Agathe Poupeney / ONP

Dates / Prix

Palais Garnier - First performance on 22 October 2013 - 7:30PM

October 2013
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
19:30
23
24
19:30
25
26
27
19:30
28
29
30
19:30
31
November 2013
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
2
3
14:30
4
5
19:30
6
7
8
19:30
9
10
11
19:30
12
13
19:30
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Fermer


Così fan tutte
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Presentation
Pre-performance reading
OPERA BUFFA in two acts (1790)
Music by WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART (1756-1791) Libretto by LORENZO DA PONTE
Performed in Italian

Thus do they all or The School for Lovers. When Lorenzo da Ponte is the teacher, the lesson is harsh and cruel, even if Mozart cannot resist tempering the implacable demonstration with musical grace. Before the cynical gaze of a pair of meddling manipulators, two brothers and two sisters become caught up in the alchemy of desire. Here we have pretend soldiers, false Albanians, a fake doctor, a counterfeit lawyer and above all, false friends! Can one really expect the heart to remain steadfast and love to be eternal? In this game of masks and deception with its labyrinthine rules, there can be no winners! Amid the vertiginous polyphony of this concerto for six voices, reminiscent of Marivaux at his most abstract and Musset at his least indulgent, Michael SchØnwandt leads his disciples along the path towards enlightenment.

Michael Schonwandt Conductor
Ezio Toffolutti Stage director, sets and costumes
André Diot Lighting
Alessandro Di Stefano Chorus master
ArtisteNoteRôle
Myrtò Papatanasiu
Fiordiligi
Stéphanie d’Oustrac / Andrea Hill
(11 nov)
Dorabella
Dmitry Korchak
Ferrando
David Bizic
Guglielmo
Lorenzo Regazzo
Don Alfonso
William Shimell
3, 5, (8, 11 and 13 Nov.)
Don Alfonso
Bernarda Bobro
Despina

Paris Opera Orchestra and Chorus

The composer

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was born in Salzburg on 27 January 1756, and died in Vienna on 5 December 1791.
A child prodigy (he took his first harpsichord lessons at the age of four and started composing when he was six), Mozart soon became famous thanks to the many tours organised by his father, Leopold, who was also his teacher and mentor. Despite his short life, he is one of the most prolific composers in the history of music. In the field of opera, after his early works (La Finta semplice, Mitridate re di Ponto, Lucio Silla and La Finta giardiniera, among others), it was with Idomeneo (1781) that he truly asserted his personality. Die Entführung aus dem Serail, the following year, was his first mature work and heralded his later masterpieces : Le Nozze di Figaro in 1786, Don Giovanni in 1787, Così fan tutte in 1789. His last opera, La Clemenza di Tito, was a return to opera seria.

The work

Così fan tutte was commissioned from Mozart at the beginning of September 1789 by the emperor Joseph II who, according to legend, chose the subject himself: a news story which was then the talk of the town.
The commission could not have come at a better time for the composer who was experiencing both psychological and financial difficulties. Lorenzo da Ponte, with whom Mozart had written his two previous operas, thereby creating modern opera (opera where the orchestra no longer simply accompanies the singers but brings out the deeper psychology of the characters), was once more entrusted with the libretto. Così fan tutte is an opera which, like La Clemenza di Tito, was greatly misunderstood. For many years it was considered merely as a romantic comedy, frivolous banter for which the composer had written charming but superficial music. While it is true that da Ponte’s libretto, after the audacity of Le Nozze de Figaro and Don Giovanni, might seem conventional, it is clever, well constructed and theatrical. With his sensual, spirited and passionate music, Mozart poses fundamental questions about love and brings to the libretto surprising psychological depth and an underlying seriousness not present in the original farce.

The first performance

Così fan tutte was first performed at the Burgtheater in Vienna on 26 January 1790. The first production in France was given at the Théâtre des Italiens in Paris on 28 January 1809.

The work at the Paris Opera

The work entered the repertoire at the Opéra-Comique in 1920, in a French version, with André Messager as conductor. It was not until 1963 that the Opéra-Comique put on the work in its original version, in a production for the Aix-en-Provence festival. Mozart’s opera was first given at the Palais Garnier on 17 May 1974, in a production by Jean-Pierre Ponnelle (who was also responsible for scenery and costumes), with Josef Krips conducting (alternating with Serge Baudo), and Margaret Price (Fiordiligi), Jane Berbié (Dorabella), Tom Krause (Guglielmo), Ryland Davies (Ferrando), Teresa Stratas/Danièle Perriers (Despina), Gabriel Bacquier (Don Alfonso). Several different casts alternated in this production up until 1980. Così fan tutte returned to the Opéra Comique on 17 April 1982 in a Jean-Claude Auvray production, with scenery and costumes by Bernard Arnould, Gustav Kuhn at the rostrum, and sung by Felicity Lott, Alicia Nafé, Dale Duesing, Eberhard Büchner, Hildegard Heichele and Richard Van Allan. The opera was back at the Palais Garnier in March 1996 in a production staged by Ezio Toffolutti and conducted by Jeffrey Tate with Susan Chilcott/Emily Magee, Susan Graham, Simon Keenlyside, Rainer Trost, Eirian James and William Shimell in the main roles. In 2005, a new production staged by Patrice Chéreau was presented, with Erin Wall, Elina Garanca, Stéphane Degout, Shawn Mathey, Barbara Bonney and Ruggero Raimondi. It is Ezio Toffolutti’s production, revived in 1998 (with Melanie Diener, Angelika Kirschlager, Russel Braun, Bruce Ford, Anna Maria Panzarella, William Shimell), 2000 (with Barbara Frittoli, Katarina Karnéus, Russell Braun, Michael Shade, Nuccia Focile, Rolando Panerai), 2003 (with Anja Harteros, Enkelejda Shkosa, Russell Braun, Roberto Sacca, Maria Bayo and Alessandro Corbelli) and 2011 (with Elza van den Heever, Karine Deshayes, Paulo Szot and Matthew Polenzani) which is being performed this season.

Agathe Poupeney / ONP

Dates / Prix

Palais Garnier - Première le 22 octobre 2013 - 19h30

octobre 2013
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
19:30
23
24
19:30
25
26
27
19:30
28
29
30
19:30
31
novembre 2013
lun
mar
mer
jeu
ven
sam
dim
1
2
3
14:30
4
5
19:30
6
7
8
19:30
9
10
11
19:30
12
13
19:30
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Fermer


Così fan tutte
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Présentation
À lire avant le spectacle
OPERA BUFFA EN DEUX ACTES (1790)
MUSIQUE DE WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART (1756-1791) LIVRET DE LORENZO DA PONTE
En langue italienne

Ainsi font toutes ou l’École des amants. Quand Lorenzo Da Ponte fait la leçon, l’apprentissage est rude et cruel, même si Mozart ne peut s’empêcher d’entremêler sa grâce à l’implacable démonstration. Sous le regard de deux apprentis sorciers, deux frères et deux sœurs se perdent dans l’alchimie du désir. Il y a des faux soldats, des faux Albanais, un faux médecin, un faux notaire, mais surtout des faux-semblants et des faux amis… Et l’on voudrait que les sentiments soientéternels et que le cœur n’ait pas d’intermittences ? Jeu de masques et jeu de dupes, les règles s’embrouillent et tout le monde perd. Le Marivaux le plus abstrait et, déjà, le Musset le moins complaisant se retrouvent dans la polyphonie vertigineuse de ce concerto à six voix. Michael Schønwandt mène ces écoliers sur les chemins de la connaissance.

Michael Schonwandt Direction musicale
Ezio Toffolutti Mise en scène, décors et costumes
André Diot Lumières
Alessandro Di Stefano Chef de Choeur
ArtisteNoteRôle
Myrtò Papatanasiu
Fiordiligi
Stéphanie d’Oustrac / Andrea Hill
(11 nov)
Dorabella
Dmitry Korchak
Ferrando
David Bizic
Guglielmo
Lorenzo Regazzo
Don Alfonso
William Shimell
(3, 5, 8, 11 et 13 nov.)
Don Alfonso
Bernarda Bobro
Despina

Orchestre et Choeur de l’Opéra national de Paris

Le compositeur

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (né à Salzbourg le 27 janvier 1756, mort à Vienne le 5 décembre 1791).
Enfant prodige (il prend ses premières leçons de clavecin à l’âge de quatre ans et commence à composer à l’âge de six), Mozart connaît rapidement la célébrité grâce aux nombreuses tournées que lui fait faire son père, Léopold, qui est aussi son professeur et son mentor. Malgré sa brève existence, il est un des compositeurs les plus prolifiques de l’histoire de la musique. Dans le domaine lyrique, après des œuvres de jeunesse (La Finta semplice, Mitridate re di Ponto, Lucio Silla, La Finta giardiniera, entre autres), Mozart affirme véritablement sa personnalité avec Idomeneo (1781). L’Enlèvement au sérail, l’année suivante, marque l’achèvement de son indépendance et le début des chefs-d’œuvre de la maturité : Les Noces de Figaro en 1786, Don Giovanni en 1787, Così fan tutte en 1789. La Clémence de Titus, qui revient au genre seria, est son dernier opéra.

L'oeuvre

Così fan tutte a été commandé à Mozart début septembre 1789, par l’empereur Joseph II qui, d’après la légende, aurait lui-même choisi le sujet : un fait divers qui venait de défrayer la chronique mondaine. Lorenzo da Ponte eut à nouveau la charge du livret : Mozart avait déjà fait appel à lui pour ses deux précédents ouvrages et surtout il avait créé avec lui l’opéra moderne, c’est à dire un opéra où l’orchestre quitte son simple rôle d’accompagnateur pour éclairer en profondeur la psychologie des personnages.
Così fan tutte fait partie, avec La Clémence de Titus, des opéras de Mozart qui ont suscité le plus de malentendus. Pendant bien longtemps, on n’a voulu y voir qu’une comédie galante, un « marivaudage » frivole pour lequel le compositeur avait écrit une musique charmante, mais superficielle. Le livret de Da Ponte, il est vrai, après les audaces des Noces de Figaro et de Don Giovanni, a pu sembler conventionnel. Mais il est habile, bien construit, toujours théâtral, et Mozart, avec sa musique sensuelle, brûlante, passionnée, lui a donné des prolongements psychologiques insoupçonnés : il lui a fait poser les questions essentielles de l’amour et lui a insufflé un fond de gravité que ne possédait pas la farce initiale.

La création

Così fan tutte est créé au Burgtheater de Vienne le 26 janvier 1790. La création française a lieu au Théâtre des Italiens de Paris le 28 janvier 1809.

L'oeuvre à l'Opéra de Paris

L’ouvrage entre au répertoire de l’Opéra-Comique en 1920, dans une adaptation française, sous la direction d’André Messager. Ce n’est qu’en 1963 que l’Opéra-Comique affiche enfin l’œuvre dans sa version originale, dans une production du Festival d’Aix-en-Provence. L’opéra de Mozart est représenté pour la première fois au Palais Garnier le 17 mai 1974, dans une mise en scène de Jean-Pierre Ponnelle (qui signait aussi les décors et les costumes), sous la direction musicale de Josef Krips (en alternance avec Serge Baudo), avec Margaret Price (Fiordiligi), Jane Berbié (Dorabella), Tom Krause (Guglielmo), Ryland Davies (Ferrando), Teresa Stratas / Danièle Perriers (Despina), Gabriel Bacquier (Don Alfonso). Plusieurs distributions alterneront dans cette même production jusqu’en 1980. Così fan tutte revient à l’Opéra Comique le 17 avril 1982, sous la direction de Gustave Kuhn, dans une mise en scène de Jean-Claude Auvray, décors et costumes Bernard Arnould (production de l’Opéra de Nancy), avec Felicity Lott, Alicia Nafé, Dale Duesing, Eberhardt Büchner, Hildegard Heichele, Richard Van Allan. En 1996, une nouvelle mise en scène d’Ezio Toffolutti (qui signait aussi les décors et les costumes) réunissait Susan Chilcott/Emily Magee, Susan Graham, Simon Keenlyside, Rainer Trost, Eirian James et William Shimell. sous la direction de Jeffrey Tate. En 2005, Patrice Chéreau signait une nouvelle mise en scène (coproduction avec le Festival d’Aix-en-Provence) avec Erin Wall, Elina Garanca, Stéphane Degout, Shawn Mathey, Barbara Bonney et Ruggero Raimondi. C’est la production d’Ezio Toffolutti, reprise en 1998 (avec Melanie Diener, Angelika Kirschlager, Russel Braun, Bruce Ford, Anna Maria Panzarella, William Shimell), 2000 (Barbara Frittoli, Katarina Karnéus, Russell Braun, Michael Shade, Nuccia Focile, Rolando Panerai), 2003 (Anja Harteros, Enkelejda Shkosa, Russell Braun et Roberto Sacca) et 2011 (Elza van den Heever, Karine Deshayes, Paulo Szot et Matthew Polenzani) qui est de nouveau à l’affiche.