© Christophe Pelé / OnP OnP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - Première le 24 avril 2014 - 19h30

Tarifs : 5€, 15€, 30€, 50€, 70€, 90€, 115€, 140€, 140€

Durée : 2H52 avec un entracte

April 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
19:30
25
26
19:30
27
28
29
30
19:30
May 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
19:30
4
5
6
7
8
19:30
9
10
11
12
13
19:30
14
15
16
17
19:30
18
19
20
19:30
21
22
23
19:30
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
deficients-visuels.gif

Audio description for visually impaired on 26, 30 April and 8 May

Fermer


I Capuleti e i Montecchi
Vincenzo Bellini
Presentation
Pre-performance reading
THE CAPULETS AND THE MONTAGUES
LYRIC TRAGEDY IN TWO ACTS (1830)
MUSIC BY VINCENZO BELLINI (1801-1835)  LIBRETTO BY FELICE ROMANI
Performed in italian

When he adapted Romeo and Juliette, the librettist Felice Romani chose to go back in time past Shakespeare, to the Italian origins of the legend. He tightened the storyline, editing out Mercutio, the nurse, the moonlight and the nightingale... The drama becomes more sombre: the quarrel between the two families a veritable feud. The lovers’ first encounter is pushed off stage and the final reconciliation becomes impossible. In the very title that Bellini retained, the names Capulet and Montague eclipse those of Romeo and Juliette, just as the conflict poisons their love. But the opera also revives a scene that Shakespeare had omitted: when Juliette – whom Romeo believes to be dead– wakes up in the tomb, the two lovers are able to exchange words before falling into eternal slumber.  And, for a moment, the music of these lives, which cross and intertwine, illuminates the world with an overwhelmingly moving light. Under the baton of Bruno Campanella, Ekaterina Siurina and Karine Deshayes lend their voices to the lovers themselves embraced by Bellini’s intensely dramatic music.

Bruno Campanella Direction musicale
Robert Carsen Mise en scène
Michael Levine Décors et costumes
Davy Cunningham Lumières
Alessandro Di Stefano Chef de Choeur
ArtisteNoteRôle
Paul Gay
Capellio
Ekaterina Siurina
Giulietta
Karine Deshayes
Romeo
Charles Castronovo
A
Tebaldo
Ian Hotea
B
Tebaldo
Nahuel Di Pierro
Lorenzo

A : 24, 26, 30 april - 3, 8, 13, 17, 20 may 2014
B : 23 may 2014

Paris Opera Orchestra and Chorus

The composer

Vincenzo Bellini was born in Catania, Italy in 1801. A contemporary of Donizetti, he was considered in his day to be Rossini's successor. He was, however, able to distance himself from the Rossinian paradigm imbued as it was with the ideal of virtuosity. With Bellini, melody, dramatic expressivity and the portrayal of emotion took centre stage. His premature death in 1835 deprived the history of music of its only chance of a worthy rival to Verdi. Bellini was educated in Naples, with Giovanni Furno, Giacomo Tritto and Niccolo Zingarelli as his composi­tion masters. His short opera entitled Adelson e Salvini (1825) was performed at the conservatoire while he was still a student. He was almost immediately charged with writing Bianca e Gernando (1825) for Naples' Teatro San Carlo, which was so well received that an invitation swiftly followed to write Il Pirata (1827) for La Scala in Milan, which met with a resounding success. Following this, Bellini composed La Straniera, Zaira and I Capuletti e i Montecchi. His reputation had been grow­ing day by day when he returned to Milan to perform La Sonnambula, whίch carried his fame to the four corners of Europe. The end of the same year,1831, back in Milan, saw the first performance of Norma, his masterpiece. In 1833, Beatrice di Tenda was first performed in Venice. Subsequently, on Rossini's recommendation, he was given the task of writing an opera for the Théâtre-Italien in Paris. He moved to Puteaux, where he wrote I Puritani, performed in 1835 to huge success. The composer died several days later.

The work

An opera in two acts. Libretto by Felice Romani.
I Capuleti et i Montecchi recounts the story of the Veronese lovers, Romeo and Giulietta. Bellini wrote the score in under six weeks. Romani used a revised version of the libretto he had written for Vaccai’s Giulietta e Romeo, the inspiration for which came more from Italian Renaissance sources than from Shakespeare’s famous tragedy. The characters of Mercutio and Paris are discarded. Romeo is not only an adolescent in love, but also a military leader: he is moreover the sole representative of the Montague clan.
The action takes place in a time span of twenty-four hours. We are not witness to Romeo and Giulietta’s meeting: when the curtain rises they are already in love with each other; we shall learn nothing about the dawning of their love. The characters are schematised and the vicissitudes of the plot simplified in favour of the drama of the two lovers.

The first performance

First performed at the Teatro La Fenice in Venice on 11 March 1830, with Giuditta Grisi (Romeo), Maria Carradori-Allan (Giulietta), Lorenzo Bonfigli (Tebaldo). First French performance at the Théâtre-Italien in Paris on 10 January 1833, with Giuditta (Romeo) and Giulia (Giulietta) Grisi, Giovanni Battista Rubini (Tebaldo).

The work at the Paris Opera

First performed in the Salle Le Peletier on 7 September 1859 in a French version with many cuts and borrowings from other composers, I Capuleti e I Montecchi was first performed at the Opéra Bastille in a concert version on June 12 1995 before being given in a staged version in November 1996 with Vesselina Kasarova (Romeo), Laura Claycomb (Giulietta) and Marcus Haddock (Tebaldo). The production was conducted by Evelino Pido and produced by Robert Carsen. This production, revived in 2008 with Anna Netrebko and Joyce DiDonato, is being performed today.

© Christophe Pelé / OnP OnP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - Première le 24 avril 2014 - 19h30

Tarifs : 5€, 15€, 30€, 50€, 70€, 90€, 115€, 140€, 140€

Durée : 2H52 avec un entracte

avril 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
19:30
25
26
19:30
27
28
29
30
19:30
mai 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
19:30
4
5
6
7
8
19:30
9
10
11
12
13
19:30
14
15
16
17
19:30
18
19
20
19:30
21
22
23
19:30
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
deficients-visuels.gif

Audio-description pour déficients visuels les 26, 30 avril et 8 mai

Fermer


I Capuleti e i Montecchi
Vincenzo Bellini
Présentation
À lire avant le spectacle
LES CAPULET ET LES MONTAIGU
TRAGÉDIE LYRIQUE EN DEUX ACTES (1830)
MUSIQUE DE VINCENZO BELLINI (1801-1835)
LIVRET DE FELICE ROMANI
EN LANGUE ITALIENNE

Lorsqu’il adapte Roméo et Juliette, le librettiste Felice Romani choisit de remonter, par-delà Shakespeare, aux sources italiennes du mythe. Il resserre l’intrigue, faisant table rase de Mercutio, de la nourrice, du clair de lune et du rossignol… Le drame s’assombrit : la querelle entre les deux familles devient une véritable guerre. La première rencontre des amants est rejetée hors-scène et la réconciliation finale rendue impossible. Dans le titre même que retient Bellini, les noms de Capulet et deMontaigu éclipsent ceux de Roméo et de Juliette, tout comme le conflit empoisonne leur amour. Mais l’opéra ressuscite également une scène que Shakespeare avait omise : lorsque Juliette – que Roméo croyait morte – s’éveille dans la tombe, les deux amants peuvent échanger quelques mots avant de s’endormir à jamais. Et le chant de ces vies, qui se croisent et s’entremêlent, illumine un instant le monde d’une lumière bouleversante. Sous la direction de Bruno Campanella, Ekaterina Siurina et Karine Deshayes prêtent leurs voix aux amants qu’enveloppe la musique intensément dramatique de Bellini.

Bruno Campanella Direction musicale
Robert Carsen Mise en scène
Michael Levine Décors et costumes
Davy Cunningham Lumières
Alessandro Di Stefano Chef de Choeur
ArtisteNoteRôle
Paul Gay
Capellio
Ekaterina Siurina*
Giulietta
Yun Jung Choi
(24 Avril)
Giulietta
Karine Deshayes
Romeo
Charles Castronovo
A
Tebaldo
Ioan Hotea
B
Tebaldo
Nahuel Di Pierro
Lorenzo
*Ekaterina SIURINA, souffrante, a annulé la représentation du 24 avril.
Le rôle de Giulietta sera interprété cette représentation par Yun Jung Choi.

A : 24, 26, 30 avril - 3, 8, 13, 17, 20 mai 2014
B : 23 mai 2014

Orchestre et Choeur de l’Opéra national de Paris

Le compositeur

Né à Catane (Italie) en 1801, contemporain de Donizetti, Vincenzo Bellini fut en son temps considéré comme le successeur de Rossini. Il sut pourtant se démarquer de l’exemple rossinien, imprégné d’un idéal de virtuosité. Chez Bellini priment la qualité de la mélodie, la recherche de l’expression dramatique et la peinture des émotions. Sa disparition précoce (il meurt en 1835) priva l’histoire de la musique du seul grand rival qu’aurait pu connaître Verdi. Élevé à Naples, il eut pour maîtres de composition Giovanni Furno, Giacomo Tritto et Niccolo Zingarelli. Il n'avait pas encore terminé ses études qu'il faisait représenter, sur la scène du conservatoire, un petit opéra intitulé Adelson e Salvini (1825). Il se vit presque aussitôt chargé d'écrire, pour le Teatro San Carlo de Naples, Bianca e Gernando (1826), qui fut si bien reçu que Bellini fut immédiatement invité à composer, pour la Scala de Milan, Il Pirata (1827), qui obtint un succès éclatant. Ensuite, Bellini composa La Straniera, Zaira et I Capuleti e i Montecchi. Sa renommée s'étendait chaque jour lorsqu'il revient à Milan donner La Somnambule, qui fit résonner son nom aux quatre coins de l'Europe. À la fin de cette même année 1831, et de nouveau à Milan, il faisait représenter Norma, son chef-d’œuvre. En 1833, Beatrice di Tenda était créé à Venise et c'est alors que, sur l'initiative de Rossini, il fut chargé de composer un opéra pour le Théâtre-Italien de Paris. Il s'installa à Puteaux, où il écrivit I Puritani, qui fut représenté en 1835 avec un grand succès. Le compositeur mourut quelques jours après.

L'oeuvre

Opéra en deux actes. Livret de Felice Romani.
I Capuleti e i Montecchi conte l’histoire des amants de Vérone, Romeo et Juliette. Bellini composa la partition en moins de six semaines. Romani réutilisa en le remaniant le livret qu’il avait écrit pour Giulietta e Romeo de Vaccai, dans lequel il s’inspirait de sources italiennes de la Renaissance davantage que de la célèbre tragédie de Shakespeare. Les personnages de Mercutio et de Paris sont supprimés. Roméo n’est pas seulement un adolescent amoureux mais un chef de guerre : il représente d’ailleurs à lui seul le clan des Montaigu. L’action se déroule en vingt-quatre heures. On n’assiste pas non plus à la rencontre de Roméo et de Juliette : quand le rideau se lève, ils sont déjà amoureux l’un de l’autre, on ne saura rien sur la naissance de leur amour. Les personnages sont schématisés, les péripéties de l’action simplifiées au profit du drame des deux amants.

La création

Créé au Teatro La Fenice de Venise le 11 mars 1830 avec Giuditta Grisi (Romeo), Maria Carradori-Allan (Giulietta), Lorenzo Bonfigli (Tebaldo). Création française au Théâtre-Italien, à Paris, le 10 janvier 1833 avec les deux soeurs Grisi, Giuditta (Romeo) et Giulia (Giulietta), Giovanni Battista Rubini (Tebaldo).

L'oeuvre à l'Opéra de Paris

Créé Salle Le Peletier le 7 septembre 1859 dans une version française, avec de nombreuses coupures et des emprunts à des opéras d’autres compositeurs, I Capuleti e I Montecchi a fait son entrée à l’Opéra Bastille en version de concert le 12 juin 1995, avant d’être représenté scéniquement en novembre 1996, avec Vesselina Kasarova (Romeo), Laura Claycomb (Giulietta) et Marcus Haddock (Tebaldo), sous la direction de Evelino Pido et dans une mise en scène de Robert Carsen. C’est cette production, reprise en 2008 avec Anna Netrebko et Joyce DiDonato, qui est reproposée aujourd’hui.