Simon Chaput / OnP
Individual spectators

My first steps

Everything you need to know before your first visit to the Paris Opera.

How do I get to the performance?

Check the venue and the time of the performance:

At the Palais Garnier 
Place de l’Opéra
75009 Paris

Access by public transport
Metro: Opéra (lines 3, 7 and 8), Chaussée d’Antin (lines 7 and 9) Madeleine (lines 8 and 14),
Auber (RER line A)
Bus : 20, 21, 22, 27, 29, 42, 52, 66, 68, 81, 95,
Car Parks : Place Vendôme, Meyerbeer, Edouard VII, Haussmann Berri, Haussmann Galeries Lafayette

At the Opéra Bastille
Place de la Bastille
75012 Paris

Access by public transport
Metro: Bastille (lines 1, 5 and 8), Gare de Lyon (line 14), Gare de Lyon (RER line A)
Bus 20, 29, 65, 69, 76, 86, 87, 91
Car Parks: Opéra Bastille, 34 rue de Lyon (6 hour special rate for performances)

When should I arrive?

It is strongly recommended that you arrive at least 15 minutes before the start of the performance. Check the performance venue, Opera Bastille or Palais Garnier, as well as the starting time. In the evening, performances begin early (7:30 pm), sometimes earlier (7:00 pm, 6:00 pm or 5:30 pm) and finish between 9:30 pm and 11:30 pm. For matinees, the performance begins at 2:00 pm or 2:30 pm.

In case of late arrival, in order to not disturb other spectators, the ushers will ask you to wait for an interval or a suitable interlude before taking your seats.

How long is the performance?

The duration of a performance varies, but a work generally lasts between 2 and 3 hours, including interval(s). Ballets are often shorter.

While some ballets or operas have no interruption, most productions have between one and three intervals, for a minimum duration of 20 minutes.

The duration of the performance that you have chosen is shown on the page presenting the season’s productions.

What should I wear for my evening at the Opera?

Although evening dress is customary (suits for men and evening dresses for women) and is highly recommended for gala evenings, more casual dress is accepted, provided that it is decent. However, avoid attire that is too scanty.

What are the basic rules to enable everyone to enjoy the evening?

For the tranquillity of all, and in respect of the work of the artists, please kindly observe several simple rules as follows :

- Turn off your mobile phone. You may check it during the intermission.
- It is forbidden to take photos and videos during the performance.
- Once the performance has started, please wait for the interval to share your impressions.
- Do not take food or drink into the auditorium. You may drink and eat during the interval.
- Please use perfume in moderation.

Food and drinks?

Bars serving drinks and light meals are situated in the public areas of the Palais Garnier and the Opera Bastille. They are at your disposal three quarters of an hour before each performance and during intervals. You may order directly from the bar upon arrival in the theatre. However, consumption of food and beverages is prohibited inside the auditorium.
For further information

A restaurant is also available at the Palais Garnier.
For further information

Where can I purchase the programme or a souvenir of my visit to the Opera?

You may purchase the programme on the evening of the performance in the entrance hall, at the boutiques in the Opera Bastille and Palais Garnier, and at the online store.

Our boutiques contain reference books on music, dance, opera and the Opera’s heritage (history, architecture, costumes), DVDs of Paris Opera productions, recordings by the Paris Opera orchestra and chorus, publications and items for children (books, cut-out models, guided tours of the Palais Garnier), and a wide selection of postcards, stationery, posters, derivative products and other gifts

At the Palais Garnier, the Gallery of the Paris Opera is accessible from the peristyle and directly from rue Halévy.
Open every day, Monday to Sunday, from 10:00 am to 6:30 pm.
On performance evenings, opening hours are extended until the end of the event.
Telephone: +33 (0)1 53 43 03 97

At the Opera Bastille, the boutique is located in the theatre lobby, Place de la Bastille entrance.
Open Monday to Saturday, from 11:30 am to 1:30 pm, and from 2:30 pm to 7:00pm.
On performance evenings (including Sunday), opening hours are extended until the end of the 1st interval.
Telephone: +33 (0)1 40 01 17 82

This is my first opera, will I understand the story?

Extensive information and excerpts from performances are available on our website.

For each production, you can also purchase the programme notes which contain much information about the work, its context, its libretto and its interpreters.

The Palais Garnier and the Opera Bastille are both equipped with surtitling devices in French. At the Opera Bastille, surtitling in English is also visible from most seats.

Ballet: Did you know?

Who are the dancers who perform the ballets of the Paris Opera season?

The ballets in Benjamin Millepied's choreographic season are performed by the Étoiles and the dancers of the Paris Opera Ballet. Exceptionally, soloists from elsewhere may appear with the company.

All the ballets performed on the stages of the Palais Garnier and the Opéra Bastille are danced by the company, with the exception of productions by guest companies who each year present their own repertoire performed by their own dancers. The company’s organisation allows for two casts for each production, the Étoiles alternating with Premiers Danseurs or young talents in the solo roles.

+ Read more

How did the Ballet of the Paris Opera start?

The Company is more than three hundred years old! The first director of the Opera Ballet was none other than King Louis XIV. An accomplished dancer himself and the creator of at least 27 ballets and several technical figures, he became known as the Sun King after performing the role of Apollon-Soleil Levant (Apollo, the Rising Sun) in Le Ballet de la Nuit, in 1653.

Louis XIV wished to “reinstate [dance] in its most perfect form and further it as much as may be possible”. In his desire to develop the courtly style into a veritable performance art, as soon as he came to power in 1661, he founded the Royal Academy of dance. Ancestor of the current Opera Ballet, the role of the Royal Academy of Dance was to establish the rules of dance and to teach ballet. Thus the art of Classical Ballet was born. From then on dance technique became increasingly complex and soon necessitated the constitution of a company of professional dancers as well as the creation of a school of dance to train its members.


What is the role of the Ballet School?

The birthplace of classical dance, the School's mission is “to train the dancers of the Ballet and carry out the professional training of dancers” (Decree dated February 5th 1994 defining the status of the Paris Opera).

The Ballet School is the oldest of its kind in the western world and celebrated its tri-centenary in 2013. For many years, it was located at the Palais Garnier, a building which, as the years passed, proved ill-adapted to its mission. One explanation of the term “petit rat” (little rat) comes from the fact that the first classes took place in the attics.

It wasn’t until 1987 that the School, then under the direction of Claude Bessy, moved to a new purpose-built site bringing dance training, academic studies up to Baccalaureat level and boarding facilities under one roof in a modern, and perfectly adapted building. Situated in Nanterre, the new school was designed by the architect Christian de Portzamparc.

Almost all the dancers in the Opera ballet have been trained at the Ballet School. Each year, as posts become vacant, pupils compete in entrance examinations for places in the Company.


How is the Paris Opera Ballet organised?

Under Brigitte Lefèvre’s direction's the Paris Opera Ballet is composed of 154 dancers. Most of them have been trained at the Ballet School, currently directed by Elisabeth Platel.

Usually joining the ballet between the ages of 16 and 20, the artists nowadays end their careers at the Opera when they are 42 years old.

The prestigious Corps de Ballet of the Paris Opera is organised in grades comprising, in descending order of seniority: Premier Danseurs, Sujets, Coryphées and Quadrilles. This hierarchy is established by an annual competition with a jury composed of five dancers chosen by their colleagues and five representatives of the management team two of whom are from outside the company. The competition allows those who choose to take part to rise to the grade of Premier Danseur. Only the Étoiles are appointed by the Director of the Opera, on the nomination of the Director of Dance.


A typical day in the life of an Opera dancer

Traditionally, the day begins with a warm-up session, starting with a series of bar exercises and finishing with the most virtuoso exercises. These daily sessions bring together all the dancers in the Company, from the youngest Quadrilles to the most experienced of the Étoiles. Throughout their career, the artists of the Ballet also have dance lessons to perfect their technique, coach them for their roles and train them for the internal competitions. Coaching is mainly provided by teachers from the Opera Ballet. The rest of the day is essentially focused around rehearsals for both current and future productions. These work sessions are directed by guest choreographers, their representatives or assistants or by the Ballet Masters and Assistant Ballet Masters of the Opera Ballet.


What is a Défilé?

The Défilé is a sort of “parade” lasting about fifteen minutes and performed to the March of the Trojans by Hector Berlioz. Its current form was laid down by Serge Lifar in 1945: the entire company of dancers of the Corps de Ballet, led by the youngest pupils of the School of Dance, process down the 46 metres from the Foyer de la Danse, lit by its glittering chandeliers and situated at the back of the stage of the Palais Garnier, to the front of the stage, to greet the audience. Although it is usually presented at Garnier, it has also been performed at the Opera Bastille. An important ritual, the Défilé brings together almost 300 artists, from the youngest pupils of the School of Dance to the most experienced of the Étoiles.


What is meant by the term “repertoire”?

The Repertoire comprises all the choreographic works that a company is in a position to perform repeatedly during its various artistic seasons. It is the sum total of the works that it has made its own, brought to life and that will endure over time. The repertoire represents the company’s “capital”, its life force and its memory. It also reflects the artistic sensibility and choices of its artistic direction.

The Ballet of the Paris Opera has a large repertoire. Whilst placing considerable importance on maintaining the tradition of the grand classical ballets, with particular emphasis on the choreographies of Rudolf Nureyev, the repertoire has been enriched with works that stand out in our own period. The Director of Dance regularly invites today’s choreographers to revisit existing ballets or to create new works. Thus, since 1995, several major works have entered the repertoire of the Opera Ballet including The Rite of Spring and Orpheus and Eurydice by Pina Bausch, Glacial Decoy by Trisha Brown, La Dame aux Camelias and Mahler’s Third Symphony by John Neumeier, La Maison de Bernarda and Une sorte de… by Mats Ek, and Rain by Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker. Numerous choreographers, including some of the most emblematic of the period, have also created new works for the Company: Maurice Béjart, Trisha Brown, Mats Ek, William Forsythe, Jiří Kylián, Blanca Li, Wayne McGregor, Benjamin Millepied, José Montalvo, John Neumeier, Robyn Orlin, Roland Petit, Angeli Preljocaj, Alexei Ratmanski, Saburo Teshigawara, Sasha Waltz … In addition, the former director of Dance, Brigitte Lefèvre has given 8 Étoiles or Soloists from the Company the opportunity to explore their choreographic talents on the stages of either the Palais Garnier or the Opera Bastille.

The Paris Opera Ballet maintains its importance as a centre for artistic creation and a breeding ground for the dancers and choreographers of today. Its repertoire brings together past and present and constitutes the heritage of tomorrow.

 

- Hide

© OnP / DR
Spectateurs Individuels / Particuliers

Mes premiers pas

Tout ce qu’il faut savoir avant votre première venue à l’Opéra national de Paris

Comment me rendre au spectacle ?

Vérifiez le lieu et l’heure de votre spectacle :

Au Palais Garnier 
Place de l’Opéra
75009 Paris

Accès en transports en commun
Métro : Opéra (lignes 3, 7 et 8), Chaussée d’Antin (lignes 7 et 9) Madeleine (lignes 8 et 14)
Auber ( RER A ),
Bus : 20, 21, 22, 27, 29, 42, 52, 66, 68, 81, 95
Parkings : Place Vendôme, Meyerbeer, Edouard VII, Haussmann Berri, Haussmann Galeries Lafayette

 

A l’Opéra Bastille
Place de la Bastille
75012 Paris

Accès en transports en commun
Métro : Bastille lignes (1, 5 et 8), Gare de Lyon (ligne 14) Gare de Lyon (RER A)
Bus 20, 29, 65, 69, 76, 86, 87, 91
Parking : Opéra Bastille, 34 rue de Lyon (Forfait spectacle 6 heures)

A quelle heure dois-je arriver ?

Il est fortement recommandé d’arriver au minimum 15 minutes avant le début du spectacle. Vérifiez le lieu du spectacle Opéra Bastille ou Palais Garnier ainsi que l'heure : en soirée, le spectacle commence tôt (19 h 30), parfois plus tôt (19 h, 18 h ou 17 h 30) et se termine entre 21 h 30 et 23 h 30. Les matinées, le spectacle commence à 14 h ou à 14 h 30.

En cas de retard, les ouvreurs vous demanderont de patienter jusqu’à l’entracte ou un interlude propice à l’entrée de personnes dans la salle, afin de ne pas gêner les autres spectateurs.

Combien de temps dure le spectacle ?

La durée du spectacle peut varier, mais une œuvre dure en moyenne entre 2 et 3h, entracte(s) compris. Les ballets ont souvent une durée plus courte.

Si certains ballets ou opéras n’ont pas d’interruption, la plupart des productions offre entre 1 et 3 entractes, d’une durée minimum de 20 minutes.

La durée du spectacle que vous avez choisi est indiquée sur la page de présentation des spectacles.

Que dois-je porter pour ma soirée à l’Opéra ?

Si la tenue de soirée est d’usage (costume pour les hommes et robes habillées pour les femmes) et fortement recommandée pour les soirées de gala, les tenues plus décontractées sont acceptées, pour autant qu’elles restent correctes. Toutefois, évitez les tenues trop dévêtues.

Quelles sont les règles simples à respecter pour permettre à tous de passer une bonne soirée ?

Pour la tranquillité de tous et le respect du travail des artistes, nous vous prions de bien vouloir observer les quelques règles suivantes :

- Désactivez  votre téléphone portable, vous pourrez le consulter pendant l’entracte
- Il est interdit de prendre des photos et vidéos pendant la représentation
- Une fois la représentation commencée, merci d’attendre l’entracte pour partager vos impressions
- N’emportez ni nourriture ni boisson dans la salle. Vous pourrez vous désaltérer et vous restaurer pendant l’entracte
- Veillez à vous parfumer avec modération

Comment me restaurer ?

Au Palais Garnier comme à l’Opéra Bastille, des bars proposant boissons et restauration légère sont à votre disposition, dans les espaces publics, 3/4 d'heure avant chaque représentation  et pendant les entractes.
Vous pouvez passer commande, directement auprès des bars, dès votre arrivée dans le théâtre. La consommation de nourriture et de boissons est cependant interdite à l’intérieur de la salle.
En savoir +

Un restaurant est également accessible au Palais Garnier.
En savoir +

Où acquérir le programme ou un souvenir de ma venue à l’Opéra ?

Vous pourrez vous procurer le programme du spectacle le soir de la représentation dans le hall d’entrée, aux  boutiques de l’Opéra Bastille et du Palais Garnier, et sur la boutique en ligne.

Nos boutiques proposent des ouvrages de référence sur la musique, la danse, l'art lyrique et le patrimoine de l'Opéra (histoire, architecture, costumes), les DVD des productions de l'Opéra national de Paris, les enregistrements de l'Orchestre et des Chœurs de l’Opéra national de Paris, des publications et objets destinés aux enfants (livres, maquettes à découper, parcours-visite du Palais Garnier), un vaste choix de cartes postales, d'articles de papeterie, de posters, d'objets dérivés et autres cadeaux.

Au Palais Garnier, la Galerie de l’Opéra de Paris est accessible depuis le péristyle et directement depuis la rue Halévy.
Ouverture tous les jours du lundi au dimanche inclus, de 10h à 18h30.
Les soirs de spectacle, l'ouverture est prolongée jusqu'à la fin de la représentation.
Téléphone : +33 (0)1 53 43 03 97

A l’Opéra Bastille, la boutique se situe dans le hall du théâtre, entrée place de la Bastille.
Ouverture du lundi au samedi inclus, de 11h30 à 13h30, puis de 14h30 à 19h.
Les soirs de spectacles (dimanche inclus), l'ouverture est prolongée jusqu'à la fin du 1er entracte.
Téléphone : +33 (0)1 40 01 17 82

C’est mon premier opéra, vais-je comprendre l’histoire ?

De nombreuses informations et extraits de spectacles sont disponibles sur notre site internet.

Pour chaque spectacle, vous pouvez également vous procurer le programme de votre spectacle qui détaille de nombreuses informations sur l’œuvre, son contexte, son livret et ses interprètes.

Le Palais Garnier et l'Opéra Bastille sont équipés de dispositifs de surtitrage en français. A l’Opéra Bastille, un surtitrage en anglais est également visible depuis la majorité des places.

Ballet : Le saviez-vous ?

Qui sont les danseurs qui interprètent les ballets de la programmation de l’Opéra national de Paris ?

Les Ballets de la programmation chorégraphique conçue par Brigitte Lefèvre sont interprétés par le Étoiles et les danseurs du Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris. Exceptionnellement des solistes venus d’ailleurs peuvent rejoindre la compagnie.

La Compagnie danse tous les ballets représentés sur les scènes du Palais Garnier et de l’Opéra Bastille. Une seule exception, les compagnies invitées chaque année qui présentent leur répertoire dansé par leurs propres interprètes. L’organisation de la troupe permet une alternance de distributions sur un même spectacle avec des Étoiles ou des Premiers Danseurs ou de jeunes espoirs dans des rôles de solistes.

+ Lire la suite

D’où vient le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris ?

La Compagnie a plus de trois cents ans ! Le premier directeur du Ballet de l’Opéra n’est autre que le roi Louis XIV. Danseur émérite et très entraîné, créateur d’au-moins 27 ballets et de plusieurs figures techniques, il reçoit son titre de Roi-Soleil après avoir interprété Apollon-Soleil Levant dans Le Ballet de la Nuit, en 1653.

Louis XIV désirait « rétablir [la danse] dans sa perfection et l’augmenter autant que faire se pourra ». Soucieux de faire de ce style noble un véritable art de la scène, il crée l’Académie Royale de Danse dès son accession au pouvoir en 1661. Cette institution, ancêtre du Ballet de l’Opéra actuel, avait pour but de fixer les règles de la danse et de son enseignement. C’est avec elle que la danse classique est née. Dès lors, la création d’une technique de plus en plus complexe impliquait la constitution d’une troupe de danseurs professionnels, mais aussi la création d’une école de danse pour en former les membres.


Quel est le rôle de l’École de Danse ?

Berceau de la danse classique, l’École « a pour mission de former les danseurs du Ballet et d’assurer la formation professionnelle des danseurs» (Décret du 5 février 1994 fixant le statut de l’Opéra national de Paris).

C’est la plus ancienne école de danse du monde occidental. Elle a fêté son tricentenaire en 2013. Pendant longtemps, l’École a vécu sous les toits du Palais Garnier, lieu qui au fil des ans s’est avéré peu adapté à sa mission de formation. Une des explications du terme petit rat vient d’ailleurs du fait que les premières classes se déroulaient dans des greniers.

Il faudra attendre 1987 pour que l’École, alors dirigée par Claude Bessy, bénéficie d’un lieu dédié regroupant à la fois l’enseignement de la danse, les parcours scolaires classiques jusqu’au BAC, et un internat. Ce bâtiment moderne et parfaitement adapté, situé à Nanterre, a été conçu par l’architecte Christian de Portzamparc.

La quasi-totalité des danseurs du Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris sont formés à l'École de Danse. Chaque année, en fonction des postes disponibles, les élèves les mieux classés au concours d’entrée intègrent la Compagnie.


Comment s’organise le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris ?

Le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris que dirige Brigitte Lefèvre est une troupe de 154 danseurs. La plupart ont été formés à l’École de danse dirigée actuellement par Elisabeth Platel.

Engagés en général entre 16 et 20 ans dans le Ballet, les artistes terminent aujourd'hui leur carrière à l’Opéra à 42 ans.

Le prestigieux Corps de Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris est organisé par « grades » et comprend par ordre hiérarchique : les Premiers Danseurs, les Sujets, les Coryphées et les Quadrilles. Cette hiérarchie s’établie à l’occasion d’un « Concours annuel facultatif » dont le jury se compose de cinq danseurs élus par leurs camarades et de cinq représentants la direction dont deux personnalités extérieures. Le concours favorise l’évolution professionnelle jusqu’au grade de Premier Danseur. Seules les Étoiles sont nommées directement par le Directeur de l’Opéra, sur proposition de la Directrice de la danse.


Comment se déroule les journées des danseurs de l’Opéra ?

La journée débute traditionnellement par un échauffement en commun commençant par une série d’exercices à la barre, jusqu’aux exercices les plus virtuoses. Ces séances quotidiennes réunissent l’ensemble des danseurs de la Compagnie, des plus jeunes Quadrilles aux Étoiles les plus confirmées. Les artistes du Ballet suivent également tout au long de leur carrière des cours de danse afin de perfectionner leur technique, préparer un rôle ou pour s’entrainer pour les épreuves annuelles du concours interne. Ces cours sont dirigés par des professeurs issus majoritairement du Ballet de l’Opéra. La journée est ensuite essentiellement rythmée par les répétitions des productions en cours et à venir. Ces séances de travail sont dirigées par les chorégraphes invités, leurs représentants ou leurs assistants mais aussi par les Maîtres de Ballets et assistants Maître de Ballet de l’Opéra. Laurent Hilaire est le Maître de Ballet principal associé à la Direction de la Danse.


Qu’est-ce que le Défilé du Ballet ?

Le Défilé est une sorte de « parade » d’une quinzaine de minutes sur la Marche des Troyens de Berlioz. Sa forme actuelle a été réglée par Serge Lifar en 1945 : les danseuses et danseurs du Corps de Ballet au grand complet, précédés par les jeunes élèves de l’École de Danse, parcourent sur la musique les 46 mètres de distance entre le Foyer de la Danse illuminé par l’éclat de ses lustres (au fond de la scène du Palais Garnier) et l’avant-scène pour venir saluer le public. Même s’il est le plus souvent présenté à Garnier, il a déjà été proposé à Bastille. Véritable rituel de la Compagnie, le Défilé réunit près de 300 artistes, des plus jeunes élèves de l’École aux Étoiles les plus expérimentées.


Qu’appelle-t-on le « répertoire » ?

Le Répertoire regroupe l’ensemble des œuvres chorégraphiques qu’une compagnie est en mesure de présenter plusieurs fois lors des différentes saisons artistiques. Ce sont toutes les œuvres qui lui appartiennent, qu’elle fait vivre et perdurer dans le temps. Le répertoire représente « le capital », la force vive d’une troupe, sa mémoire. Il est aussi le reflet de sa sensibilité artistique et des choix de sa direction artistique.

Le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris fait vivre un large répertoire d’œuvres. Tout en accordant une place importante à la tradition et au maintien des grands ballets classiques – et pour ceux-ci plus particulièrement les chorégraphies de Rudolf Noureev – le répertoire s’enrichie régulièrement des chorégraphies qui marquent notre temps. La Directrice de la danse invite des chorégraphes d’aujourd’hui à remonter des ballets ou réaliser de nouvelles pièces. Ainsi, depuis 1995, plusieurs œuvres majeures ont fait leur entrée au répertoire du Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris (Le Sacre du printemps et Orphée et Eurydice de Pina Bausch, Glacial Decoy de Trisha Brown, La Dame aux camélias et Troisième Symphonie de Gustav Mahler de John Neumeier, La Maison de Bernarda et Une sorte de… de Mats Ek, Rain d’Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker) et de nombreux chorégraphes, parmi les plus emblématiques de notre époque, ont réalisé des créations pour la Compagnie : Maurice Béjart, Trisha Brown, Mats Ek, William Forsythe, Jiří Kylián, Blanca Li, Wayne McGregor, Benjamin Millepied, José Montalvo, John Neumeier, Robyn Orlin, Roland Petit, Angelin Preljocaj, Alexei Ratmanski, Saburo Teshigawara, Sasha Waltz… Par ailleurs, Brigitte Lefèvre a donné la possibilité à 8 danseurs Étoiles ou solistes du Corps de Ballet d’exprimer leurs talents chorégraphiques sur la scène du Palais Garnier ou de L’Opéra Bastille.

Le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris s’affirme comme un foyer de création, une pépinière pour les danseurs et chorégraphes d’aujourd’hui. Son répertoire se conjugue au passé et au présent pour constituer le patrimoine de demain.

- Masquer