Christian Leiber / ONP

Dates / Prix

Palais Garnier - First performance on 31 March 2014 - 7:30PM

Ticket rates : 10€, 25€, 45€, 70€, 115€, 140€, 185€

Running time : 2H55 with one interval

March 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
19:30
April 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
19:30
3
4
19:30
5
6
7
19:30
8
9
19:30
10
11
12
19:30
13
14
15
16
17
19:30
18
19
20
21
19:30
22
23
19:30
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Fermer


L’Italiana in Algeri
Gioacchino Rossini
Presentation
Pre-performance reading
THE ITALIAN GIRL IN ALGIERS
Dramma giocoso in two acts (1813)
Music by GIOACCHINO ROSSINI (1792-1868)
Libretto by ANGELO ANELLI
Performed in italian

One of Rossini’s most exquisite successes, from a composer who was just 21 at the time: an opera buffa which has retained all its charm and humour, to as score as fresh today as it was then and characters who seem to have been born yesterday. The beautiful Isabella sails off to Algiers in search of her lover Lindoro, held prisoner by the tyrant Mustafa. However, the ship runs aground and the adventure begins... There are pirates, a seraglio, eunuchs, a palace by the sea, and the whole range of all things Turkish still in vogue during the early years of the 19th century. There are also some beautiful and brilliant arias with a virtuosity that was Rossini's hallmark. Above all, there is the madness which he knew how to infuse into his theatre, the sudden malfunction of the machine he himself had created, as in the crazy finale of the first act where the grand ensemble degenerates into a delirious concert of onomatopoeias.

Riccardo Frizza Conductor
Andrei Serban Stage director
Marina Draghici Sets and costumes
Guido Levi Lighting
Niky Wolcz Choreography
Alessandro Di Stefano Chorus master
ArtisteNoteRôle
Ildebrando d’Arcangelo
Mustafà
Jaël Azzaretti
Elvira
Anna Pennisi
Zulma
Nahuel Di Pierro
Haly
Antonino Siragusa
Lindoro
Varduhi Abrahamyan
Isabella
Tassis Christoyannis
Taddeo
Paris Opera Orchestra and Chorus

eiffageSPONSOR OF L’ITALIANA IN ALGERI

The composer

Gioacchino Rossini was born in Pesaro on 29 February 1792 and died in Passy on 13 November 1868. The son of musicians (his father played the horn and his mother sang in travelling opera troupes), Rossini himself worked on singing and harmony in Bologna under the iron rod of Mattei. At the age of eighteen, his first opera buffa, La cambiale di matrimonio, was performed in Venice. It was soon followed by other works in the same genre (L’Inganno felice, L’occasione fa il ladro, etc.). In 1813 the creation of Tancredi in Venice opened wide the doors of success making him the uncontested master of the Italian operatic stage for many years to come. Works followed one another at breakneck speed : amongst others Il barbiere di Siviglia and Otello in 1816, La Cenerentola and Armida in 1817, La donna del lago in 1819, Maometto II in 1821 and Semiramide in 1823. In 1824 he settled in Paris. It was here that he wrote his last opera, Guillaume Tell (1829), and lived until his death, continuing to influence Parisian musical life and devoting himself to certain passions such as cuisine (we owe him the famous “tournedos” recipe).

The work

Rossini received a last-minute commission to compose L’Italiana in Algeri in an attempt to save the 1831 season at the Teatro San Benedetto in Venice which had got off to a very bad start. Since the composer had only 27 days to write his new opera he used a libretto written by Angelo Anelli which had already been put to music five years earlier for Milan by Luigi Mosca. Rossini was to modify it somewhat, eliminating the over-sentimental passages that did not correspond to his idea of farce. But his main transformation consisted of adding to the First Finale, the Quintet and the second act Trio (the famous “Pappataci” !) onomatopoeia and nonsense which emphasise the work’s rhythmic exuberance and push the comic deformation of the words to new heights. The music thus freed from all constraints of words and sense becomes as Stendhal put it “organised madness”.
L’Italiana in Algeri also echoes the orientalism so fashionable in the arts of the time which had given birth to Molière’s Bourgeois Gentilhomme, Voltaire’s Zadig and Mozart’s Die Entführung aus dem Serail. But the Orient only provides a backdrop and it is the Italian woman, vigorously defended in the person of Isabella, that the composer celebrates in this work. Moreover, breaking entirely with convention, it is her fiancé who is held captive in the seraglio and it is she who rescues him. Of all Rossini’s operas this is certainly the most deliberately prepo­sterous and the most improbable.

The first performance

L’Italiana in Algeri was first performed on 22 May 1813 at the Teatro San Benedetto in Venice.

The work at the Paris Opera

L’Italiana in Algeri was first performed at the Palais Garnier on 2 April 1930 by the Conchita Supervia Lyric Company, with Conchita Supervia in the role of Isabella. In April 1998, the work has been performed in a production by Andrei Serban, with Jennifer Larmore (Isabella), Simone Alaimo (Mustafa), Bruce Ford (Lindoro) and Jeannette Fischer (Elvira), under the direction of Bruno Campanella. Il is this production, already revived in 2000, 2004 and 2010 with Vesselina Kasarova ans Vivica Genaux in the title-role, which is being presented again.

Christian Leiber / ONP

Dates / Prix

Palais Garnier - Première le 31 mars 2014 - 19h30

Tarifs : 10€, 25€, 45€, 70€, 115€, 140€, 185€

Durée : 2H55 avec un entracte

mars 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
19:30
avril 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
19:30
3
4
19:30
5
6
7
19:30
8
9
19:30
10
11
12
19:30
13
14
15
16
17
19:30
18
19
20
21
19:30
22
23
19:30
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

*le 4 avril : Bal de l'X

Fermer


L’Italiana in Algeri
Gioacchino Rossini
Présentation
À lire avant le spectacle
L’ITALIENNE À ALGER
DRAMMA GIOCOSO EN DEUX ACTES (1813)
MUSIQUE DE GIOACCHINO ROSSINI (1792-1868)
LIVRET D'ANGELO ANELLI
EN LANGUE ITALIENNE

Une des plus exquises réussites de Rossini, et d’un Rossini seulement âgé de 21 ans : un opéra bouffe qui a gardé tout son charme et sa drôlerie, avec une musique fraîche comme l’œil et des personnages qui semblent nés d’hier. La belle Isabella s’embarque pour Alger à la recherche de son amant Lindoro, prisonnier du tyran Mustafà. Mais le bateau s’échoue et l’aventure commence… Il y a des corsaires, un sérail, des eunuques, un palais sur la mer, tout le merveilleux bazar des turqueries encore à la mode en ce début de XIXe siècle. Il y a aussi du beau chant, brillant et virtuose comme Rossini en avait le secret. Et il y a surtout cette folie qu’il sait insuffler à son théâtre, le dérèglement soudain de la machine qu’il a lui-même fabriquée, comme cet insensé finale du premier acte, grand ensemble dégénérant en un délirant concert d’onomatopées.

Riccardo Frizza Direction musicale
Andrei Serban Mise en scène
Marina Draghici Décors et costumes
Guido Levi Lumières
Niky Wolcz Chorégraphie
Alessandro Di Stefano Chef de Choeur
ArtisteNoteRôle
Ildebrando d’Arcangelo
Mustafà
Jaël Azzaretti
Elvira
Anna Pennisi
Zulma
Nahuel Di Pierro
Haly
Antonino Siragusa
Lindoro
Varduhi Abrahamyan
Isabella
Tassis Christoyannis
Taddeo
Orchestre et Choeur de l’Opéra national de Paris

eiffageEIFFAGE, MÉCÈNE DE L’ITALIANA IN ALGERI

Le compositeur

Gioacchino Rossini (né à Pesaro le 29 février 1792, mort à Passy le 13 novembre 1868).
Fils de musiciens (son père jouait du cor et sa mère chantait dans des troupes d’opéras forains), Rossini travaille lui-même le chant et l’harmonie à Bologne, sous la férule de l’abbé Mattei. Dès l’âge de dix-huit ans, il fait représenter à Venise son premier opera buffa, La Cambiale di matrimonio, qui sera vite suivi d’ouvrages du même genre (L’Inganno felice, L’Occasione fa il ladro, etc). En 1813, la création de Tancrède, également à Venise, lui ouvre les portes du succès et fait de lui le maître incontesté de la scène lyrique italienne pendant de nombreuses années. Les œuvres se succèdent à un rythme effréné : Le Barbier de Séville et Otello en 1816, La Cenerentola et Armide en 1817, La Donna del lago en 1819, Maometto II en 1821, Semiramis en 1823, etc. A partir de 1824, il se fixe à Paris. C’est là qu’il crée son dernier opéra, Guillaume Tell (1829), et vit jusqu’à sa mort, tout en continuant à exercer une influence sur la vie musicale parisienne et à s’adonner à certaines passions comme la cuisine (on lui doit la recette du fameux « tournedos »).

L'oeuvre

L’Italienne à Alger a été commandée en toute hâte à Rossini, en 1813, pour sauver la saison mal engagée du Teatro San Benedetto de Venise. Comme le compositeur ne disposait que d’un délai de vingt-sept jours pour écrire son nouvel opéra, on utilisa un livret d’Angelo Anelli, qui avait déjà été mis en musique par Luigi Mosca pour Milan, cinq ans plus tôt. Rossini le modifia quelque peu, supprimant en particulier tous les passages trop sentimentaux qui ne correspondaient pas à son idée de la farce. Mais la principale transformation consista surtout à ajouter au premier finale, au quintette et au trio (les fameux « Pappataci » !) du second acte des onomatopées et des non-sens qui accentuent l’exubérance rythmique et amènent la déformation comique de la parole à un degré d’élaboration qu’on n’avait jamais entendu auparavant. La musique s’affranchit ainsi de la contrainte des mots et du sens et devient, selon l’expression de Stendhal, « une folie organisée ».
L’Italienne à Alger renvoie aussi à l’orientalisme en vogue dans les arts de l’époque, qui avait déjà donné naissance au Bourgeois gentilhomme de Molière, à Zadig de Voltaire ou à L’Enlèvement au sérail de Mozart. Mais l’Orient n’y est qu’un décor et c’est la femme italienne – vigoureusement défendue par le personnage d’Isabella – que l’on entend célébrer ici. D’ailleurs, à l’inverse des conventions du genre, c’est son fiancé qui est détenu dans le sérail et c’est elle qui l’en délivre. De tous les opéras-bouffes de Rossini, celui-ci est sans doute le plus délibérément loufoque et débridé.

La création

L’Italienne à Alger a été créé le 22 mai 1813, au Teatro San Benedetto de Venise.

L'oeuvre à l'Opéra de Paris

L’Italienne à Alger a été représenté pour la première fois au Palais Garnier le 2 avril 1930 par la Compagnie Lyrique de Conchita Supervia, avec Conchita Supervia dans le rôle d’Isabella. En avril 1998, l’œuvre a été jouée dans une mise en scène de Andrei Serban, avec Jennifer Larmore (Isabella), Simone Alaimo (Mustafa), Bruce Ford (Lindoro) et Jeannette Fischer (Elvira), sous la direction de Bruno Campanella. C’est cette production, déjà reprise en 2000, 2004 et 2010 avec Vesselina Kasarova et Vivica Genaux dans le rôle-titre, qui est de nouveau à l’affiche.