Andrea Kremper / OnP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - First performance on 14 March 2014 - 7:30PM

Ticket rates : 5€, 15€, 35€, 70€, 100€, 130€, 150€, 180€, 195€

Running time : 2H45 with one interval

March 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
19:30
15
16
17
19:30
18
19
20
21
22
19:30
23
24
25
19:30
26
27
28
29
19:30
30
31
April 2014
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
19:30
2
3
4
5
6
19:30
7
8
9
10
19:30
11
12
13
19:30
14
15
19:30
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Fermer


NEW PRODUCTION
Die Zauberflöte
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Presentation
Pre-performance reading
THE MAGIC FLUTE
SINGSPIEL IN TWO ACTS (1791)
MUSIC BY WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART (1756-1791) LIBRETTO BY EMANUEL SCHIKANEDER
performed in german

We will never know how death revealed itself to Mozart and when and in what form it dispatched its messengers to him. Nevertheless, all the music composed in 1791, his last year, reveals to us that Mozart had heard and accepted their message without fear. Mozart loved exhilaration and could only live by it: exhilaration through love, work, or beauty. With the sense that little time remained, he resolved to leave this Earth exhausted, and consumed himself in his final works. Although utterly dissimilar, they would epitomise him entirely: La Clemenza di Tito, Die Zauberflöte and the Requiem. Nourished by the philosophy of the Enlightenment, Die Zauberflöte is a parable around the main themes of the 18th century: nature and culture, education and morality, truth and religion. It expresses his convictions with an assertive naïveté and a touching simplification of the choices that every living human must make. It is this very simplicity which is so essential when time is short, when everything falters and one has to express oneself clearly and ensure that one is understood.
At once a magical tale, a popular comedy, a philosophical fable, a religious mystery, and a masonic opera, Die Zauberflöte finds its miraculous simplicity in the midst of all this chaos: it shows us pain and comfort, day triumphing over night and the path of love and fraternity which we must all follow if we wish to be worthy of humanity.

Philippe Jordan Conductor
Robert Carsen Stage director
Michael Levine Sets
Petra Reinhardt Costumes
Robert Carsen / Peter Van Praet Lighting
Martin Eidenberger Video
Ian Burton Dramaturgy
Patrick Marie Aubert Chorus master
ArtisteNoteRôle
Pavol Breslik
Tamino
Eleonore Marguerre
Erste Dame
Louise Callinan
Zweite Dame
Wiebke Lehmkuhl
Dritte Dame
Daniel Schmutzhard
Papageno
Regula Mühlemann
Papagena
Franz Josef Selig
Sarastro
François Piolino
Monostatos
Julia Kleiter
Pamina
Sabine Devieilhe
Königin der Nacht
Terje Stensvold
Der Sprecher
Michael Havlicek
Erster Priester
Dietmar Kerschbaum
Zweiter Priester
Eric Huchet
Erster Geharnischter
Wenwei Zhang
Zweiter Geharnischter
Solistes de la Maîtrise des Hauts-de-Seine
Drei Knaben
Paris Opera Orchestra and Chorus


COPRODUCTION WITH THE FESTSPIELHAUS, BADEN-BADEN


SiemensSIEMENS SPONSOR OF DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE 

The composer

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was born in Salzburg on 27 January 1756, and died in Vienna on 5 December 1791.
A child prodigy (he took his first harpsichord lessons at the age of four and started composing when he was six), Mozart soon became famous thanks to the many tours organised by his father, Leopold, who was also his teacher and mentor. Despite his short life, he is one of the most prolific composers in the history of music. In the field of opera, after his early works (La Finta semplice, Mitridate re di Ponto, Lucio Silla and La Finta giardiniera, among others), it was with Idomeneo (1781) that he truly asserted his personality. Die Entführung aus dem Serail, the following year, was his first mature work and heralded his later masterpieces : Le Nozze di Figaro in 1786, Don Giovanni in 1787, Così fan tutte in 1789. His last opera, La Clemenza di Tito, was a return to opera seria.

The work

Die Zauberflöte (literally : “The Magic Flute”, or more exactly “having the power to enchant”) is an opera (Singspiel) in two acts, sung and acted in German. The libretto was written by Emanuel Schikaneder (1751-1812), actor, producer and director of the Theater auf der Wieden in Vienna. He put on several of Mozart’s operas in his theatre and gave Beethoven the subject matter for Fidelio. It was he who convinced Mozart to write Die Zauberflöte for his popular theatre in the Viennese suburbs. It is highly likely that he contributed to the libretto, along with Giesecke, von Born and Mozart himself.
Die Zauberflöte allies the popular Singspiel form, alternating spoken dialogues and song, with the loftier philosophical drama, which, with a storyline combining Masonry and comic episodes, reconciles scholarly and popular music.

 

The first performance

Die Zauberflöte was created on 30 September 1791 at the Theater auf der Wieden in Vienna under the baton of Mozart himself, with Schikaneder interpreting the role of Papageno. By the end of the following year Die Zauberflöte had been performed 100 times. By 1800 the work had played in around one hundred towns. Goethe intended to write a sequel.

The work at the Paris Opera

Originally the audiences of the Paris Opera (Académie Nationale de Musique, Salle Montansier) only knew Die Zauberflöte through an adaptation by Lachnith who composed recitatives and rewrote Mozart’s music to a French version far removed from the original by Morel de Chédeville. This adaptation went under the title of Les Mystères d’Isis (20 August 1801). On 3 April 1879 the work entered the repertoire of the Opéra Comique in a French version by Nuitter and Beaumont. By 1910 it had been performed 138 times. It finally made its way into the Paris Opera (Palais Garnier) repertoire in a new French version by Jean-Gabriel Prodhomme on 26 January 1923. On 22 December 1954 a new version by Maurice Lehmann was directed by Chapelain-Midy, who also did the sets, and was a huge success. In May 1977, Rolf Liebermann entrusted the first production of Die Zauberflöte to be sung and acted in German to Horst Zankel, with sets by Arik Brauer. A prestigious cast including Kiri Te Kanawa, Horst Laubenthal, Kurt Moll was conducted by Karl Böhm. The work was also performed at the Opéra Comique in June-July 1986 in a new production by Marcel Bluwal and Hubert Monloup. Die Zauberflöte entered the repertoire of the Opéra Bastille in June 1991, conducted by Armin Jordan. In December 2000, a new production staged by Benno Besson was presented at the Palais Garnier. In 2005, a new production was presented at the Opera Bastille, staged by La Fura dels Baus, under the direction of Marc Minkowski and with Mireille Delunsch, Paul Groves, Erika Miklosa et Ain Anger.

Andrea Kremper / OnP

Dates / Prix

Opéra Bastille - Première le 14 mars 2014 - 19h30

Tarifs : 5€, 15€, 35€, 70€, 100€, 130€, 150€, 180€, 195€

Durée : 2H45 avec un entracte

mars 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
19:30
15
16
17
19:30
18
19
20
21
22
19:30
23
24
25
19:30
26
27
28
29
19:30
30
31
avril 2014
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
19:30
2
3
4
5
6
19:30
7
8
9
10
19:30
11
12
13
19:30
14
15
19:30
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Fermer


Nouvelle production
Die Zauberflöte
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Présentation
À lire avant le spectacle
LA FLÛTE ENCHANTÉE
SINGSPIEL EN DEUX ACTES (1791)
MUSIQUE DE WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART (1756-1791) LIVRET D’EMANUEL SCHIKANEDER
En langue allemande

Nous ne saurons jamais comment la mort s’est annoncée à Mozart, quand et sous quelle forme elle lui a dépêché ses messagers. Toute la musique composée en 1791, la dernière année, nous fait pourtant entendre que Mozart les a écoutés sans peur et a accepté leur message. Mozart aimait l’ivresse et ne pouvait vivre qu’en elle : l’ivresse du cœur, du travail, de la beauté. Avec le sentiment du peu de temps qu’il lui restait, il se résolut à quitter la terre, épuisé, et se consuma en sesœuvres ultimes. Si dissemblables, elles le résument tout entier : La Clémence de Titus,La Flûte enchantée et le Requiem. Nourrie de la philosophie des Lumières, La Flûte enchantée fait une parabole des grands thèmes qui ont occupé le XVIIIe siècle : la nature et la culture, l’éducation et la morale, la vérité et la religion. Elle exprime ses convictions avec une naïveté revendiquée, simplifications émouvantes des choix que doit faire toute vie humaine. Cette simplicité est de celles qui sont nécessaires lorsque le temps presse, que tout vacille et qu’il faut s’exprimer avec clarté, se faire comprendre à coup sûr.
À la fois conte merveilleux, comédie populaire, fable philosophique, mystère religieux, opéra maçonnique, La Flûte enchantée trouve en ce chaos sa miraculeuse simplicité : elle nous montre la peine et le baume, le jour qui triomphe de la nuit, le chemin d’amour et de fraternité qu’il faut suivre si l’on veut être digne de l’humanité.

Philippe Jordan Direction musicale
Robert Carsen Mise en scène
Michael Levine Décors
Petra Reinhardt Costumes
Robert Carsen / Peter Van Praet Lumières
Martin Eidenberger Vidéo
Ian Burton Dramaturgie
Patrick Marie Aubert Chef de Choeur
ArtisteNoteRôle
Pavol Breslik
Tamino
Eleonore Marguerre
Erste Dame
Louise Callinan
Zweite Dame
Wiebke Lehmkuhl
Dritte Dame
Daniel Schmutzhard
Papageno
Regula Mühlemann
Papagena
Franz Josef Selig
Sarastro
François Piolino
Monostatos
Julia Kleiter
Pamina
Sabine Devieilhe
Königin der Nacht
Terje Stensvold
Der Sprecher
Michael Havlicek
Erster Priester
Dietmar Kerschbaum
Zweiter Priester
Eric Huchet
Erster Geharnischter
Wenwei Zhang
Zweiter Geharnischter
Solistes d'Aurelius Sängerknaben Calw
Drei Knaben
Orchestre et Choeur de l’Opéra national de Paris


COPRODUCTION AVEC LE FESTSPIELHAUS, BADEN-BADEN


SiemensSIEMENS MÉCÈNE DE DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE 

Le compositeur

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (né à Salzbourg le 27 janvier 1756, mort à Vienne le 5 décembre 1791).
Enfant prodige (il prend ses premières leçons de clavecin à l’âge de quatre ans et commence à composer à l’âge de six), Mozart connaît rapidement la célébrité grâce aux nombreuses tournées que lui fait faire son père, Léopold, qui est aussi son professeur et son mentor. Malgré sa brève existence, il est un des compositeurs les plus prolifiques de l’histoire de la musique. Dans le domaine lyrique, après des œuvres de jeunesse (La Finta semplice, Mitridate re di Ponto, Lucio Silla, La Finta giardiniera, entre autres), Mozart affirme véritablement sa personnalité avec Idomeneo (1781). L’Enlèvement au sérail, l’année suivante, marque l’achèvement de son indépendance et le début des chefs-d’œuvre de la maturité : Les Noces de Figaro en 1786, Don Giovanni en 1787, Così fan tutte en 1789. La Clémence de Titus, qui revient au genre seria, est son dernier opéra.

L'oeuvre

Die Zauberflöte (littéralement : « La Flûte magique », ou plutôt « ayant un pouvoir d’enchantement »). Opéra (Singspiel) en 2 actes, chanté et joué en allemand. Livret d’Emanuel Schikaneder (1751-1812), acteur, metteur en scène et directeur du Theater auf der Wieden de Vienne ; il programma dans son théâtre plusieurs opéras de Mozart et suggéra à Beethoven le sujet de Fidelio. C’est lui qui avait convaincu Mozart d’écrire pour son théâtre populaire de la banlieue de Vienne La Flûte enchantée au livret de laquelle collaborèrent sans doute également Giesecke, von Born et Mozart lui-même.
La Flûte enchantée allie la forme populaire du Singspiel, faisant alterner les dialogues parlés et le chant, avec la forme la plus élevée du drame philosophique, et, au travers d’un canevas unissant trame maçonnique et épisodes comiques, concilie musique savante et musique populaire.

La création

La Flûte enchantée a été créé le 30 septembre 1791, au Theater auf der Wieden de Vienne, sous la direction de Mozart lui-même, Schikaneder interprétant le rôle de Papageno. A la fin de l’année suivante, La Flûte enchantée comptait déjà 100 représentations. Avant 1800, l’œuvre était jouée dans une centaine de villes. Goethe projeta d’en écrire une suite.

L'oeuvre à l'Opéra de Paris

Le public de l’Opéra de Paris ne connut d’abord La Flûte enchantée que par une libre adaptation sur une version française qui portait le titre de Les Mystères d’Isis (20 août 1801). Le 3 avril 1879, l’ouvrage entre au répertoire de l’Opéra Comique dans une version française de Nuitter et Beaumont. La Flûte enchantée entre finalement au répertoire de l’Opéra (Palais Garnier) dans une nouvelle version française de Jean-Gabriel Prodhomme le 26 janvier 1923. Le 22 décembre 1954, dans une version nouvelle de Jean Sarment, la production de Maurice Lehmann dans des décors de Chapelain-Midy reçoit un accueil triomphal. En mai 1977, Rolf Liebermann confie la mise en scène de la première Zauberflöte chantée et jouée en allemand à l’Opéra à Horst Zankl, dans des décors d’Arik Brauer. Une prestigieuse distribution comprenant Kiri Te Kanawa, Horst Laubenthal, Kurt Moll, Edda Moser est réunie sous la direction de Karl Böhm. En juin-juillet 1986, l’œuvre est donnée à l’Opéra Comique dans une nouvelle présentation réalisée par Marcel Bluwal et Hubert Monloup. En juin 1991, La Flûte enchantée a fait son entrée à l’Opéra Bastille, sous la direction d’Armin Jordan et dans la mise en scène de Robert Wilson, production pour laquelle de nouveaux costumes furent réalisés en 1999 par Kenzo. En décembre 2000, Benno Besson signe une nouvelle mise en scène présentée au Palais Garnier. En 2005, enfin, une nouvelle production a été présentée à l’Opéra Bastille, dans une mise en scène de La Fura dels Baus, sous la direction musicale de Marc Minkowski et avec Mireille Delunsch, Paul Groves, Erika Miklosa et Ain Anger.