Agathe Poupeney / OnP
Educational projects

Visits – Interviews – Performances


Discovering the world of the Opera through visits, interviews and performances is at the core of the students’ progress through the DMEO programme. These are the incontrovertible highlights of the projects elaborated by the classes. They spur on preparatory work in school and make it concrete. Thanks to the help provided by the teachers in school, those privileged moments, organized throughout the school year, encourage the students’ thinking and are an essential part of the artistic and cultural educational journey which is experienced by each student. Visiting monuments of architectural heritage, meeting with artistic, technical and administrative professionals, and attending rehearsals or performances are essential supports for school learning of various school subjects and for the acquisition of knowledge, competence and social behaviour.

Writing and creating art within the classroom as a result of these visits is expected and is consistent with the requirements of the national curriculum. Each of these productions is brought into relief in the Journal.


Visiting the architectural heritage of the National Paris Opera

The students, together with the teachers, discover the two theatres of the National Paris Opera: Palais Garnier and the Bastille Opera.

Depending on their projects, the students may also visit the Berthier Workshops and the National Opera School of Ballet in Nanterre.

These visits are discussed in class with teachers of different subjects with regard to all the information gathered.

A visit to the sewing workshop in Palais Garnier is offered to the parents and various staff members of the schools involved in the programme.

The involvement of their families is essential to the progress of their children and contributes to their success.


Interviews with artists and technical and administrative staff

These interviews are planned according to the class projects. The National Paris Opera staff members are happy to show the multiple facets – often unsuspected- of their craft and wish to pass on their knowledge and know-how by answering the students’ questions which they have prepared with great care beforehand. Through the frequent and direct contact with those without whom the shows would not exist, the students become familiar with what happens behind the scenes and often find answers to their questioning of the working world.


Performances

The students attend public performances or rehearsals at the Paris National Opera, under their teachers’ supervision.

These performances represent the apex of all the preparatory work done in class. They reflect the themes studied at school and are consistent with educational subjects and school curricula.

© Agathe Poupeney

Agathe Poupeney / OnP
Projets pédagogiques

Visites Rencontres Spectacles


Ces trois aspects de la découverte de l’univers de l’Opéra sont au cœur du parcours des élèves dans le programme Dix Mois d’École et d’Opéra. Ils représentent les temps forts incontournables de la construction des projets développés par les classes. Ils concrétisent un travail effectué en amont ou l’impulsent. Grâce à l’accompagnement mis en place par les équipes pédagogiques dans les établissements scolaires, ces moments privilégiés, répartis régulièrement tout au long de l’année scolaire favorisent la réflexion des élèves et sont des éléments du parcours d’éducation artistique et culturelle que chaque jeune est amené à expérimenter. Les visites du patrimoine architectural, les rencontres avec les personnels artistiques, techniques ou administratifs et la possibilité d’assister à des spectacles en répétition ou en représentation sont par ailleurs les supports d’acquisitions scolaires, disciplinaires ou pluridisciplinaires, de connaissances, de compétences et d’attitudes.

Des restitutions sous différentes formes, écrites, plastiques réalisées en classe en cohérence avec les programmes et avec le socle commun des compétences et connaissances, sont attendues après chaque temps fort. Les productions sont valorisées dans le journal de Dix Mois d’École et d’Opéra.


Visites du patrimoine architectural de l’Opéra national de Paris

Les élèves découvrent avec leurs professeurs les deux théâtres de l’Opéra national de Paris, le Palais Garnier et l’Opéra Bastille.

En fonction des projets élaborés, les élèves peuvent aussi découvrir les Ateliers Berthier et l’École de Danse de l’Opéra située à Nanterre.

Ces visites sont réinvesties en cours par l’ensemble des disciplines au regard du nombre important d’informations apportées.

Une visite du Palais Garnier et de son atelier couture est également proposée aux parents et aux personnels des établissements entrant dans le programme.

L’implication des familles dans le suivi des parcours de leurs enfants est indispensable et contribue à leur réussite.


Rencontres avec les artistes et les personnels techniques et administratifs de l’Opéra national de Paris

Les rencontres sont planifiées selon les projets. Les personnels des différents métiers présents à l’Opéra national de Paris sont heureux de faire découvrir les nombreuses facettes, parfois insoupçonnées, de leurs professions, dans un désir de transmission de leurs savoirs et savoir-faire en répondant aux questions des élèves qui sont invités à préparer très attentivement les rencontres.

Grâce au contact direct et fréquent avec celles et ceux sans qui les spectacles n’existeraient pas, les élèves se familiarisent avec l’envers du décor et trouvent souvent des repères quant à leur réflexion sur le monde du travail.


Spectacles

Les élèves accompagnés de leurs enseignants assistent à des représentations publiques ou à des répétitions dans les grandes salles de l’Opéra Garnier ou de l’Opéra Bastille.

Répétitions et représentations sont autant de points d’orgue dans les parcours des classes. Les spectacles vus renvoient à des thématiques abordées en cours en cohérence avec les programmes disciplinaires et avec les projets pédagogiques.

© Agathe Poupeney