© OnP / DR
The institution

Nicolas Joel, the director of the Paris Opera


Nicolas Joel
© Elisa Haberer

Nicolas Joel was born in 1953 in Paris. In 1973, he was engaged by the Opéra du Rhin as assistant stage director, an activity he continued until 1978 in Strasbourg, at the festivals of Bayreuth and Salzburg and also at the San Francisco Opera. In 1979, he began his career as a stage director with a production of The Ring for the Opéra du Rhin and the Opéra de Lyon. In 1981, he staged Samson et Dalila with Shirley Verrett and Placido Domingo in San Francisco, then Aïda with Luciano Pavarotti in San Francisco, Chicago and Toronto.

He directed a second Ring cycle Ring in Wiesbaden, Aïda in Vienna under the baton of Lorin Maazel, La Voix humaine, Ernani and Parsifal in San Francisco, Eugene Onegin, Cavalleria Rusticana and Pagliacci in Amsterdam, Rigoletto and La Traviata in Zurich, Tosca in Lausanne for José Van Dam's debut in the role of Scarpia… In 1994, he made his La Scala Milan debut with La Rondine, then revived Roméo et Juliette at London's Covent Garden and staged Carmen at the Teatro Colon in Buenos Aires.

In 1995, he staged Faust in San Francisco, then made his Metropolitan Opera of New York debut in 1996 with a new production of Andrea Chenier (Luciano Pavarotti in the title role). In 1998, Nicolas Joel went to the Chicago Opera for Les Pêcheurs de perles, the Teatro Real in Madrid for Un ballo in maschera and directed Lucia di Lammermoor at the Metropolitan Opera. In 1999, he staged a new production of Manon at Milan's La Scala. He also revived Werther and Samson et Dalila in Los Angeles, Roméo et Juliette in Chicago and at Covent Garden and Manon in Madrid (2000). In 2002, he presented a new production of La Rondine at Covent Garden.

In France he has directed numerous productions including Roméo et Juliette, Turandot and Thaïs in Nancy (revived at the Opéra-Comique in Paris and Toulouse's Théâtre du Capitole in 1988), La Damoiselle élue by Debussy and Dido and Aeneas by Purcell with Jessye Norman at the Paris Opera, Faust and the world premier of Marcel Landowski's Montségur in Toulouse, Andrea Chenier at the Opéra du Rhin and the Opéra de Lyon. In 1992 he presented a new production of Un ballo in maschera at the Paris Opera with Luciano Pavarotti.

In 1987, Nicolas Joel was guest director at the Chorégies d’Orange for Der Fliegende Holländer and returned there for Nabucco (1989 and 1994), Gounod's Faust (1990 and 2008), Aïda (1991 and 2001), Carmen (1998), Roméo et Juliette (2002), Otello (2003) and La Bohème(2005).

From 1990 to 2009, Nicolas was director of Toulouse's Théâtre du Capitole. He directed numerous new productions there: Falstaff, Il Trovatore, Elektra, Eugene Onegin, and Rigoletto and Roméo et Juliette with Roberto Alagna. For the re-opening of the Capitole in 1996, he presented Louise and Werther with Roberto Alagna in the title role. Certain of his Toulouse productions drew a great deal of public and critical acclaim: Boris Godunov, Die Walküre, La Forza del destino, Louise, Hamlet (the latter two productions were revived at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris), Das Rheingold, Mignon, Otello, Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, Siegfried, Götterdämmerung and Die Zauberflöte. He re-opened the Théâtre du Capitole, after the renovation of the stage-house in 2004, with Jenufa and presented his versions of Don Carlo, L'Incoronazione di Poppea, Die Frau ohne Schatten and Tristan und Isolde. In 2007-2008, after Le Roi d’Ys by Lalo, Nicolas Joel staged a new production of Der Rosenkavalier and revived his production of Les Contes d’Hoffmann first created at Madrid's Teatro Real 2006. His most recent engagements included Daphné and Faust in Vienna, Aïda and Le Cid in Zurich, Rienzi in Leipzig, La Rondine at the Metropolitan Opera.

Since August 2009, Nicolas Joel has been Director of the Paris Opera. During this period he has staged Mireille by Charles Gounod at the Palais Garnier (September 2009) as well as the the world premier of Bruno Mantovani's Akhmatova at the Opéra Bastille (March 2011).

Nicolas Joel has twice received the Prix de la Critique Dramatique et Musicale for his opera productions, as well as a “Victoire de la Musique” in 1996, in the “best opera production” category for Dialogues des carmélites

He is Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur, Commander of the Romanian cultural Order of merit, Commander of the Order of merit of the Italian republic, and has been awarded the Grand Prix de l’Académie d’Occitanie.

© OnP / DR
L'Institution

Nicolas Joel, directeur de l'Opéra


Nicolas Joel
© Elisa Haberer

Nicolas Joel est né en 1953 à Paris. En 1973, il est engagé à l’Opéra du Rhin comme assistant metteur en scène, fonction qu’il exerce jusqu’en 1978 à Strasbourg, aux festivals de Bayreuth et de Salzbourg ainsi qu’à l’Opéra de San Francisco. En 1979, il débute sa carrière de metteur en scène avec une production du Ring pour les opéras du Rhin et de Lyon. En 1981, il met en scène Samson et Dalila avec Shirley Verrett et Placido Domingo à San Francisco, puis Aïda avec Luciano Pavarotti à San Francisco, Chicago et Toronto.

Il met en scène un deuxième Ring à Wiesbaden, Aïda à Vienne dirigé par L. Maazel, La Voix humaine, Ernani et Parsifal à San Francisco, Eugène Onéguine, Cavalleria Rusticana et Paillasse à Amsterdam, Rigoletto et La Traviata à Zurich, Tosca à Lausanne pour les débuts de José Van Dam en Scarpia… En 1994, il débute à la Scala de Milan avec La Rondine, puis reprend Roméo et Juliette au Covent Garden de Londres et monte Carmen au Teatro Colon de Buenos Aires.

En 1995, il monte Faust à San Francisco, puis fait ses débuts au Metropolitan Opera de New York en 1996, avec une nouvelle production d’Andrea Chenier (Luciano Pavarotti dans le rôle-titre). En 1998, on retrouve Nicolas Joel à l’Opéra de Chicago pour Les Pêcheurs de perles, au Teatro Real de Madrid pour Un bal masqué et au Metropolitan Opera pour Lucia di Lammermoor. En 1999, il monte une nouvelle production de Manon à la Scala de Milan. Il reprend également Werther et Samson et Dalila à Los Angeles, Roméo et Juliette à Chicago et au Covent Garden et Manon à Madrid (2000). En 2002, il présente une nouvelle production de La Rondineau Covent Garden.

Sur les scènes françaises, il réalise, entre autres, Roméo et Juliette, Turandot et Thaïs à Nancy (repris à l’Opéra-Comique de Paris et au Théâtre du Capitole en 1988), La Damoiselle élue de Debussy et Didon et Enée de Purcell avec Jessye Norman à l’Opéra national de Paris, Faust et la création mondiale de Montségur de Marcel Landowski à Toulouse, Andrea Chenier à l’Opéra du Rhin et à l’Opéra de Lyon. Il présente à l’Opéra national de Paris une nouvelle production d’Un bal masqué avec Luciano Pavarotti en 1992.

En 1987, Nicolas Joel est invité par les Chorégies d’Orange pour Le Vaisseau fantôme et y retourne pour Nabucco (1989 et 1994), Faust de Gounod (1990 et 2008), Aïda (1991 et 2001), Carmen (1998), Roméo et Juliette (2002), Otello (2003) et La Bohème(2005).

De 1990 à 2009, Nicolas Joel est directeur du Théâtre du Capitole. Il y réalise de nombreuses nouvelles productions : Falstaff, Le Trouvère, Elektra, Eugène Onéguine, puis Rigoletto et Roméo et Juliette avec Roberto Alagna. Pour la réouverture du Capitole en 1996, il présente Louise et Werther avec Roberto Alagna dans le rôle-titre. Parmi ses productions toulousaines, ont été particulièrement remarqués Boris Godounov, La Walkyrie, La Force du destin, Louise, Hamlet (ces deux dernières productions ont été reprises au Théâtre du Châtelet à Paris), L’Or du Rhin, Mignon, Otello, Les Maîtres chanteurs de Nuremberg, Siegfried, Le Crépuscule des dieux et La Flûte enchantée. Il a rouvert le Théâtre du Capitole, après la rénovation de la cage de scène, en 2004, avec Jenufa et signe les mises en scène de Don Carlo, du Couronnement de Poppée, de La Femme sans ombre et de Tristan et Isolde. En 2007-2008, après Le Roi d’Ys de Lalo, Nicolas Joel met en scène une nouvelle production du Chevalier à la rose et reprend sa production des Contes d’Hoffmann créée au Teatro Real de Madrid en 2006. Parmi ces derniers engagements, citons Daphné et Faust à Vienne, Aïda et Le Cid à Zurich, Rienzi à Leipzig, La Rondineau Metropolitan Opera.

Depuis août 2009, Nicolas Joel est Directeur de l’Opéra national de Paris. Depuis il a mis en scène Mireille de Charles Gounod au Palais Garnier (septembre 2009) ainsi que la création mondiale d’Akhmatova de Bruno Mantovani à l’Opéra Bastille (mars 2011).

Nicolas Joel a reçu à deux reprises le Prix de la Critique Dramatique et Musicale pour ses productions lyriques, ainsi qu’une Victoire de la Musique en 1996, dans la catégorie «meilleure production lyrique» pour Dialogues des carmélites.

Il est Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur, Commandeur de l’Ordre du Mérite culturel roumain, Commandeur dans l’Ordre du mérite de la République italienne et a reçu le Grand Prix de l’Académie d’Occitanie.