Charles Duprat / ONP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - First performance on 27 October 2013 - 2:30PM

October 2013
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
14:30
28
29
30
31
19:30
November 2013
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
19:30
5
6
7
19:30
8
9
10
11
19:30
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19:30
19
20
21
22
23
24
14:30
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2013
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
14:30
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Fermer


NEW PRODUCTION
Elektra
Richard Strauss
Presentation
Pre-performance reading
TRAGEDY IN ONE ACT, OP. 58 (1909)
MUSIC BY RICHARD STRAUSS (1864-1949) LIBRETTO BY HUGO VON HOFMANNSTHAL
Performed in German

The time taken by a slow sunset. This is Hofmannsthal's stage direction for the performance of Elektra, a one-act tragedy of unimaginable darkness and violence. The same term is often applied to the dying flames of the Austro-Hungarian Empire and indeed all cosmopolitan Europe at the beginning of the 20th century. It was Elektra that, in 1906, brought together those two acclaimed heirs of the grand German tradition, both celebrated and in the prime of life, Richard Strauss and Hugo von Hofmannsthal. With its huge orchestra and musical writing that pushed vocal technique to its limits, Elektra brought Post-Wagnerianism to a blazing apotheosis. However, unlike Salome, the ashes of Elektra were to prove fertile ground and Elektra can be seen as a perfect and well-prepared introduction to Strauss's future works from Rosenkavalier to Arabella. "To clingto what is lost, eternally persisting until death - or to survive, to go on living, to adapt and sacrifice the integrity of one's soul whilst remaining oneself in the midst of change, always to remain human without debasing oneself to the level of an animal deprived of memory, that is the fundamental theme of Elektra: the voice of Elektra against that of Chrysothemis, the voice of the hero against that of the human being." (Hofmannsthal)

Philippe Jordan Conductor
Robert Carsen Stage director
Michael Levine Sets
Vazul Matusz Costumes
Robert Carsen / Peter Van Praet Lighting
Philippe Giraudeau Choreography
Patrick Marie Aubert Chorus master
ArtisteNoteRôle
Waltraud Meier
Klytämnestra
Irene Theorin
Elektra
Caroline Whisnant
(24 nov.)
Elektra
Ricarda Merbeth
Chrysothemis
Kim Begley
Aegisth
Evgeny Nikitin
Orest
Miranda Keys
Die Aufseherin
Anja Yung / Susanna Kreusch / Heike Wessels/ Barbara Morihien / Eva Oltivanyi
Fünf Mägde

The Paris Opera Orchestra and Chorus

ORIGINAL PRODUCTION BY THE TEATRO DEL MAGGIO MUSICALE FIORENTINO FOUNDATION, COPRODUCED WITH THE SPRING FESTIVAL IN TOKYO-TOKYO OPERA NOMORI.

WITH THE EXCEPTIONAL SUPPORT OF DOCTOR LÉONE NOËLLE MEYER

To be broadcast on France Musique on 20 November at 8.00 pm

The composer

Richard Strauss was born in Munich in 1864 and died in Garmisch-Partenkirchen in 1949.
The son of a celebrated horn player from Munich, Richard Strauss initially established his reputation as a composer of symphony music. In 1894, he conducted Tannhäuser in Bayreuth and his first operas, Guntram and Feuersnot, were strongly influenced by the music of Wagner. His adaptation of Oscar Wilde’s play Salome in 1905 earned him a degree of notoriety that was due as much to the innovative character of the music as the scandalous nature of the subject. Elektra, in 1909, marked the debut of a long period of collaboration with the Austrian poet Hugo von Hofmannsthal and displays a level of violence rarely attained in the domain of opera. With Der Rosenkavalier (1911), Strauss seemed to “settle down” returning to the Viennese tradition of the character opera. Numerous works followed, including Ariadne Auf Naxos (1912), Die Frau ohne Schatten (1919), Intermezzo (1924), Die ägyptische Helena (1928), Arabella (1933), Die Schweig­same Frau (1935), Friedenstag (1938), Daphne (1938), Die Liebe der Danae (1938-1940), and Capriccio (1942).
A few months prior to his death, he composed the Four Last Songs for soprano and orchestra.

The work

Elektra was the first fruit of Strauss and Hofmannsthal’s collaboration. The composer had seen the play, based on Sophocles’ work, at the Deutsche Theater in Berlin and had immediately realised that it corresponded exactly to what he sought to express. However, fearing that it might appear too similar in nature to his previous opera, Salome, he hesitated for two years before making his decision. Hofmannsthal managed to convince him by arguing that “whilst the heavy and turbid atmosphere of Salome plays with purple and violet, Elektra is a blend of light and night, of darkness and brightness.”
Women play a predominant role in the work which is, of course, dominated by the eponymous main character who seems to possess a sole aim: to await the return of her brother Orestes to avenge the murder of her father Agamemnon by her mother Clytemnestra and the latter’s lover Aegisth. The role is a gruelling one - Electra is on stage nearly all the time – and one of the repertoire’s most intense. Although “scorched within” by both hatred and a thirst for vengeance, Electra shows herself to be capable of extraordinary tenderness when her brother returns. Clytemnestra, haunted and paralysed by her harrowing dreams, is emblematic of the growing influence of Freudian theories at that time. The third female figure, Chrysothemis, Electra’s sister, is the drama’s only truly human character. She prefers life to death and warns her sister of what awaits her. Indeed, by doing so, she reveals the opera’s deeper message: “In order to live we must forget”.
From a musical point of view, Elektra, like Salome, is composed of a single block. However, the work contains even more violence. Although based on tonal language, the score explores the limits of harmony, in particular during Clytemnestra’s dream. The most well-­­known passages are Electra’s first aria, the confrontations between the two sisters and between mother and daughter and, of course, the moment when Elektra recognises her brother, which prompted Romain Rolland to say: “the scene touches all that is sublime in the heart”.

The first performance

Elektra was first performed on January 15th 1909 at the Königliches Opernhaus in Dresden.

The work at the Paris Opera

Elektra was first performed at the Palais Garnier in 1932, with Germaine Lubin in the title role in a production directed by Jacques Rouché. In 1974 a new production conducted by Karl Böhm was staged in the same theatre by August Everding, with Birgit Nilsson (Electra), Christa Ludwig (Clytemnestra), Leonie Rysanek (Chrysothemis) and Tom Krause (Orestes). Revivals of the production for the following seasons were performed by Ursula Schröder-Feinen (Electra), Astrid Varnay (Clytemnestra) and Hans Sotin (Orestes). In 1992 the work entered the Opera Bastille’s repertoire, staged by David Poutney and conducted by Michael Schoenwandt, with Gwyneth Jones (Electra), Leonie Rysanek (Clytemnestra), Sabine Hass (Chrysothemis) and Philippe Rouillon (Orestes). In 2005, a new production staged by Matthias Hatmann was presented with Deborah Polaski, Felicity Palmer, Eva Maria Westbroek and Markus Brück, conducted by Christoph von Dohnányi.

Charles Duprat / ONP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - Première le 27 octobre 2013 - 14h30

octobre 2013
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
14:30
28
29
30
31
19:30
novembre 2013
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
19:30
5
6
7
19:30
8
9
10
11
19:30
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19:30
19
20
21
22
23
24
14:30
25
26
27
28
29
30
décembre 2013
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
14:30
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Fermer


Nouvelle production
Elektra
Richard Strauss
Présentation
À lire avant le spectacle
TRAGÉDIE EN UN ACTE, OP. 58 (1909)
MUSIQUE DE RICHARD STRAUSS (1864-1949)LIVRET DE HUGO VON HOFMANNSTHAL
En langue allemande

Le temps d’un lent crépuscule. Telle est l’indication scénique d’Hofmannsthal pour la représentation d’Elektra, tragédie en un acte d’une violence et d’une noirceur inouïes. Tel est aussi le nom que l’on a coutume de donner aux derniers feux de l’Empire austro-hongrois et de toute une Europe cosmopolite, celle des premières années du XXe siècle. C’est autour d’Elektra que se rencontrèrent en 1906 Richard Strauss et Hugo von Hofmannsthal, tous deux célèbres et à mi-parcours de leurs existences, tous deux héritiers reconnus et consacrés de la grande tradition germanique. Orchestre gigantesque, voix poussées dans leurs derniers retranchements, le post-wagnérisme atteint ses plus extrêmes limites et flambe une fois pour toutes en Elektra. Mais, contrairement à Salomé, ce brasier-là fut fertile et constitue la parfaite et profonde introduction aux œuvres futures, du Chevalier à la rose à Arabella. « Se retenir à ce qui est perdu, persister éternellement, jusqu’à la mort– ou bien vivre, continuer à vivre, aller plus loin, se métamorphoser, renoncer à l’unité de l’âme en restant soi-même dans la métamorphose, être toujours un homme, sans descendre au rang de l’animal dépourvu de mémoire, tel est le thème fondamental d’Elektra, la voix d’Electre contre celle de Chrysothémis, la voix héroïque contre la voix humaine. » (Hofmannsthal)

Philippe Jordan Direction musicale
Robert Carsen Mise en scène
Michael Levine Décors
Vazul Matusz Costumes
Robert Carsen / Peter Van Praet Lumières
Philippe Giraudeau Chorégraphie
Patrick Marie Aubert Chef de Choeur
ArtisteNoteRôle
Waltraud Meier
Klytämnestra
Irene Theorin
Elektra
Caroline Whisnant
(24 nov.)
Elektra
Ricarda Merbeth
Chrysothemis
Kim Begley
Aegisth
Evgeny Nikitin
Orest
Miranda Keys
Die Aufseherin
Anja Yung / Susanna Kreusch / Heike Wessels/ Barbara Morihien / Eva Oltivanyi
Fünf Mägde

Orchestre et Choeur de l’Opéra national de Paris


PRODUCTION ORIGINALE DE LA FONDATION TEATRO DEL MAGGIO MUSICALE FIORENTINO, COPRODUITE AVEC LE SPRING FESTIVAL IN TOKYO-TOKYO OPERA NOMORI

Avec le soutien exceptionnel du docteur Léone Noëlle Meyer

 

en différé sur France Musique le 20/11 à 20h

 

Le compositeur

Richard Strauss (né à Munich en 1864, mort à Garmisch-Partenkirchen en 1949). Fils d'un célèbre corniste munichois, Richard Strauss établit d'abord sa réputation comme compositeur de musique symphonique. En 1894, il dirige Tannhäuser à Bayreuth et ses premiers opéras, Guntram et Feuersnot, sont très influencés par la musique de Wagner. Salomé, en 1905, d’après la pièce d’Oscar Wilde, lui apporte une célébrité autant due au caractère novateur de la musique qu’à l’aspect sulfureux du sujet. Elektra, en 1909, marque le début d'une longue collaboration avec le poète autrichien Hugo von Hofmannsthal et témoigne d'une violence rarement atteinte dans le domaine de l'opéra. Avec Le Chevalier à la rose (1911), Strauss semble s'assagir en revenant à la tradition viennoise de l'opéra de caractère. Suivent Ariane à Naxos (1912), La Femme sans ombre (1919), Intermezzo (1924), Hélène d'Egypte (1928), Arabella (1933), La Femme silencieuse (1935), Friedenstag (1938), Daphné (1938), L'Amour de Danaé (1938-1940), Capriccio (1942).
Quelques mois avant sa mort, il compose les Quatre derniers Lieder pour soprano et orchestre.
Directeur artistique de l'Opéra de Vienne de 1919 à 1925, Richard Strauss fut aussi un des chefs d'orchestre les plus fameux de son temps, éminent interprète de ses propres œuvres, mais aussi des opéras de Mozart et de Wagner. S'il ne fut pas un novateur à proprement parler, son importance, du point de vue du style et de l'esthétique, fut cependant considérable.

L'oeuvre

Elektra est la première collaboration entre Strauss et Hofmannsthal. Le compositeur avait vu la pièce, inspirée par Sophocle, au Deutsches Theater de Berlin en 1904 et il s’était tout de suite rendu compte qu’elle correspondait exactement à ce qu’il souhaitait exprimer. Mais il craignait qu’on y vît trop une ressemblance avec Salomé, son précédent opéra, et il lui fallut donc deux ans avant de prendre sa décision. Hofmannsthal parvint à le convaincre, en lui disant que : « Tandis que dans une atmosphère chargée et trouble Salomé joue dans le pourpre et le violet, Elektra est un mélange de lumière et de nuit, de noir et de clarté. »
Dans l’œuvre, les femmes ont une place prédominante. Elle est dominée, bien sûr, par le personnage éponyme, qui semble n’avoir qu’un seul but : attente le retour de son frère Oreste pour venger le meurtre de son père Agamemnon par sa mère Clytmnestre et par son amant. Ce rôle écrasant (Electre est presque tout le temps en scène ; elle est « brûlée intérieurement » par le désir de vengeance et la haine, mais sait aussi faire preuve d’une étonnante tendresse lors du retour de son frère), est un des plus intenses du répertoire. A ses côtés, Clytemnestre, hallucinée et paralysée par ses rêves angoissants, témoigne de l’influence grandissante à l’époque des théories freudiennes. La troisième figure féminine, enfin, Chrysothémis, la sœur d’Electre, est aussi le seul personnage humain du drame. Elle met en garde sa sœur contre ce qui l’attend et préfère la vie à la mort. Par là même, elle révèle le sens profond de l’œuvre : « Qui veut vivre doit oublier ».
Sur le plan musical, l’œuvre est, comme Salomé, d’un seul bloc. Mais elle fait preuve encore davantage de violence que l’opéra précédent. Bien que basée sur un langage tonal, elle va aux limites de l’harmonie, en particulier lors du songe de Clytemnestre. Les passages les ­ fameux en sont le premier air d’Electre, les confrontations entre les deux sœurs et entre la mère et la fille, et bien sûr la scène de la reconnaissance d’Oreste, dont Romain Rolland disait qu’elle « touche au sublime du cœur ».

La création

Elektra a été créé le 25 janvier 1909 au Königliches Opernhaus de Dresde.

L'oeuvre à l'Opéra de Paris

Elektra a été représenté pour la première fois au Palais Garnier en 1932, avec Germaine Lubin dans le rôle-titre, dans une mise en scène de Jacques Rouché. En 1974, une nouvelle production était présentée dans ce théâtre, sous la direction de Karl Böhm, dans une mise en scène d’August Everding, avec Birgit Nilsson (Electre), Christa Ludwig (Clytemnestre), Leonie Rysanek (Chrysothémis), Tom Krause (Oreste). Reprise plusieurs saisons consécutives, cette production permit aussi d’entendre Ursula Schröder-Feinen (Electre), Astrid Varnay (Clytemnestre) et Hans Sotin (Oreste). En 1992, l’œuvre a fait son entrée à l’Opéra Bastille, sous la direction musicale de Michael Schonwandt, dans une mise en scène de David Pountney, avec Gwyneth Jones (Electre), Leonie Rysanek (Clytemnestre), Sabine Hass (Chrysothémis) et Philippe Rouillon (Oreste). En 2005, une nouvelle production signée par Matthias Hatmann réunissait Deborah Polaski, Felicity Palmer, Eva Maria Westbroek et Markus Brück, sous la direction musicale de Christoph von Dohnányi.