel, Giuseppe Patane, Nello Santi and Alain Lombard alternated at the rostrum.
La Bohème was presented at the Opera Bastille for the first time in December 1995 and was conducted by James Conlon with, alternately, Roberto Alagna and Roberto Aronica (Rodolfo) and Leontina Vaduva and Cristina Gallardo-Domas (Mimi). It is this production, which was performed again in 1996,1999, 2001, 2003 and 2009 with Nuccia Focile, Angela Gheorghiu, Olga Guryakova, Tamar Iveri, Inva Mula (Mimi), Franco Farina, Marcelo Alvarez, Rolando Villazon, Stefano Secco, Massimo Giordano (Rodolfo), that is revived today.

© Christian Leiber / OnP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - Première le 15 mars 2014 - 19h30

Tarifs : 5€, 15€, 35€, 70€, 90€, 115€, 135€, 155€, 180€

Durée : 2H30 avec un entracte

Première période
mars 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
19:30
16
17
18
19:30
19
20
21
19:30
22
23
24
19:30
25
26
27
19:30
28
29
30
31
19:30
avril 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
19:30
5
6
7
19:30
8
9
10
11
19:30
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Seconde période
juin 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
19:30
30
juillet 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
19:30
3
4
19:30
5
6
7
19:30
8
9
19:30
10
11
12
19:30
13
14
19:30
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

deficients-visuels.gifAudio-description pour déficients visuels les 29 juin, 2 et 4 juillet


*14 juillet : représentation gratuite.
Entrée libre dans la limite des places disponibles

Fermer


La Bohème
Giacomo Puccini
Présentation
À lire avant le spectacle
OPÉRA EN QUATRE TABLEAUX (1896)
MUSIQUE DE GIACOMO PUCCINI (1858-1924)
LIVRET DE GIUSEPPE GIACOSA ET LUIGI ILLICA D'APRÈS LE ROMAN DE HENRI MÜRGER "SCÈNES DE LA VIE DE BOHÈME"
En langue italienne

Il n’est peut-être rien de plus simple que La Bohème : un jeune homme et une jeune fille se rencontrent et s’aiment, sont séparés par la vie, se retrouvent pourtant avant la séparation suprême. C’est à Paris, un Paris à la fois légendaire et bien réel, au temps éternel de la bohème. De cette simplicité sourd le surnaturel, une émotion toujours nouvelle et irrépressible. Dans La Bohème, Puccini a su créer des images inoubliables : Mimi, entrant telle la muse, une bougie à la main dans la chambre du poète, le duo d’amour sous la lune, le grand café illuminé, les adieux impossibles dans le matin glacé, la mort enfin sur le lit misérable. Mais les lieux sont autant de régions de nous-mêmes : son café Momus, c’est le tournoiement même de l’existence, sa Barrière d’Enfer l’effrayant désert du coeur : La Bohème évoque ce qui nous hante tous : l’amour qui flamboie et nous emporte au ciel, la jeunesse qui s’enfuit et le temps qui détruit tout. En 1896, Puccini a encore de nombreux chefs-d’œuvre devant lui. Mais plus jamais peut-être, il ne retrouvera cette évidence et cette splendeur de la mélodie où chaque phrase nous touche et est inscrite en nous depuis le premier jour où nous l’avons entendue.

Daniel Oren (A) Direction musicale
Stefano Ranzani (B) Direction musicale
Jonathan Miller Mise en scène
Dante Ferretti Décors
Gabriella Pescucci Costumes
Guido Levi Lumières
Alessandro Di Stefano Chef de Choeur
ArtisteNoteRôle
Maria Agresta
(A) (15 au 24 mars)
Mimi
Angela Gheorghiu
(A) (27 mars au 11 avr.)
Mimi
Anita Hartig
(B)
Mimi
Brigitta Kele
(A)
Musetta
Elena Tsallagova
(B)
Musetta
Stefano Secco
(A) (15 au 24 mars)
Rodolfo
Piotr Beczala
(A) (27 mars au 11 avr.)
Rodolfo
Massimo Giordano
(B)
Rodolfo
Ludovic Tézier
Marcello
Igor Gnidii
(A)
Schaunard
Lionel Lhote
(B)
Schaunard
Ante Jerkunica
(A)
Colline
Nahuel Di Pierro
(B)
Colline
Matteo Peirone
Benoît
Antoine Normand
Alcindoro
Maîtrise des Hauts-De-Seine / Choeur d’enfants de l’Opéra national de Paris

Orchestre et Choeur de l’Opéra national de Paris


(A) : 15, 18, 21, 24, 27, 31 MARS, 4, 7, 11 AVRIL
(B) : 29 JUIN, 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14 JUILLET



Saint-Gobain SAINT-GOBAIN, MÉCÈNE DE LA BOHÈME

Radio Classique

En direct sur Radio Classique le 31 mars, après une journée complète depuis l'Opéra Bastille sur leur antenne.

 

Le compositeur

Giacomo Puccini - Né en 1858 à Lucques, mort en 1924 à Bruxelles. Issu d’une famille d’organistes lucquois (son père était un théoricien et un professeur célèbre), Puccini fit ses études au conservatoire de Milan, sous la direction, entre autres, de Ponchielli. Il est l’auteur d’une dizaine d’opéras, dont la plupart sont devenus des piliers du répertoire lyrique (Manon Lescaut, Tosca, Madame Butterfly, La Fan­ciulla del West, Il Trittico, Turandot) et de quelques oeuvres religieuses (Salve regina, Messa di Gloria). Considéré comme un des principaux représentants du mouvement vériste, qui était un prolongement du naturalisme en littérature, Puccini s’en démarque par le raffinement de son écriture musicale et le rejet de la brutalité qui caractérise bien souvent ce mouvement.

L'oeuvre

Opéra en quatre tableaux. Le livret est une adaptation des Scènes de la vie de bohème de Mürger, parues en feuilleton dans le journal parisien Le Corsaire, entre 1845 et 1849, et représentées peu après, sous une forme dramatique coécrite par Théodore Barrière, au Théâtre des Variétés. Comme dans la pièce, Puccini et ses librettistes, Giacosa et Illica, condensèrent deux personnages de Mürger pour donner naissance à la fragile figure de Mimi, qui occupe, avec son amant Rodolfo, le devant de la scène. Mais au delà d’un groupe de personnages pittoresques (avec l’opposition d’un couple « tragique », Rodolfo / Mimi, et d’un couple « fantaisiste », Marcello / Musette) et d’un mode d’existence qui lui rappelait celui qu’il avait lui-même connu, lors de ses années de conser­vatoire, le compositeur voulait aussi dépeindre une ville à travers mille détails et mille touches impressionnistes. Entreprise réussie, puisqu’à la création, Debussy ne put s’empêcher de déclarer : « Je ne connais personne qui ait décrit le Paris de cette époque aussi bien que Puccini dans La Bohème ».

La création

L’opéra fut créé le 1er février 1896 au Teatro Regio de Turin, sous la direction d’Arturo Toscanini, alors âgé de 28 ans. La création parisienne, sous le titre de La Vie de bohème et dans la version française de Paul Ferrier, eut lieu le 13 juin 1898, au Théâtre Lyrique de la Place du Châtelet, où s’était réfugié l’Opéra-Comique en 1887, après l’incendie de la Salle Favart.

L'oeuvre à l'Opéra de Paris

Après avoir été jouée 1496 fois dans la même production de l’Opéra-Comique (décors de Lucien Jusseaume), l’œuvre fait son entrée au Palais Garnier, en version originale, en novembre 1973, dans une mise en scène de Gian Carlo Menotti et des décors de Pier Luigi Samaritani. Elle est reprise de nombreuses fois jusqu’en 1986. Carlo Cossutta, Luciano Pavarotti, Placido Domingo et Giacomo Aragall s’y succèdent, entre autres, dans le rôle de Rodolfo ; Katia Ricciarelli, Mirella Freni, Kiri Te Kanawa et Ileana Cotrubas dans celui de Mimi ; Aldo Ceccato, Julius Rudel, Giuseppe Patane, Nello Santi et Alain Lombard alternent à la direction d’orchestre.
En décembre 1995, La Bohème est présentée pour la première fois à l’Opéra Bastille, sous la direction de James Conlon, avec, en alternance : Roberto Alagna et Roberto Aronica (Rodolfo), Leontina Vaduva et Cristina Gallardo-Domas (Mimi). C’est cette production, dans laquelle on a également pu entendre Nuccia Focile, Angela Gheorghiu, Olga Guryakova, Tamar Iveri, Inva Mula (Mimi), Franco Farina, Marcelo Alvarez, Rolando Villazon, Stefano Secco, Massimo Giordano (Rodolfo), qui est de nouveau à l’affiche.