© Patrick Tourneboeuf / Tendance Floue / OnP

Dates / Prix

Palais Garnier - Première le 7 juin 2014 - 19h00

Tarifs : 10€, 25€, 45€, 70€, 115€, 180€, 195€

Durée : 3H44 avec 2 entractes

June 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
19:00
8
9
19:00
10
11
19:00
12
13
14
19:00
15
16
17
19:00
18
19
20
19:00
21
22
19:00
23
24
19:00
25
26
19:00
27
28
19:00
29
30
19:00

Fermer

NEW PRODUCT ION
L'Incoronazione di Poppea
Claudio Monteverdi
Presentation
Pre-performance reading
THE CORONATION OF POPPAEA
OPERA IN A PROLOGUE AND THREE ACTS (1643)
MUSIC BY CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI (1567-1643)
LIBRETTO BY GIOVANNI FRANCESCO BUSENELLO
Performed in italian

Neither Fortune nor Virtue can vie with Love who, with a mere wave of the hand, can transform the world: such is the message conveyed by L'Incoronazione di Poppea, Monteverdi’s last masterpiece. Thirty five years had passed since his Orfeo, which had opened the era of the favola in musica. In the City of the Doges, riven by vice in Rome’s eyes, the composer wrote his opera about desire and seduction in which Poppea’s beauty bewitches Nero and provokes the death of Seneca, the banishment of Othon and the repudiation of Octavia. One by one, the pillars of morality crumble before we can bond with any of the characters, leaving us with the exquisitely delightful music. In the twilight of his life, Monteverdi invites us into a sensorial world where “the voice becomes a kiss before turning into profound utterance” (Starobinski). With “Poppea,” producer Robert Wilson, the poet of movement and space, writes a new chapter in his history with the Paris Opera.

Rinaldo Alessandrini Direction musicale
Robert Wilson Mise en scène
Giuseppe Frigeni Co-mise en scène
Robert Wilson / Annick Lavallée-Benny Décors
A. J. Weissbard / Robert Wilson Lumières
ArtisteNoteRôle
Gaëlle Arquez
La Fortuna, Drusilla
Jaël Azzaretti
La Virtù, Damigella
Amel Brahim-Djelloul
Amore
Varduhi Abrahamyan
Ottone
Karine Deshayes
Poppea
Jeremy Ovenden
Nerone
Manuel Nuñez Camelino
Arnalta
Monica Bacelli
Ottavia
Giuseppe de Vittorio
Nutrice
Andrea Concetti
Seneca
Marie-Adeline Henry
Valletto
Nahuel Di Pierro
Mercurio
Salvo Vitale
Secondo Tribuno, Famigliare di Seneca
Valerio Contaldo
Soldato pretoriano, Lucano, Famigliare di Seneca, Secondo Console
Furio Zanasi
Soldato pretoriano, Liberto, Primo Tribuno
Concerto Italiano


COPRODUCTION WITH THE TEATRO ALLA SCALA, MILAN


The American Friends Oof the Paris Opera & Ballet     Florence Gould FoundationWITH THE EXCEPTIONAL SUPPORT OF THE AMERICAN FRIENDS OF THE PARIS OPERA & BALLET⁄FLORENCE GOULD AMERICAN ARTISTS FUND

Live on France Musique and UER on 14 June

The composer

Claudio Monteverdi was born in Cremona in 1567 and died in Venice in 1643. The eldest of five children, he studied music with Marc’Antonio Ingegneri before being taken on, in 1590, as a singer and viol player at Vincenzo Gonzaga’s court of Mantua where he would remain for twenty-two years and compose numerous pieces of chamber and church music. In 1601, he was appointed as the Duke’s choirmaster. From then onwards he took an ever-growing interest in the experiments of the Florentine humanists and his research led to the creation of the lyric drama (Orfeo in 1607, Arianna in 1608). In 1612, upon the death of Vincenzo Gonzaga, Monteverdi resigned from his post and succeeded in being appointed to Saint Mark’s in Venice, taking with him his brother, Giulio Cesare, also a composer and singer, and his two sons. However in 1631 he lost his son Francesco to the plague and possibly his other son too. In 1632 Monteverdi was ordained priest. From then on he was to devote himself entirely to Venice, composing for his church, as well as for private and public events and following his students: Francesco Cavalli and Heinrich Schütz among others. When Venice opened its opera houses to paying audiences Monteverdi was soon drawn back to his former passion. After a revival of Arianna and several works which have not survived, he wrote Il ritorno d’Ulisse (1641) and then L’Incoronazione di Poppea (1642). He died the following year after a short journey to Cremona and Mantua.

The work

L’Incoronazione di Poppea is the last of the three operas by Monteverdi which have come down to us in a rela­tively complete form, even though certain musicologists contest that he was the sole author of the work. The libretto, inspired by the Annals of both Tacitus and Suetonius, was written by Gian Francesco Busenello, a Venitian aristocrat who had been trained as a lawyer and was a member of the Accademia degli Incogniti, the city’s principal intellectual society. He chose an episode from the life of Nero – thus making the work the first ever opera based on historical events – painting a stri­king picture of human passions, skilfully contrasting virtue, embodied by Seneca, with evil, represented by Poppea and Nero’s adulterous love. However, in order to satisfy the public of the times, and in contrast with Orfeo, intended only for the eyes and ears of the court of Mantua, he added secondary plots and characters of low birth, reflecting the behaviour of the main protagonists and sometimes even dialoguing with them. The work thus alternates tragic scenes and more comic ones, nobles and commoners, attaining a dramatic force reminiscent of Shakespeare.
From a musical point of view, Monteverdi demonstrates a great liberty of language, always finding a suitable solution to each theatrical difficulty. He makes great use of recitative, but also composes numerous arias that are distributed fairly among the various characters. The couple formed by Poppea and Nero is of course at the heart of his inspiration. The various editions of the work that have come down to us provide only the vocal line and bass continuo and thus often require orchestration before they may be performed. However, Monteverdi clearly used few instruments, preferring to concentrate on the vocal line and its multiple structural possibilities.

The first performance

L’Incoronazione di Poppea was first performed in the autumn of 1642 at the Teatro Grimano in Venice.

The work at the Paris Opera

After being performed at the Opéra-Comique, L’Inco­ronazione di Poppea was first performed at the Palais Garnier in March 1978, in the version orchestrated by Raymond Leppard and conducted by Julius Rudel in a staging by Gunther Rennert, with Gwyneth Jones, Jon Vickers, Christa Ludwig, Richard Stilwell, Nicolai Ghiaurov, Jocelyne Taillon and Valerie Masterson. In 2005, a new production staged by David Alden and conducted by Ivor Bolton was presented at the Palais Garnier, with Anna Caterina Antonacci as Poppea.

© Andrea Messana

Dates / Prix

Palais Garnier - Première le 7 juin 2014 - 19h00

Tarifs : 10€, 25€, 45€, 70€, 115€, 180€, 195€

Durée : 3H15 avec un entracte

juin 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
19:00
8
9
19:00
10
11
19:00
12
13
14
19:00
15
16
17
19:00
18
19
20
19:00
21
22
19:00
23
24
19:00
25
26
19:00
27
28
19:00
29
30
19:00


Fermer

Nouvelle production
L'Incoronazione di Poppea
Claudio Monteverdi
Présentation
À lire avant le spectacle
LE COURONNEMENT DE POPPÉE
OPÉRA EN UN PROLOGUE ET TROIS ACTES (1643)
MUSIQUE DE CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI (1567-1643)
LIVRET DE GIOVANNI FRANCESCO BUSENELLO
EN LANGUE ITALIENNE

La Fortune ni la Vertu ne peuvent rivaliser avec l’Amour qui, d’un signe, fait changer le monde : tel est le message que porte Le Couronnement de Poppée, ultime chef-d’oeuvre de Monteverdi. Trente-cinq ans ont passé depuis son Orfeo, qui ouvrait l’ère de la favola in musica. Dans la Cité des Doges, que Rome dit rongée par le vice, le compositeur signe cet opéra du désir et de la séduction, où la beauté de Poppée ensorcelle Néron et provoque la mort de Sénèque, l’exil d’Othon et la répudiation d’Octavie. Les colonnes des moeurs s’écroulent une à une sans que l’on puisse se raccrocher à aucun personnage, sinon à cette musique délicieusement enivrante : au crépuscule de sa vie, Monteverdi nous ouvre les portes d’un univers sensoriel où « la voix devient baiser, puis se transforme en écriture profonde » (Starobinski). Poète du geste et de l’espace, le metteur en scène Robert Wilson écrit avec « Poppée » un nouveau chapitre de son histoire avec l’Opéra de Paris.

Rinaldo Alessandrini Direction musicale
Robert Wilson Mise en scène
Giuseppe Frigeni Co-mise en scène
Robert Wilson / Annick Lavallée-Benny Décors
Jacques Reynaud / Yashi Costumes
A. J. Weissbard / Robert Wilson Lumières
ArtisteNoteRôle
Gaëlle Arquez
La Fortuna, Drusilla
Jaël Azzaretti
La Virtù, Damigella
Amel Brahim-Djelloul
Amore
Varduhi Abrahamyan
Ottone
Karine Deshayes
Poppea
Jeremy Ovenden
Nerone
Manuel Nuñez Camelino
Arnalta
Monica Bacelli
Ottavia
Giuseppe de Vittorio
Nutrice
Andrea Concetti
Seneca
Marie-Adeline Henry
Valletto
Nahuel Di Pierro
Mercurio
Salvo Vitale
Secondo Tribuno, Famigliare di Seneca
Valerio Contaldo
Soldato pretoriano, Lucano, Famigliare di Seneca, Secondo Console
Furio Zanasi
Soldato pretoriano, Liberto, Primo Tribuno
Concerto Italiano


COPRODUCTION AVEC LE TEATRO ALLA SCALA, MILAN


The American Friends Oof the Paris Opera & Ballet     Florence Gould FoundationAVEC LE SOUTIEN EXCEPTIONNEL DE THE AMERICAN FRIENDS OF THE PARIS OPERA & BALLET ⁄ FLORENCE GOULD AMERICAN ARTISTS FUND

en direct sur France Musique et en UER le 14/06

Le compositeur

Claudio Monteverdi, né à Crémone en 1567, mort à Venise en 1643. Aîné d’une famille de cinq enfants, il étudie la musique avec Marc’Antonio Ingegneri, puis se fait engager en 1590 comme joueur de viole et chanteur à la cour de Mantoue, chez le duc Vincenzo Gonzague, où il reste vingt-deux ans et compose de nombreuses pièces de musique de chambre et d’église. En 1601, il est nommé maître de chapelle du duc. A partir de ce moment, il s’intéresse de plus en plus aux expériences menées par les humanistes florentins et ses recherches aboutissent à la création du drame lyrique (Orfeo en 1607, Arianna en 1608). En 1612, à la mort de Vincenzo Gonzague, Monteverdi demande son congé et parvient à être nommé, un an plus tard, à la basilique Saint-Marc de Venise, où il fait venir son frère, Giulio Cesare, également compositeur et chanteur, et ses deux fils. Mais la peste lui enlève son fils Francesco en 1631 et peut-être son second fils. En 1632, Monteverdi se fait ordonner prêtre. Il se consacre désormais entièrement à Venise, écrit pour son église, pour des fêtes publiques et privées, s’occupe de ses élèves : Francesco Cavalli et Heinrich Schütz, entre autres. Venise ouvre alors au public payant ses théâtres lyriques et Monteverdi se laisse bientôt reprendre par son ancienne passion. Après une reprise d’Arianna et la création de quelques œuvres qui ne nous sont pas parvenues, il écrit Le Retour d’Ulysse dans sa patrie (1641), puis Le Couronnement de Poppée (1642). Il meurt l’année suivante, après un court voyage à Crémone et Mantoue.

L'oeuvre

Le Couronnement de Poppée est le dernier des trois opéras de Monteverdi qui nous soient parvenus de manière relativement complète, bien que certains musicologues lui en contestent l’entière paternité. Le livret, inspiré des Annales de Tacite et de Suétone, a été écrit par Giovanni Francesco Busenello, un aristocrate vénitien qui reçut une formation d’homme de loi et qui fut membre de l’Accademia degli Incogniti, la principale société intellectuelle de la ville. Il reprend un épisode de la vie de Néron – faisant ainsi de l’œuvre le premier opéra tiré d’un argument historique – et brosse un portrait saisissant des passions humaines, en opposant avec beaucoup d’habileté la vertu, incarnée par Sénèque, au mal, que représente l’amour adultère de Poppée et de Néron. Mais pour plaire au public de l’époque, et contrairement à ce qui passe dans Orfeo, destiné uniquement à l’auditoire de la cour de Mantoue, il fait intervenir des histoires secondaires et apparaître des personnages de basse extraction, qui reflètent le comportement des protagonistes et dialoguent même parfois avec eux. L’œuvre fait ainsi alterner les scènes tragiques avec d’autres plus comiques, les personnages nobles avec les gens du peuple, et acquiert une force théâtrale qui n’est pas sans rappeler le théâtre de Shakespeare.
Sur le plan musical, Monteverdi fait preuve d’une liberté de langage, qui trouve, à chaque problème théâtral, une solution adaptée. Il utilise beaucoup le récitatif, mais compose aussi de nombreux airs qu’il distribue de manière équitable entre les différents personnages. Et le couple formé par Poppée et Néron est bien sûr au centre de son inspiration. Les différentes éditions qui nous sont parvenues de l’œuvre ne mentionnent que la ligne de chant et la basse continue, ce qui oblige souvent à l’orchestrer pour pouvoir la faire représenter. Mais il est clair que Monteverdi utilisait peu d’instruments, préférant focaliser l’attention sur la ligne de chant et ses multiples possibilités structurelles.

La création

Le Couronnement de Poppée a été représenté pour la première fois durant l’automne 1642 au Teatro Grimano de Venise.

L'oeuvre à l'Opéra de Paris

Après des représentations à l’Opéra-Comique, Le Couronnement de Poppée a été représenté pour la première fois au Palais Garnier en mars 1978, dans la version orches­trée par Raymond Leppard, sous la direction de Julius Rudel, dans une mise en scène de Gunther Rennert, avec Gwyneth Jones, Jon Vickers, Christa Ludwig, Richard Stilwell, Nicolai Ghiaurov, Jocelyne Taillon et Valérie Masterson. En 2005, une nouvelle mise en scène signée par David Alden et dirigée par Ivor Bolton, était présentée au Palais Garnier avec Anna Caterina Antonacci dans le rôle de Poppée.